Jive Monkey Playlist: 12/8/14

I don’t know what it is about the end of the year and the holidays that makes us reflect but the latest releases by Toy (aka Yoo Hee Yeol) and Shin Hye Sung seem to do just that.  These guys have been in the business a long time but haven’t released their own solo albums in some time due to being busy with other projects.

One of the first songs on Yoo Hee Yeol’s latest album is a song called “Reset” featuring Lee Juck.  Yoo Hee Yeol seems more comfortable making music rather than singing it himself so it’s not unusual that he often has a variety of artists featuring on his album but what makes Lee Juck so perfect for “Reset” is that they share a long history of friendship.  Together, it sounds like they were inspired by their trip to Peru on Youth Over Flowers.

The song is a look back at that youth and reflect where they are now.  I like how the everyday struggle depicted in this song reminds me of Misaeng.  This song seems like it’s for the Jang Geu Rae’s of the world where the line of success and happiness seems just out of reach.  However, the hopeful nature of the song seems to make the struggle feel worthwhile for those brief moments of happiness.

토이(Toy) – Reset (With 이적)

Reset (With 이적)

조금씩 나를 잃어 가고 있어
여기가 난 어딘지 모르겠어
자 떠나야 해 길을 나서야 해
어딜 향해 가는지 몰라도

어디서부터 난 잘못됐을까
모든 건 내 맘 같을 수 없잖아
다 지워야 해 살아내야만 해
모두 다 제 갈 길로

기다려줘 이 노랠 다 만들 때까지
마지막 코드가 다 끝날 때까지
내 힘껏 기타 다운 스트로크
세상이 다 변한다 해도
내 목소리 몇 번씩 갈라져도
널 위해 노래할게
조금만 더 날 기다려줘

모두 다 날 비웃어도 괜찮아
오늘은 내일 얘긴 그만하자
니가 있어서 기억할 수 있어
모두 다 제자리로

기다려줘 이 노랠 다 만들 때까지
마지막 코드가 다 끝날 때까지
내 힘껏 기타 다운 스트로크
세상이 다 변한다 해도
내 목소리 몇 번씩 갈라져도
널 위해 노래할게
조금만 더 날 기다려줘

무너져도 나 쓰러져도 빛을 잃어도
니가 있다면 니가 있다면

노래할게 모든 것이 다 지워진대도
내 목소리 이젠 들리지 않아도
마지막 기타 다운 스트로크
이 노래가 끝난다 해도
오른손을 높이 쳐드는 거야
널 위해 노래할게 처음 그날처럼
나 여기 서서 널 기다릴게

Reset (With Lee Juck)

Little by little I’m losing myself
I don’t know where here is
Now I have to leave, have to go out on the road
Don’t know where I need to go

Where did I go wrong?
Everything can’t be how I feel
Have to erase everything, just have to live on
It’s all the path I have to take

Wait until I’ve finished making this song
Until I’ve finished the last chord
My strong guitar-like stroke
Though the whole world changes
Though my voice cracks a few times
I’ll sing for you
Just wait for me a little bit

Though everyone ridicules me, it’s okay
Today, let’s just stop talking about tomorrow
Because I have you, I will remember
Everything in its place

Wait until I’ve finished making this song
Until I’ve finished the last chord
My strong guitar-like stroke
Though the whole world changes
Though my voice cracks a few times
I’ll sing for you
Just wait for me a little bit

Though I collapse, I faint and lose the light
If I have you, if I have you

I’ll sing even if it all erases
Even if you can’t hear my voice
The last guitar-like stroke
Though this song finishes
Keep holding your right hand up high
I’ll sing for you like that first day
I stand here waiting for you

_____________________________________________________

Shin Hye Sung has been remaking his old hit songs by collaborating with various artists and releasing them as singles to celebrate his 10th year as a solo artist outside of Shinhwa.  I have really been loving the song “첫사람 (The First Person)” because of a) it features Lee Sung Ah, a member of Vanilla Acoustic, and b) the song sounds quite different from the original with it mature sound.  I think the thing that strikes me the most is that Shin Hye Sung’s voice has matured as well.  And thankfully, he no longer has that shaggy mullet-like hairstyle.  Although he’s still got that very recognizable ballad voice, he sings this song with a different tone from when the song was originally release 7 years ago.  Plus, the fact that the song is now duet makes the intent of the song a bit mutual.

The other interesting thing about this song is that although the song is titled “The First Person,” the word 사람 (sa ram or person) sounds very similar to 사랑 (sa rang or love) with the different being only one consonant.  In the song the two words can be interchangeably used without affecting the meaning of the lyrics and yet there’s an emphasis placed on the importance of the person.  The lyrics even go on to say that merely saying I love you doesn’t seem to fully capture how they feel about each other.

신혜성, 바닐라 어쿠스틱 – 첫사람

첫사람

뭐라고 해야 할까요
사람이 이렇게 소중하면
사랑한단 얘기도 보잘것 없네요
그대를 보고 있으면

나의 첫사람
영원한 첫사람

건강해지고 싶도록
내가 날 사랑할 수 있도록
하루하루 열심히 살아가게 한 것도
그대가 처음이었죠

마지막이라는 말은
이 삶의 끝에 서보기 전엔
그 누구도 모르는 거죠 (그대 뿐이죠)
처음은 하나뿐인 거니까
변할 순 없잖아요

나에겐 그대뿐이죠 그대뿐이죠
좋은 꿈을 꾸게 만들어준 한 사람
다른 사랑한대도
그대 나를 잊어도
영원히 나의 첫 사람

첫사람 나의 첫사람
뚜루뚜루 뚜뚜 뚜

마지막이라는 말은
이 삶의 끝에 서보기 전엔
그 누구도 모르는 거죠 (그대 뿐이죠)
처음은 하나뿐인 거니까
변할 순 없잖아요

나에겐 그대뿐이죠 그대뿐이죠
좋은 꿈을 꾸게 만들어준 한 사람

다른 사랑한대도
그대 나를 잊어도
영원한 나의 첫 사람

세상 어떤 사람도 대신 할 수 없는
그대는 나의 첫 사람

뚜뚜루 뚜뚜루
뚜루뚜루 뚜뚜루 뚜루루

첫사람 나의 첫사람
그대는 나의 첫 사람

The First Person

What can I say?
If a person like this is important
Even saying I love you seems insignificant
When I look at you

You’re my first person
Forever the first person

Like I want to be healthy
Like I can love myself
Living diligently day by day
You were my first

Saying it’s the last time
Before you stand at the edge of this life
Don’t know who it is (It’s only you)
Because you can only have the first time once
You can’t change that

To me, it’s only you, it’s only you
Help me to have good dreams, that one person
Though you love someone else,
though you forget me
Forever my first person

The first person, my first person
Doo roo doo roo doo doo doo

Saying it’s the last time
Before you stand at the edge of this life
Don’t know who it is (It’s only you)
Because you can only have the first time once
You can’t change that

To me, it’s only you, it’s only you
Help me to have good dreams, that one person

Though you love someone else,
though you forget me
Forever my first person

There’s no other person in this world
You are my first person

Doo doo roo Doo doo roo
Doo roo doo roo Doo doo roo Doo roo roo

The first person, my first person
You are my first person

Leave a Reply

