Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/23/15

I was really surprised (but happy) to hear that Amber released her solo album. Known as the tomboy rapper from f(x), there’s a lot of love for Amber because of her atypical K-pop girl image. Many K-pop girls tend to have the same textbook look and dress so Amber’s personality and looks were a breath of fresh air. Rather than looking forward to her singing ability, I most looked forward to the experiences she’d share through her music.

The title song off the mini album is “Shake that Brass” and with its upbeat, funky vibe I was surprised that this would be the song that Amber would focus on promoting. The song is done in that familiar f(x) style and it certainly showcases Amber fun and energetic side.

However, I was also glad to see that she’s also been singing “Beautiful” on several of the music programs. Amber’s not a great singer and you could hear that in this song and on “Love Run”. It’s not that she’s tone deaf or that she can’t reach the notes but she doesn’t her singing voice doesn’t pack as much punch as you would expect of most solo artists. Her uneasy singing is what makes the song, for lack of a better word, beautiful.  Rather than if the singer were SNSD’s Taeyeon or f(x)’s Krystal, the track truly feels like it’s exposing Amber’s soul and relaying the experiences she’s been through. And when you get to the rap portion, her voice gradually grows in confidence that the chorus sounds deeply heartfelt by the end.

엠버(AMBER) – Beautiful

Beautiful

고갤 숙인 채 하늘을 피해 숨지
어두운 마음 속 밤은
한없지 YEAH YEAH
날개를 펼 수 없었어
좁은 새장 같았던 세상 앞에
힘겨운 몸짓으로
언젠가 찾아 올 널 노래해

날개를 펼친 내 꿈이
푸른 하늘에 하염없이 더 빛나게
차갑게 닫힌 내 맘이 다시 뛰도록
하늘 높이 저 별을 따라서

문 밖은 언제나 불안한 상처만 남고
아픔을 견뎌야 날 수가 있어

날개를 펼친 내 꿈이
푸른 하늘에 하염없이 더 빛나게
차갑게 닫힌 내 맘이 다시 뛰도록
하늘 높이 저 별을 따라서

그 날카로운 말들이
내 맘을 깊이 베어
아프긴 하지만 이 악물고 참고 견뎌
I know I’m gonna heal
And I’m always looking up
눈 앞이 캄캄해도 빛을 찾을 거야
나는 웃을 거야 계속 웃을 거야
I’m a fighter 절대 포기하지 않아
난 계속해서 날아 fly 또 날아
내 꿈은 먼 훗 날의 내 모습을 되감아
I’ma just be me, yeah only me
I’ma just be me, yeah yeah

두려움 없이 더 높이 날 수가 있어
어둠 속에 갇혀도
그 어떤 상처마저도 내겐 아름다워
I’m just happy
I’m happy to be myself
I’m happy to be myself

Beautiful

With my head low, hiding and avoiding the skies
With a gloomy heart at night
Infinitely YEAH YEAH
Couldn’t spread my wings
Like a tiny birdcage in front of the world
With heavy movements
I’ll sing for who will come find me someday

Wings spread, my dreams
Above the blue skies, endlessly bright
Cold and closed, so that my heart beats again
High in the sky following that star

Outside the door, uneasiness and pain always remains
Must get over the pain in order to fly

Wings spread, my dreams
Above the blue skies, endlessly bright
Cold and closed, so that my heart beats again
High in the sky following that star

Those sharp words
Stab me deep in my heart
It hurts but I’ll grit my teeth and bear it
I know I’m gonna heal
And I’m always looking up
Though it looks dark, I’ll seek out the light
I will laugh, I’ll keep laughing
I’m a fighter, I’ll never give up
I’ll keep on flying, fly, again fly
My dreams wraps itself around my distant future
I’ma just be me, yeah only me
I’ma just be me, yeah yeah

Without fear, I can fly higher
Even though I’m trapped in the darkness
Any scars I get are beautiful to me
I’m just happy
I’m happy to be myself
I’m happy to be myself

The 2nd song I want to feature off this album is called “I Just Wanna” which features Eric Nam. If you think this song sounds familiar, it’s because the melody is from a song called “Goodbye Summer” off the f(x)’s “Pink Tape” album. The melody was composed by Amber and Gen Neo (of Noizebank) but here Amber rewrote the lyrics in English. The story depicted in the original version is about friendships, graduation and coming of age. To match the theme of self-confidence, these lyrics depict a love story.

Despite saying that Amber does not really have a singer’s voice, she has really great harmony with Eric Nam and it’s one of my favorite songs on the album because of it. It’s quite a different feel from the Amber, Luna and Krystal harmony in “Goodbye Summer”. Another thing is that her singing here almost makes you forget about her tough girl image and it’s pretty sweet song.

Amber – I Just Wanna (feat. 에릭남) (I Just Wanna (feat. Eric Nam))

엠버(AMBER) – I Just Wanna (feat. 에릭남)

I Just Wanna (feat. 에릭남)

When I first walked
In the room
I saw your face
Baby girl I was so amazed
I caught you smiling back at me
But I didn’t know what to say

Hey now baby boy (Yeah yeah)
Don’t you know (Yeah yeah)
I’m ready for you you you
Now boy what you gonna do

Because I know you
The one I’ve been
Searching for
I know with you
My life means more
I wish I could say
These things to you
Come here baby boy
Let me listen to you

I just wanna love you
Give me that chance
Wanna hold you
Baby you know
That I need you I need you
And I’m wondering all the time
If you love me come
On over get to know me
Baby because I know
You need me you need me
And I want you
In my life yeah yeah

Yeah cut to the chase
We don’t play no games
The beating of my heart
Just tell me
If you feel the same
This feeling is true
You ain’t gotta play it cool
I’ve been searching all my life
Baby boy I know it’s you

Because I know you
The one I’ve been searching for
I know with you
My life means more
I wish I could say
These things to you
Now come here baby boy
Let me listen to you

I just wanna love you
Give me that chance
Wanna hold you
Baby you know
That I need you I need you
And I’m wondering all the time
If you love me come
On over get to know me
Baby because I know
You need me you need me
And I want you
In my life yeah yeah

You make me go
Oh woah woah woah
I don’t wanna be
Alone no more
Oh woah woah woah
Without you I feel
So cold yeah
Because days without
You they don’t feel the same
Now I see just you and me
Baby you make
Everything complete

I just wanna love you
Give me that chance
Wanna hold you
Baby you know
That I need you I need you
And I’m wondering all the time
If you love me come
On over get to know me
Baby because I know
You need me you need me
And I want you
In my life yeah yeah

I just wanna love you
Give me that chance
Wanna hold you
Baby you know that
I need you I need you
And I want you
In my life yeah yeah

La la la la la

Leave a Reply

