Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/5/15

Happy 2015!  Time to get back to the grind.  I haven’t watch Infinity Challenge in months but when my sister told me that the show was doing another music concert featuring 90’s artists, I couldn’t help but check out the most recent episode.

Even though there have been new releases by young artists, the charts have been mostly filled with old school songs.  Infinity Challenge even brought back Actress Lee Bon who was the music program MC back in the day.  I would have wanted to translated many more songs below, including one of my favorites, Kim Gun Mo, but only stuck with a few key ones.  I’ve added full song versions below the videos as the show shortened most of the songs.

S.E.S. was the innocent girl group of the 90’s.  There were slightly after my time so I wasn’t that into the group itself but I admit that their songs were very catchy.  I cannot get over the episode in which Shoo, who has been home taking care of her children all these years, still remembers the dances.  She had me on the floor laughing as she got super excited when the I.C. members asked her if she would be able to perform with Bada.  Eugene was unable to join her fellow girls as she was in the second trimester of her pregnancy.  Girls Generation’s Seo Hyun was called to fill her spot.  Unfortunately, Shoo had no idea who she was because as a stay at home mom her days are filled with watching cartoons.  Ha.

“(‘Cause) I’m Your Girl” is one of the first songs I’ve heard from the group and it’s just an easy song to listen to and follow.  The dance was a pretty big craze back in the day.  Although Haha and Jung Hyung Don do the rap here, originally the song featured Eric and Andy from Shinhwa.  Sidenote: Unfortunately, this was the 90’s so the English depicted in all the songs below weren’t grammatically correct or sometimes didn’t even make sense.  Although K-Pop still commits the crime of bad English, it just goes to show how far it has come.

S.E.S. – (‘Cause) I’m Your Girl

S.E.S. – (‘Cause) I’m Your Girl

(‘Cause) I’m Your Girl

Yeah, what’s up what’s up S.E.S!
We open up the new chapter
Of funky New Jill Swing
Here we come! Here we come! Uh-come on!
I like S.E.S ya’ll! (Yes, S.E.S. Y’all)
We like S.E.S ya’ll! (Yes, S.E.S. Y’all!)
You never don’t stop. You never don’t quit!
Kick out some sounds of the Hip-Hop Beat!
Now clap your hands everybody
Now move your feet everybody
To the left (to the left)
To the right (to the right)
Now bring it back, phat rhythm of the freestyle!

왜 내게 말을못해
이미 지나간일들
진부한 옛 사랑얘기
(I love you, tell me baby)
솔직히 말을 해줘 그렇지만
나에겐 오직 너 뿐인거야 oh yeah~

두려워 하지마 내 옆에 있는 너
그대와 내 인생 저끝까지

나를 믿어 주길바래 함께있어
Cause I’m your girl hold me baby (Tonight)
너를 닮아가는 내 모습 지켜봐줘
Stay with me last forever yeah~

넌 왠지 달랐었지 느낌이
여전부터 알고지낸 친구처럼
(Shake it shake it baby)
그렇게 너는 내게
해맑은 웃음만 주는 또 하나의 나 oh yeah~

두려워 하지마 내 옆에 있는 너
난 오직 너를 위해 살고싶어

너를 향한 내 모든 걸 간직할께
Cause I’m your girl hold me baby (Tonight)
너를 닮아가는 내 모습 지켜봐줘
Stay with me last forever yeah~

몰랐어 난 난 너에게 있어
그 어느 하나
자신 있게 얘기 할 수 없었던 것
모두 부질없는 내 걱정이었다니
이제 널 나의 품에 꼭 안아줄게
난 참 널 몰랐던 거야
오직 너 하나
하나를 위해 내가 살아가야 한다는 것
말고 내게 중요한 게 어딨 겠어
이젠 네가 알아주길 바라겠어

너에게 그 어떤 말로
나 넌 내꺼란 말이 듣고싶어
Oh사랑해 언제까지나
Baby you always in my heart

나를 믿어 주길바래함께있어
Cause I’m your girl hold me baby (Tonight)
너를 닮아가는 내 모습 지켜봐줘
Stay with me last forever yeah~

너를 향한 내 모든 걸 간직할께
Cause I’m your girl hold me baby (Tonight)
너를 닮아가는 내 모습 지켜봐줘
Stay with me last forever yeah~

(‘Cause) I’m Your Girl

Yeah, what’s up what’s up S.E.S!
We open up the new chapter
Of funky New Jill Swing
Here we come! Here we come! Uh-come on!
I like S.E.S ya’ll! (Yes, S.E.S. Y’all)
We like S.E.S ya’ll! (Yes, S.E.S. Y’all!)
You never don’t stop. You never don’t quit!
Kick out some sounds of the Hip-Hop Beat!
Now clap your hands everybody
Now move your feet everybody
To the left (to the left)
To the right (to the right)
Now bring it back, phat rhythm of the freestyle!

Why can’t you just tell me
about things that have already passed
Clichéd old love stories
(I love you, tell me baby)
I ask you to talk to me honestly
To me, you’re the only one, oh yeah~

Don’t worry, beside me there’s you
With you, my life until the end

Please believe me, I’m with you
Cause I’m your girl hold me baby (Tonight)
Look, I’m becoming just like you
Stay with me last forever yeah~

You seemed like you’ve changed
Like a friend I’ve known for ages
(Shake it shake it baby)
Like that, to me, you
Bring smiles, again another part of me oh yeah~

Don’t worry, beside me there’s you
I only want to live for you

For you, I will treasure everything
Cause I’m your girl hold me baby (Tonight)
Look, I’m becoming just like you
Stay with me last forever yeah~

I didn’t know that I had you
That one thing,
I couldn’t say confidently
Everyone uselessly worrying about me
Now I’m embrace you tightly
I really didn’t know you
Only you,
That I’m living for that one person
Don’t say that, where else would it be?
Now I hope you know

From you, more than any other words
I want to hear that you are mine
Oh I will love you forever,
Baby you always in my heart

Please believe me, I’m with you
Cause I’m your girl hold me baby (Tonight)
Look, I’m becoming just like you
Stay with me last forever yeah~

For you, I will treasure everything
Cause I’m your girl hold me baby (Tonight)
Look, I’m becoming just like you
Stay with me last forever yeah~

Jinusean was one of the first groups that Yang Hyun Seok brought together. Sean is pretty loyal as he’s still with YG after all these years.  I loved that they incorporated English and Korean lyrics. The song below doesn’t incorporate that much English but if you like their music below, I recommend “How Deep is Your Love” which is a remix cover of the Bee Gees song. Hands down, my favorite song of the Jinusean repertoire.

Although, “말해줘 (Tell Me)” is probably a close second.  I love that during the performance Uhm Jung Hwa truly surprises the audience with her appearance.  She wasn’t confirmed as she was shooting a movie on the day of the concert.  I wish that viewers at home were also surprised but Infinity Challenge teased her appearance in the previews so it wasn’t much of a shock.  Still, I loved seeing the whole gang get back together and now I’m sure a new generation of kids will be doing the windshield wiper dance.

Jinusean – 말해줘 (feat. 엄정화) (Tell Me feat. Uhm Jung Hwa)

지누션 – 말해줘 (feat. 엄정화)

말해줘 (feat. 엄정화)

나에게 말해줘 사실을 말해줘
정말 네 마음을 말해줘
날 사랑 하는지 얼마만큼인지
정말 네 마음을 보여줘

너너넌 항상을 그리고 일생을
너의 마음대로만
생각하니? 하려하니? 더는 이제는 그만!
난 네 걱정보다 더 큰 사랑인거야
다짐을 자꾸 받는
너의 의심 앞에서도 난
그렇게 몇 번씩이나 약속했어
이렇게 나는 너에게 내안에 속해서
있는데 뭘 어떻게 나 더 이상 하겠어?
날 이제 받아주면 좋겠어

Oh! 답답해 또 갑갑해
나 어떡해야 너를 이해시킬 수가 있을지
늘 그렇게 나 생각해
하루에도 몇번씩을 심각해 uh!
네 사랑은 너무 야속해서
울고 있어, 나의 가슴 속에서
너 없이 아무런 의미없는
날의 반복 속에
날 이젠 받아주면 좋겠어

나에게 말해줘 사실을 말해줘
정말 네 마음을 말해줘
날 사랑 하는지 얼마만큼인지
정말 네 마음을 보여줘

Oh 생각해 봐 그땔 다시 돌아봐
너무나도 가슴뛰는 그땔 기억해봐
너의 아름다움이란 이루 말할 수 없는
아무리 뭐라해도 말로 설명할 수 없는
그런 것이었어 너에게 빠져버린 내게는
서로 사랑하는 그런 생각밖에는
떠오르지 않았어
언제나 머릿속에 널 그렸어,
oh! 나는 그랬어

하지만 시간은 새처럼 날아가 버리고
괴로움의 날이 시작되고
너는 날 점점 의심하고
난 그 마음을 돌리고 싶고
너를 내 품에 항상 담아두고
1999년 끝날까지도
곁에 있겠어! 아직 모르겠어?
you & me forever 나 약속하겠어!

나에게 말해줘 사실을 말해줘
정말 네 마음을 말해줘
날 사랑 하는지 얼마만큼인지
정말 네 마음을 보여줘

언제까지 바라봐야만 해 ooh! mi amore
이제는 그만해, 이미 난 모든
것을 주었잖아 언제나 말했잖아
그렇지만 너는 듣고 있질 않잖아!
날 믿어 줘! 느껴줘! 감싸줘!
나를 이제 네 안에서 자유롭게 풀어줘
날 알아줘! 불러줘! 받아줘!
내게 이제 네 안에서 자유롭게 기대줘

하늘에서 보내준 우리 사랑을
이룰 수 없다면 만들 수 없다면
나는 그 아픔으로 미쳐 버릴꺼라면
알 수 있겠니? oh! 그렇다면
이제 그만 받아줘 나의 사랑을
주인을 잃어버린 나의 사랑을
내 마음 속 깊은 보석 같은 사랑을
니 앞에 있는 여기 나의 사랑을

나에게 말해줘 사실을 말해줘
정말 네 마음을 말해줘
날 사랑 하는지 얼마만큼인지
정말 네 마음을 보여줘

Oh 말해줘 사실을 말해줘
정말 네 마음을 말해줘
날 사랑 하는지 얼마만큼인지
정말 네 마음을 보여줘

Oh 말해줘 사실을 말해줘
정말 네 마음을 말해줘
날 사랑 하는지 얼마만큼인지
정말 네 마음을 보여줘

Tell Me (feat. Uhm Jung Hwa)

Tell me, tell me the truth
Tell me your real feelings
That you love me, how much you do
Show me your real feelings

You, you you always and a lifetime
You do what you want
Do you think? Will you? Now just stop!
More than your worries, it’s a bigger love
Always getting confirmations
In front of your suspicions, I
I promised you a number of times
That’s how I’m am in your heart
What do else do you want from me?
I wish you would just accept me now

Oh! It’s confining and suffocating
How can I make you understand?
I always think that way
Get serious several times a day, uh!
Your love is so cold
Crying, inside my heart
Without your love, there’s no meaning
In a constantly repeating day
I wish you would just accept me now

Tell me, tell me the truth
Tell me your real feelings
That you love me, how much you do
Show me your real feelings

Oh, think about it, think back to it
Making my heart jump, remember that
Your beauty beyond description, can’t speak of it
No matter what I do, can’t express it with words
It was that way, me that fell for you
The thought of loving each other
Didn’t think past it
Always in my head, I thought of you,
oh! I did that

But time flies like a bird
And the agony began
You grew more suspicious of me
I want to turn back those feelings
Keep you in my heart always
1999 until the end
Will stay with you! Don’t you see?
you & me forever, I promise you!

Tell me, tell me the truth
Tell me your real feelings
That you love me, how much you do
Show me your real feelings

When will I just look on, ooh! mi amore
Now stop, I’ve already
given everything, I’ve always said it
But you aren’t listening!
Believe me! Feel me! Look after me!
I’m now being unraveled freely from you
Appreciate me! Call me! Accept me!
Now let me lean freely on you

A love brought to us by the heavens
If it can’t be realized, if it can’t be made
I will go crazy from that pain
Do you realize it? oh! If that’s the case,
Now just accept me, my love
Lost its heir, my love
My deep heart is like a precious stone type of love
Standing in front of you here, my love

Tell me, tell me the truth
Tell me your real feelings
That you love me, how much you do
Show me your real feelings

Oh Tell me, tell me the truth
Tell me your real feelings
That you love me, how much you do
Show me your real feelings

Oh Tell me, tell me the truth
Tell me your real feelings
That you love me, how much you do
Show me your real feelings

I’m amazed every time I see Uhm Jung Hwa. She is still going diva strong despite the fact that her debut was over 20 years ago. I’ve totally forgotten about the song “초대 (Invitation)” and I honestly don’t know how she got this song past the censors.

Despite that, the song oozes her sex appeal and she’s proven that she’s still sexy in her 40’s, as evidenced by the men in the audience who are watching with their mouths open. The funniest thing is that she brought back all of her old dancers and although they can’t really fit into their costumes anymore, it definitely makes one reminisce about the good ol’ days.

Uhm Jung Hwa – 초대 (Invitation)

엄정화 – 초대

초대

오늘을 기다렸어
이런밤이 오기를….
그대와 단둘이서 지샐 우리밤을
난 기다려 왔어
불을 켤 필요없어
아무말도필요없어

그대에 모든걸 내게 맡긴채 그대
눈을 감고 있어

아슬아슬하게 아찔하게
그대가 내품에 들어 오게
이 마음과 이미소와 이 눈빛과 이 손길로
오늘밤 그대를 유혹할래 망설일 필요 없어

난 준비가 돼있어 그댄 나의 이 마음을
이미 오래전에 빼았아갔어

하늘 하늘 하게 촉촉하게
그대 가슴속에 젖어 오게…
그대 향한 그리움에 목이 마른
이가슴에 그대 사랑에
비를 내리게, oh boy

말을해봐 보여줘봐 가지고있는
너의모든걸 내게줘봐
이밤이 다가기전에
내일이 없는사람들인것 같이
gonna love you down
not make you frown
cuz wit me, uh, you wear the crown
lovin’ and rovin’ once again it’s heaven
together girl, twenty-four seven

Invitation

Today I waited for
this kind of evening to come…
Our night together alone until the dawn
I waited for it
Don’t need to turn on the lights
Don’t need to say anything

Will leave everything to you
Closing my eyes

Recklessly, dizzily
so that you can come into my arms
This feeling and smile and look and with this touch
Tonight I want to tempt you without wavering

I’m ready, this, my feelings, you’ve
already taken them awhile back

Lightly, slightly moist,
in your heart becomes misty
Longing for you, my throat becomes dry
with this heart, your love
So that it rains, oh boy

Talk to me, show me what you got
Give me everything you got
Before this night ends,
like we’re people without a tomorrow
gonna love you down
not make you frown
cuz wit me, uh, you wear the crown
lovin’ and rovin’ once again it’s heaven
together girl, twenty-four seven

Leave a Reply

