Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/16/15

Today, I was inspired to feature some vintage rock music. It’s not like the songs themselves are old but there’s a timeless, classic sound to them that makes them feel neither current nor tired.

Although I first knew Kim Chang Wan as actor, I did become to know him as a musician as well and appreciate his work with San Ul Lim. He started this new band in 2008 and although I realize that he’s not going to everyone’s cup of tea, there is a reason why he still remains relevant and if you’ve listened to IU’s cover album, “Flower Bookmark”, you’ll know why.

“내 마음에 주단을 깔고 (Spreading Satin on My Heart)” is an incredibly long song at 7 minutes in length and the intro didn’t exactly pull me in at first. But luckily, I happened to be listening to the song as background music at first. It starts off very new-agey with the gugak instruments but I have to admit that once the modern instrument kick in I’m very intrigued by the fusion of sounds. The lyrics don’t start until more than halfway through the track but by that time I’m hooked by the ambience of the music.

Kim Chang Wan Band – 내 마음에 주단을 깔고 (feat. 잠비나이) (Spreading Satin on My Heart (feat. Jambi Age))

김창완 밴드(Kim Chang Wan Band) – 내 마음에 주단을 깔고 (feat. 잠비나이)

내 마음에 주단을 깔고 (feat. 잠비나이)

내 마음에 주단을 깔고
그대 길목에 서서
예쁜 촛불로 그대를 맞으리
향그러운 꽃 길로 가면
나는 나비가 되어
그대 마음에 날아가 앉으리

아 한마디 말이
노래가 되고 시가 되고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고
그대 위해 노래 부르리

그대는 아는가 이 마음
주단을 깔아 논 내 마음
사뿐히 밟으며 와주오
그대는 아는가 이 마음

내 마음에 주단을 깔고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고
내 마음에 주단을 깔고

그대는 아는가 이 마음
주단을 깔아 논 내 마음
사뿐히 밟으며 와주오
그대는 아는가 이 마음

Spreading Satin on My Heart (feat. Jambi Age)

Spreading satin on my heart
Standing on your street
Meet you with a pretty candle
If we go to a flowery scented street
I’ll become a butterfly
I’ll fly to your heart to sit

Ah, just one word
Becomes a song, becomes a poem
Spreading satin on my heart
For you, I will sing

Do you know this feeling?
My heart having spread the satin
Lightly stepping, oh would you please come
Do you know this feeling?

Spreading satin on my heart
Spreading satin on my heart
Spreading satin on my heart
Spreading satin on my heart
Spreading satin on my heart
Spreading satin on my heart
Spreading satin on my heart
Spreading satin on my heart
Spreading satin on my heart
Spreading satin on my heart
Spreading satin on my heart
Spreading satin on my heart

Do you know this feeling?
My heart having spread the satin
Lightly stepping, oh would you please come
Do you know this feeling?

_____________________________________________________

Jang Ki Ha and the Faces is modern indie rock band but they certainly do have a vintage feel to them. I have to be in the mood to listen to them but when I do I find their music to be pretty comical. Unlike many bands, I don’t exactly feel like the lead singer Jang Ki Ha sings the songs. In fact, he speaks like a beatnik poet who says what ever thought comes to his mind timing it to a singular line of prose at a time.

Just in time for Lunar New Year, the band released a single called “새해 복 (New Year’s Luck)”. Typically you wish other people good luck and fortune in the New Year but Jang Ki Ha’s message is that you can’t just erase all the bad things that have happened with good luck and therefore you can’t rely on it. However, there’s something nice about wishing another person good luck and it’s a nice to feel that you can start anew. So the song amusingly goes back and forth between this idea of you have to work hard and not so hard.

장기하와 얼굴들 – 새해 복

새해 복

어머니 아버지 새해 복 새해 복
할머니 할아버지 새해 복 새해 복
친구들아 너네들도 새해 복 새해 복
언니 오빠 동생 동창
친구 원수 아군 적군
이 사람 저 사람 잘난 사람 못난 사람
너도 나도 모두 다
새해 복만으로는 안돼
니가 잘 해야지 (안돼)
노력을 해야지 (안돼)
새해 복만으로는 안돼
니가 잘 해야지 (안돼)
열심히 해야지 (안돼)

흰눈 내리는 날에도
새해 복 새해 복
하늘이 파란 날에도
새해 복 새해 복
가버린 작년에 있던
슬픈 일들은 잊어 버리고
왠지 모든 일이
술술 풀릴 것 같은 기분이 들어도
새해 복만으로는 안돼
니가 잘 해야지 (안돼)
노력을 해야지 (안돼)
새해 복만으로는 안돼
니가 잘 해야지 (안돼)
열심히 해야지 (안돼)

새해 복만으로는 안돼 안돼 안돼
새해 복만으로는 안돼 안돼 안돼
올해도 새해 복 많이 받으라
말하고 싶겠지
새해 복 많이 받으세요
올해도 새해 복 많이 받으라
말하고 싶겠지
새해 복 많이 받으면 돼
새해 복 많이 받으세요
올해도 새해 복 많이 받으라
인사하고 싶겠지
새해 복 많이 받으세요
어떻게 보면 애써도 소용 없어
복만 받으면 돼

새해 복만으로도 돼
절대 잘 하지 마 (돼)
노력을 하지 마 (돼)
새해 복만으로도 돼
니가 잘 하지 마 (돼)
열심히 하지 마 (돼)

새해 복만으로도 돼
니가 잘 하지 마 (돼)
노력을 하지 마 (돼)
새해 복만으로도 돼
절대 잘 하지 마 (돼)
열심히 하지 마 (돼)

새해 복만으로는 안돼
니가 잘 해야지 (안돼)
노력을 해야지 (안돼)
새해 복만으로는 안돼
니가 잘 해야지 (안돼)
열심히 해야지 (안돼)

새해 복만으로도 돼
절대 잘 하지 마 (돼)
노력을 하지 마 (돼)
새해 복만으로도 돼
절대 잘 하지 마 (돼)
열심히 하지 마 (돼)

New Year’s Luck

Mother, Father, New Year’s luck, New Year’s luck
Grandmother, Grandfather, New Year’s luck, New Year’s luck
Friends, you too, New Year’s luck, New Year’s luck
Sister, brother, younger siblings, schoolmates
Friend, enemy, ally, foe
This person, that person, well-bred, unsophisticated
You too, me too, everybody
You can’t rely on just New Year’s luck
You have to do well (Not a chance)
You have to try hard (Not a chance)
You can’t rely on just New Year’s luck
You have to do well (Not a chance)
You have to work hard (Not a chance)

On days when it’s snowing
New Year’s luck, New Year’s luck
On days when the skies are blue
New Year’s luck, New Year’s luck
Gone, the things that happened last year
The sad things that happened are forgotten
Somehow all the things that happened
Feel like they will work itself out
You can’t rely on just New Year’s luck
You have to do well (Not a chance)
You have to try hard (Not a chance)
You can’t rely on just New Year’s luck
You have to do well (Not a chance)
You have to work hard (Not a chance)

You can’t can’t can’t rely on just New Year’s luck
You can’t can’t can’t rely on just New Year’s luck
This year too, receive a lot of New Year’s luck
Want to say that but
I wish you a lot of New Year’s luck
This year too, receive a lot of New Year’s luck
Want to say that but
All you have to do is receive a lot of New Year’s luck
I wish you a lot of New Year’s luck
This year too, receive a lot of New Year’s luck
Want to greet you that way but
I wish you a lot of New Year’s luck
When you look at it, there’s no use in trying
All you need is luck

All you need is New Year’s luck
Don’t you dare do well (do it)
Don’t you try hard (do it)
All you need is New Year’s luck
Don’t you do well (do it)
Don’t you work hard (do it)

All you need is New Year’s luck
Don’t you dare do well (do it)
Don’t you try hard (do it)
All you need is New Year’s luck
Don’t you do well (do it)
Don’t you work hard (do it)

You can’t rely on just New Year’s luck
You have to do well (Not a chance)
You have to try hard (Not a chance)
You can’t rely on just New Year’s luck
You have to do well (Not a chance)
You have to work hard (Not a chance)

All you need is New Year’s luck
Don’t you dare do well (do it)
Don’t you try hard (do it)
All you need is New Year’s luck
Don’t you do well (do it)
Don’t you work hard (do it)

Leave a Reply

