Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/2/15

I have been eagerly waiting for the release of OST for Heart to Heart. It’s a TVN drama featuring Choi Kang Hee and Chun Jung Myung. Ko Yi Suk (Chun Jung Myung) is an arrogant psychiatrist who develops a strange condition which prevents him from treating his patients. He discovers that he feels normal during his sessions as long as Cha Hong Do (Choi Kang Hee) is around. In return, he promises to treat her social anxiety disorder which leads to severe blushing on her face.

The music from the drama is mostly by Tearliner. Many people might remember him as the indie musician who did the music for The 1st Shop of Coffee Prince (or Coffee Prince, for short). He also performed at Lee Sun Kyun’s wedding. I find his music very pensive and thought-provoking. While the lyrics seem relatively simple, combined with the melody it seems to tell an emotionally deep story. You’ll find many familiar names on this album if you loved the Coffee Prince OST, such as Low-End Project (which is a duo made up of Tearliner and Singer Kang Ji Hoon) and Misty Blue.

That’s incredibly effective if you’re doing a drama about two people who have difficulty expressing themselves. Hong Do is only honest with herself but is unable to express herself to others. On the other hand, Yi Suk expresses a million different things but he’s become so used to pretending that everything is okay that he’s unable to process his emotions.

“머무는 나와 가는 너의 거리 (Staying With You for the Distance)” is a very typical Tearliner song and in fact the instrumental parts sound a lot like “Go Go Chan!!(고고찬!!)”. Although the song sounds bright and cheery, the lyrics are pretty sad. The song is about loving someone from afar and although it seems like the singer is reaching out to connect with that person, that person is so distant that they don’t notice and just manages to stay outside of the singer’s reach. It seems like the song is meant to depict Hong Do’s feelings for Detective Jang (Lee Jae Yoon).

The interesting thing in the most recent episodes is that the tide has turned. He’s finally realized his feelings for her. Although she should be ecstatic, the sudden attention is something that has definitely caught her off guard while dealing with her increasing feelings for Yi Suk. Is he now the main character in this song where Hong Do will be just out of his reach?

Tearliner – 머무는 나와 가는 너의 거리 (Staying With You for the Distance)

티어라이너(Tearliner) – 머무는 나와 가는 너의 거리

머무는 나와 가는 너의 거리

Stay 우리 처음 만났던 그 날로 Stay
머무는 나와 가는 너의 거리
서로 다른 시선에

Stay 그래 내가 날려보낸 편지엔
얇은 펜에 담긴 나의 여린 마음
깨질 듯 위태롭던 그 고백

Stay 수줍게 잡던 네 손 너무나
조근조근 전화 목소리보다
더욱 따뜻했던 걸

I’m gonna stay. I’m gonna fly

Stay 스르륵 빠져 나간 추억에
우리 뒤로 저무는 노을 처럼
달콤했던 우리 얘기 저 멀리

Stay 우리 함께 했던 그 시간도 다
우리 함께 봤던 그 풍경도 다
모두 멈춰버린 걸

I’m gonna stay. I’m gonna fly
네 안에 갇힌 내 모습
아득한 너의 온기만

Stay 우리 처음 만났던 그 날로 Stay
머무는 나와 가는 너의 거리
서로 다른 시선에

I’m gonna stay. I’m gonna fly
Stay 아무 말도 하지 말자
사랑이었다고
아무 일 없이 그렇게

Staying With You for the Distance

Stay, where we first met, Stay
Staying with you for the distance
Each other’s separate gaze

Stay, yeah the mail I’ve flown over
With a thin pen, filled with my tender emotions
Fragile, risky that confession

Stay, shyly held on to my hand was really
More than your serene phone voice
Moreover, the warmth

I’m gonna stay. I’m gonna fly

Stay, slyly escaping memories
Behind us like the setting sun
Our sweet talks are faraway

Stay, all the time we shared together
All the scenery we saw together
Has all come to a stop

I’m gonna stay. I’m gonna fly
The image of me trapped in you
Your warmth faraway

Stay, the day we first met, Stay
Staying with you for the distance
Each other’s separate gaze

I’m gonna stay. I’m gonna fly
Stay, let’s not say anything
It was love
Like it was nothing, that way

Tearliner’s favorite song on the album is “Love Lies” in which he requested indie vocalist Zitten to sing on. The song has two meanings. One is that love does lie but the other comes from bringing the two words in the title together to form “lovelies” as it is lovely. It seems to depict the push and pull of love and how that struggle makes love such an important emotion and worth the fight. Though Zitten sounds plaintive, his gentle voice seems to wrap its arms around the listener and draw them nearer, especially during the song’s climactic moments.

Tearliner – Love Lies (feat.  짙은) (Love Lies (feat. Zitten))

티어라이너(Tearliner) – Love Lies (feat. 짙은)

Love Lies (feat. 짙은)

Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear
Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear
Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear

가시 돋친 밤 붉은 입술에 얹힌
열린 문틈에 놓인
속삭이던 거리
골목을 돌면 그 길목에 있던
왠지 이제는 없는
보이지 않는 너라고 해도

Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear
Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear

나 그저 두 눈을 감아
우주에 아로새긴
숨기려 했던 말들

그 누구나 갖는 저 마음의 병을
내게만 보이고 만져지는 줄
나에게만 나에게만 나에게만
널 보고 있으면 날 보는 것 같고
괜히 그런 네가 미워 짜증도 내고
오후의 저편 오후의 너

Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear

Love Lies (feat. Zitten)

Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear
Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear
Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear

Harsh evening, being placed on scarlet lips
Feeling at ease with the crack in the door,
the whispering streets
Turning the corner, there in that alley
Somehow it’s not there now
Even if I say it’s you I can’t see

Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear
Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear

I just close my eyes
Engraved in the universe
The words I tried to hide

The thing everyone gets, that emotional sickness
Just appears to me and touching me
Just to me, just to me, just to me
When I see you, it feels like I’m seeing myself
For that reason I hate you and get annoyed
In the afternoon, that side, in the afternoon, you

Your Love
love lies, dear
love lies, dear

The final song, “너와의 여행 (Traveling With You),” is a soft ballad that is used to illustrate the more tender moments in the drama. However, it has an interesting backstory. Tearliner asked the Vocalist Jung Eun Soo from the former indie band, Misty Blue to sing it. She worried that she was unable to sing the song because she hadn’t sung in quite some time but there’s something honest about her singing.

Her timid voice seems to capture the loneliness and difficulties of overcoming problems by herself but if she could just get a helping hand, one other person who can take this journey of life with her, it seems like anything can be possible. The innocent tone of the song seems to depict Hong Do and Yi Suk’s relationship. Even though they come from different walks of life, they are both naïve in their own way and need each other desperately. They’re just beginning to discover how much they need each other in the drama.

Tearliner – 너와의 여행 (feat. 정은수) (Traveling With You (feat. Jung Eun Soo))

티어라이너(Tearliner) – 너와의 여행 (feat. 정은수)

너와의 여행 (feat. 정은수)

어제도 다짐했어 나에게 나에게
다시 일어날 거라는 걸
꿈을 향해 가는 게 이렇게 어려운 걸
알지 못했던 것도 아닌 걸

외롭고 어려워도 둘이 함께 간다면
부드러운 손길과 미소를
되돌릴 수 없는 한숨과
차가운 시선에도
너를 느낄 수 있다면

이제는 함께 가도 돼 너와의 꿈을
너와 함께 간다면 어렵지 않은걸

왜 그땐 몰랐을까 바다와 햇살이
널 통해 느낄 수 있던 걸
너를 통해 느끼고 듣고
생각했던 모든 것
너무 소중 했던 걸

이제는 함께 가도 돼 너와의 꿈을
너와 함께 간다면 어렵지 않은걸

떠나가도 되나 떠나가도 되나
꿈은 남겨둔 채
떠나가도 되나 떠나가도 되나 이제

외롭고 어려워도 둘이 함께 간다면
부드러운 손길과 미소를
되돌릴 수 없는 한숨과
차가운 시선에도
너를 느낄 수 있다면

Traveling With You (feat. Jung Eun Soo)

Yesterday, I made a promise to me, to me
That I would get up again
That chasing dreams was this hard
It wasn’t like it was something I didn’t know

Lonely and difficult but if we go together
A gentle helping hand and smile
A sigh I can’t send back
A cold gaze
If I can just feel you

Now I can go together with your dream
If I’m with you, it doesn’t seem so hard

Why didn’t I know it then, the sea and the sun
I could feel it through you
I could feel it and hear it through you
Everything I thought
Was really important

Now I can go together with your dream
If I’m with you, it doesn’t seem so hard

Can you leave, can you leave
With you dreams left behind
Can you leave, can you leave now

Lonely and difficult but if we go together
A gentle helping hand and smile
A sigh I can’t send back
A cold gaze
If I can just feel you

Leave a Reply

