Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/25/15

I’m surprised I never realized that CNBlue’s Jung Yong Hwa has really come out with his own solo album apart from a few singles.  The album doesn’t sound too different from the style of CNBlue but I’m not surprised by that as he does write his own music for the band.  Through this album, he gets to collaborate with different artists that makes the album feel separate from the group.

I’ve noticed that many of the themes in this album are about time and specifically the feeling of standing still amongst change.  “추억은 잔인하게… (Cruel Memories…)” is a breakup song about being unable to move on but I think what makes this song unique is that Rocker Yoon Do Hyun features on the track.

I’m sure if Yoon Do Hyun is unavailable, one of his CNBlue members could easily fill in but CNBlue tends to have that young, syrupy pop rock sound to their voices while Yoon Do Hyun has that a raspier, life experience-filled voice which brings some weight to the track.

Jung Yong Hwa – 추억은 잔인하게… (With 윤도현) (Cruel Memories… (With Yoon Do Hyun))

정용화(CNBLUE) – 추억은 잔인하게… (With 윤도현)

추억은 잔인하게… (With 윤도현)

지워졌으면 사라졌으면
끈질기게 남은 추억들
시간이 가면 잊혀진다는
그 말 다 틀렸어
내게 남아있어

지나간 시간 행복했던 시간
이젠 좀 사라졌으면
널 정말 잊고 싶어 널 정말 보고 싶어
추억은 절대 변하지 않아
날 더 힘들게 해

이런 기억들 많은 추억들
이젠 모두 다 필요 없어
언제쯤 내게 잊혀질까
추억은 잔인하게 내게 남아있어

떠나줘 내게 행복했던 추억
이젠 좀 사라졌으면
그만 좀 떠나가줘 그만 좀 잊게 해줘
추억이 제발 변하길 원해
날 더 힘들게 해

지나간 시간 행복했던 시간
이젠 좀 사라졌으면
널 정말 잊고 싶어 널 정말 보고 싶어
추억은 절대 변하지 않아
날 더 힘들게 해

지나간 시간 행복했던 시간
이젠 좀 사라졌으면
널 정말 잊고 싶어 널 정말 보고 싶어
추억은 절대 변하지 않아
날 더 힘들게 해

Cruel Memories… (With Yoon Do Hyun)

If it would just erase, just disappear
Relentless remaining the memories
They say that it erases with time
All those words are wrong
It still remains with me

The time that has passed, the happy times
Now would you just disappear
I really want to forget you, I really miss you
The memories never change
It just makes things harder for me

These recollections, many memories
Now I don’t need them all
When will it be erased from me
Cruelly, the memories remain with me

Leave me, the memories that made me happy
Now would you just disappear
Stop and just leave me, stop and let me forget
Really want the memories to change
It just makes things harder for me

The time that has passed, the happy times
Now would you just disappear
I really want to forget you, I really miss you
The memories never change
It just makes things harder for me

The time that has passed, the happy times
Now would you just disappear
I really want to forget you, I really miss you
The memories never change
It just makes things harder for me

Despite the fact Verbal Jint features on the track, “원기옥 (Blast of Energy)” feels very much like a CNBlue track with its pop-like medium tempo. CNBlue has always been good at mixing different genres into a single track that it doesn’t sound too much one thing or the other. This song definitely feels like a continuation of the last which is probably the reason why it comes after “추억은 잔인하게… (Cruel Memories…).”

Jung Yong Hwa – 원기옥 (With 버벌진트) (Blast of Energy (With Verbal Jint))

정용화(CNBLUE) – 원기옥 (With 버벌진트)

원기옥 (With 버벌진트)

Yeah, do you see me fallin’?

Another day 어제와 같은 시각에
잠을 깨 가까운 카페에 가
커피 한 잔 심지어
날 반기는 인사도 똑같은데
(변한 건 없는데)

이상하게 오늘은 힘이 없어 oh
모든 게 아무런 의미 없어 보이는걸
이유를 찾지만
I don’t know no I don’t know

I’m out of energy
무너지고 있는 나를 Can’t you see
세상의 모든 짐이 나의 어깨 위
여기에서 날 눌러
I’m falling falling falling

I need your energy
움직일 수가 없어
Please give your hands to me
숨을 쉴 수가 없어
Now I’m on my knees
Oh hold me hold me please

그땐 욕심이 많았었지 Yeah
No thanks 니가 보낸 걱정들이
지금 생각해 보니
내 곁에 있던 건 너뿐인데
(변함 없었는데)

후회해봤자 지난 일인걸
다 아는데 니가 너무나 필요해
날 웃게 할 사람은 너였어
I need you girl I need your energy

Lend me some energy
혼자는 다시 일어날 자신이 없어
Reach out your hands to me
내게 줘 내가 계속 걸어갈 의미
이 터널의 끝이 어딘지는
나 역시 모르지만 내 손 놓지는 마
Please be my guiding light
너 없인 내가 삶을 살아갈 의미가 없어

I’m out of energy
무너지고 있는 나를 Can’t you see
세상의 모든 짐이 나의 어깨 위
여기에서 날 눌러
I’m falling falling falling

I need your energy
움직일 수가 없어
Please give your hands to me
숨을 쉴 수 없어
Now I’m on my knees
Oh hold me hold me please

Hold me hold me please

I just can’t go on
By myself no
내 힘이 되어줘 공기가 되어줘
무너지는 내게 에너지가 되어줘 Please
Help me get up again
들리니 내 목소리가
Please won’t you hold me now

Hold me hold me please

Blast of Energy (With Verbal Jint)

Yeah, do you see me fallin’?

Another day the same time as yesterday
Wake up and go to a nearby café
Even a cup a coffee
The welcome greeting is the same
(Though nothing has changed)

Strangely I don’t have any energy oh
It looks like nothing has any meaning
Look for a reason
I don’t know no I don’t know

I’m out of energy
I’m toppling, Can’t you see
The whole world’s burdens are on my shoulders
Here it’s pressing me down
I’m falling falling falling

I need your energy
I can’t move
Please give your hands to me
I can’t breathe
Now I’m on my knees
Oh hold me hold me please

Had a lot of greed then, Yeah
No thanks, the worries you’ve given me
Now that I think about it
The only person next to me was you
(Though nothing has changed)

Though I regret it, it’s a thing of the past
Everyone knows it but I really need you
The person who made me laugh was you
I need you girl I need your energy

Lend me some energy
Don’t have the confidence to get up alone
Reach out your hands to me
Give it to me, the reason for me to keep walking on
Where’s the end of this tunnel?
I surely don’t know but don’t let go of my hand
Please be my guiding light
Without you, there no reason for me to go living on

I’m out of energy
I’m toppling, Can’t you see
The whole world’s burdens are on my shoulders
Here it’s pressing me down
I’m falling falling falling

I need your energy
I can’t move
Please give your hands to me
I can’t breathe
Now I’m on my knees
Oh hold me hold me please

Hold me hold me please

I just can’t go on
By myself no
Be my strength, be a breath of air
Collapsing, be my energy, please
Help me get up again
Can you hear me, my voice
Please won’t you hold me now

Hold me hold me please

“마지막 잎새 (The Last Leaf)” is one of the first songs that Jung Yong Hwa made for the album and what I love about it is that it doesn’t have that typical CNBlue sound. In fact, the song sounds a bit like the Beatles meets Rufus Wainwright.

The song itself was inspired by the short story “The Last Leaf” by O. Henry and he wanted to represent how some people can look out into the world and see beauty while other may only see darkness. His hope is that eventually everyone will be able to see the beauty in the world.

Jung Yong Hwa -마지막 잎새 (The Last Leaf)

정용화(CNBLUE) – 마지막 잎새

마지막 잎새

Beautiful world world world
beautiful world
Beautiful love love love
beautiful love

송곳 같은 너를 안을 수 있을까
지켜보기만 해도 난 아픈데
너의 아픔을 어찌 알까

Beautiful world
그대 곁에 등대처럼
Beautiful world
그대 곁에 빛을 비춰
까맣게 번져버린 가슴에

미로 속에 갇혀 바빠지는 걸음
그림자를 친구 삼아 걷는데
너의 외로움 어찌 알까

Beautiful world
그대 곁에 등대처럼
Beautiful world
그대 곁에 빛을 비춰
까맣게 번져버린 가슴에

Beautiful world world world
beautiful world
Beautiful love love love
beautiful love

Beautiful world
그대 곁에 잎새 되어
Beautiful world
그대 곁에 있어 줘요
그대가 홀로서지 않기를

The Last Leaf

Beautiful world world world
beautiful world
Beautiful love love love
beautiful love

Like an ice pick, can I hug you?
Even though I look at you, I hurt
How can I know your pain?

Beautiful world
Like a lighthouse near you
Beautiful world
Shine a light near you
In your heart that’s dispelling darkness

Trapped in a maze, hurried steps
Making shadowy friends and walk
How can one know your loneliness?

Beautiful world
Like a lighthouse near you
Beautiful world
Shine a light near you
In your heart that’s dispelling darkness

Beautiful world world world
beautiful world
Beautiful love love love
beautiful love

Beautiful world
Becoming a leaf by your side
Beautiful world
Will be by your side
So that you won’t stand alone

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/25/15

Leave a Reply

