Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/9/15

It seems like there’s an indie company that is following in the lead of the bigger companies and putting out a collaboration album. Shofar Music is a fairly new company which started in 2011 but they have about 5 indie artists that they manage: Kim Sa Rang, Kim Ji Soo, Vanilla Acoustic, Sweden Laundry and Letter Flow. For their first collaboration, most of the artists covered their fellow labelmate and they’ve done a pretty nice job. The company’s name comes from the Hebrew word for an ancient pipe instrument that’s been around for thousands for years. Like how people played music during celebrations, war and praise, the company’s aim is to share the human emotional experience through music.

Sweden Laundry is not a group that I’m very familiar with by their sound but I have heard their name floating around for the last few years. They are a female duo with Choi In Young as the main vocal and keyboard while Wang Se Yoon sings backup and on guitar.

The duo decided to cover Vanilla Acoustic’s “내게 와요 (Come to Me)”. The original track was off of Vanilla Acoustic’s first studio album which came out before I got hooked to this group’s sound. I’ve posted both version below and the certainly the original track has a very full studio jazz sound. It’s a very sultry song but the fact that we hear Vanilla Man’s voice gives the track a balanced sound. The man and woman’s perspective.

On the other hand, since Sweden Laundry only has female vocalists, it sounds more sultry and intimate than the original. Choi In Young does seem to have a similar voice with Vanilla Acoustic’s Sung Ah but the way it’s sung in the remake sounds almost like a whisper. Compared with the fact that there aren’t very many instruments accompanying the track, you feel like you’re in a smoky jazz club with a significant other.

Sweden Laundry -내게 와요 (From. 바닐라 어쿠스틱) (Come to Me (From. Vanilla Acoustic)

스웨덴세탁소 – 내게 와요 (From. 바닐라 어쿠스틱)

내게 와요 (From. 바닐라 어쿠스틱)

내게 와요 겁먹지마요

문득 지나가던 불빛 속에서
너무 밝아 보이지 않던 그대
숨은 쉬고 있는 건지
눈은 뜨고 있는 건지
가슴은 뛰고 있는 건지
도무지 알 수가 없어
내게 와요 겁먹지마요
나는 그렇게 나쁜 사람이 아녜요
내게 와요 두려워마요
언젠가 함께 할 맘을 그리며
문득 떠오르던 생각 속에서
너무 많아 보이지 않던 그대
숨은 쉬고 있는 건지
눈은 뜨고 있는 건지
가슴은 뛰고 있는 건지
도무지 알 수가 없어
내게 와요 겁먹지 마요
나는 그렇게 나쁜 사람이 아녜요
내게 와요 두려워마요
언젠가 함께할 맘을 그리며

내게 와요 겁먹지 마요
내게 와요 두려워마요
내게 와요

Come to Me (From. Vanilla Acoustic)

Come to me, don’t be frightened

Suddenly passing in a beam of light
So bright I couldn’t see you
Are you breathing?
Do you have your eyes open?
Is your heart beating?
I don’t have a clue
Come to me, don’t be frightened
I’m not that bad of a person
Come to me, don’t be afraid
Yearning for one day where our hearts become one
Suddenly coming to my mind
Didn’t see all that much in you
Are you breathing?
Do you have your eyes open?
Is your heart beating?
I don’t have a clue
Come to me, don’t be frightened
I’m not that bad of a person
Come to me, don’t be afraid
Yearning for one day where our hearts become one

Come to me, don’t be frightened
Come to me, don’t be afraid
Come to me

“고백 (Confession)” is a song off of Kim Ji Soo’s second mini album, which is my favorite album of his.  Similar to Sweden Laundry’s rendition of the Vanilla Acoustic track, I like that they bring a very Vanilla Acoustic vibe to this remake.

Because Kim Ji Soo is a solo artist, he doesn’t have the ability to add that extra perspective. In fact the way Kim Ji Soo, it’s a very one-sided romance. With Vanilla Acoustic, it sounds mutual but considering that expressing love can be difficult it sounds like the pair is not on the same page yet.

Vanilla Acoustic – 고백 (From. 김지수) (Confession (From. Kim Ji Soo))

바닐라 어쿠스틱(Vanilla Acoustic) – 고백 (From. 김지수)

Kim Ji Soo – 고백 (Confession)

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/03-eab3a0ebb0b1.mp3%20

김지수 – 고백

고백 (From. 김지수)

사랑이란 한 걸음씩
조급하지 않게 때로는 과감하게
고백할 땐 두 걸음씩
조금 조급하게 때로는 창피하게

꽃냄새를 맡으며 머리를 넘기는
그대의 환상적인 옆모습은

부드럽거나 사랑스럽다
이 정도에 그치지 않고
고백을 하고 싶게 만들어

아주 조심스레 사랑을 말하고
그대 입술을 쳐다보며
나도 라고 말하는
그대 모습을 바란다
너와 나 사이가 너무나 어색해
빨리 대답 좀 해줬으면
생각 좀 해보겠다는
그대가 너무 얄밉다

온종일 기다리다 시곌 쳐다보는
초라하게 짝이 없는 내 모습은

불쌍하거나 많이 떨린다
이 정도에 그치지 않고
너에게 전활 걸게 만들어

아주 조심스레 사랑을 말하고
그대 입술을 쳐다보며
나도 라고 말하는 그대 모습을 바란다
너와 나 사이가 너무나 어색해
빨리 대답 좀 해줬으면
생각 좀 해보겠다는
그대가 너무 얄밉다

Please tell me your mind
아프게는 하지 않아줬으면
Please tell me your mind
미소 지으며 곱게 받아줬으면

아주 조심스레 사랑을 말하고
그대 입술을 쳐다보며
나도 라고 말하는 그대 모습을 바란다
너와 나 사이가 너무나 어색해
빨리 대답 좀 해줬으면
생각 좀 해보겠다는
그대가 너무 얄밉다

Confession (From. Kim Ji Soo)

Love, one step at a time
Without being impatient but decisively
When I confess, two steps at a time
A bit impatient but embarrassingly

Smelling the scent of flowers and flipping your hair
Your dreamy side profile is

Smooth and lovely
It doesn’t stop here
Makes me want to confess

Very carefully I mention love
Look at your lips
Saying that it’s me
I look forward to that look from you
The relationship between you and I is very awkward
If you could hurry up and give me a reply
Saying that you’ll think about it
You’re very sly

Spending all day looking at the clock
Sadly without a partner, I look

Either pathetic or I’m trembling a lot
It doesn’t stop here
Makes me want to call you

Very carefully I mention love
Look at your lips
Saying that it’s me
I look forward to that look from you
The relationship between you and I is very awkward
If you could hurry up and give me a reply
Saying that you’ll think about it
You’re very sly

Please tell me your mind
If you could just not hurt my feelings
Please tell me your mind
Hope you would gracefully accept while smiling

Very carefully I mention love
Look at your lips
Saying that it’s me
I look forward to that look from you
The relationship between you and I is very awkward
If you could hurry up and give me a reply
Saying that you’ll think about it
You’re very sly

Leave a Reply

