Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/9/15

There are some songs that are not only fun to listen to but would be a great song to use in a movie or dramas.  ALi and Manju Pocket are two artists who seem to understand the use of expanding their genre horizons and creating music that tells a story.

I’ve always loved ALi’s voice but when I first heard “잘가요 Mr.Kim (Goodbye Mr. Kim)” I was taken aback by the fact that it’s not really a ballad.  The song sounds as if it is the theme song to a 70’s action film.  Although the genre of the music might not capture everyone’s ears at first, it’s worth listening to more than once as the novel sound of the track is very charismatic.

Similar to Adele, I think it would be great to make use of Ali’s voice for a movie soundtrack.  Can you just see her doing the title song to a Korean 007 type of movie?  Her voice packs such power and allure that I could totally picture it.  Also, featuring on the track is LE of EXID whose song “위아래 (Up and Down)” has been on the charts for weeks.

ALi -잘가요 Mr.Kim (With LE Of EXID) (Goodbye Mr. Kim (With LE Of EXID))

알리(Ali) – 잘가요 Mr.Kim (With LE Of EXID)

잘가요 Mr.Kim (With LE Of EXID)

잘가요 Mr.Kim 나를 잊지 말아요
혼자서 울면 안돼요
잘가요 Mr.Kim 전화하지 말아요
자꾸만 흔들리니까

바람처럼 끝나버린
우리들의 love song
이제 떠나버려 go away
사랑사랑 꺼져버린
먼지처럼 사라져버린
그대 인가요

yeah 잘가 잘가요 Mr.Kim
이젠 나도 질렸어 이기적인
그대 그때는 영원을 말하더니
이제는 내게는 영혼이 없는거니

더이상 네가 하는말 믿지도
이별에 슬퍼하는 표정 짓지도
않을테니 미련같은거 두지마요
Mr.Kim Mr.Kim 그대 잘가요

사랑한단 한마디 말도 못했죠
가져간 마음만은 두고 떠나요
그래요 Mr.Kim 잘가요
Mr.Kim 더이상 잡지 말아요

바람처럼 끝나버린
우리들의 love song
이제 떠나버려 go away
사랑사랑 꺼져버린
먼지처럼 사라져버린
그대 인가요

사랑한다 말해요
가지 말아요

가지말라고 해봤자
떠날 사람은 떠나
떠난 그대 생각해
또 난 앉으나 서나
그래 나라고 별수 있겠어
나도 사람인데 맘도 안 아프겠어

바람처럼 끝나버린
우리들의 love song
이제 떠나버려 go away
사랑사랑 꺼져버린
먼지처럼 사라져버린
그대 인가요

잘가요 Mr.Kim 나를 잊지 말아요
혼자서 울면 안돼요
잘가요 Mr.Kim 전화하지 말아요
자꾸만 흔들리니까

Goodbye Mr. Kim (With LE Of EXID)

Goodbye Mr. Kim, please don’t forget me
Don’t cry by yourself
Goodbye Mr. Kim, please don’t call me
Because I’ll waver

Ended like the wind
Our love song
Now go away, go away
Love, love has darkened
Disappeared like dust
Is that you?

yeah goodbye, Goodbye Mr.Kim
Now I’m tired of selfishness
You said then that it’d be forever
Now is that I have no spirit?

Not gonna believe anything you say anymore
A sad breakup face
I won’t make it, won’t have any feeling left
Mr.Kim Mr.Kim, goodbye you

Couldn’t even say I love you
Leave behind the heart you’ve taken from me
Yeah, Mr.Kim, yeah
Mr.Kim, please don’t hold on anymore

Ended like the wind
Our love song
Now go away, go away
Love, love has darkened
Disappeared like dust
Is that you?

Say that you love me
Don’t go

Even if I say don’t go
A person who wants to leave should leave
Think of you who left
Again should I sit or stand
Yeah, could I have done any better?
I’m a person too, don’t you think I would hurt too?

Ended like the wind
Our love song
Now go away, go away
Love, love has darkened
Disappeared like dust
Is that you?

Goodbye Mr. Kim, please don’t forget me
Don’t cry by yourself
Goodbye Mr. Kim, please don’t call me
Because I’ll waver

_____________________________________________________

Manju Pocket is an indie group whose members are Choi Yong Soo, Manju and Han Joon Hee.   Manju is a nickname for the female vocalist of the group but manju is actually a Japanese delicacy that’s usually served with tea but it’s usually a snack that you can find at highway rest stops or in the subway.  In Korea, it’s typically a tea cake that has a chestnut or custard filling.

This indie group is fairly a new group for me but I was taken with the title track on their latest album, “술도 한 잔 (feat. 최정훈-잔나비) (A Drink (feat. Choi Jung Hoon – Jannabi))”.  It’s a song about getting together but it feels like a mating ritual tango as you hear the back and forth between the two perspectives.  The way they’ve executed the song is quite entertaining and it’s worth watching the live studio version below.

만쥬한봉지 – 술도 한 잔 (feat. 최정훈-잔나비)

술도 한 잔 (feat. 최정훈-잔나비)

밥이나 한번 먹잔 말에
며칠 밤을 설레었는데
그렇게 던져놓고 연락이 없네
그냥 해본 말인가

차라리 먼저 말을 꺼내
전화로 하긴 좀 그래
문자를 쓰다 말다 열댓 번 고쳐
이게 뭐 하는 짓이야

마냥 얻어먹긴 좀 그래
계산을 먼저 해버릴까
아니면 차를 산다 할까
아 맞다 옷부터 사야겠어

좋아 좋아 너무 좋아
김칫국 맛일지도* 몰라 몰라
좋아 좋아 그저 좋아
당신만 괜찮다면은 술도 한잔

주량이 어떻게 되세요?
그렇게 잘 먹진 못해요
오늘따라 술 맛이 달달하네요
어머, 차 끊기겠어요

데려다 준다고요? 아녜요
혼자 들어갈 수 있어요
엄마가 기다리겠어요
아 근데 왜 이리 어지럽지

좋아 좋아 너무 좋아
김칫국 맛일지도 몰라 몰라
좋아 좋아 그저 좋아
당신만 괜찮다면은

오늘 밤은 나 이대로
그댈 들여보내긴 싫어
이렇게 자석처럼
이끌리고 있는 걸

(One Two)

좋아 좋아 좋아 좋아
좋아 좋아 좋아 좋아

좋아 좋아 너무 좋아
깊숙이 더 빠져도 몰라 몰라
좋아 좋아 그저 좋아
당신만 괜찮다면은 또 한잔

좋아 좋아 너무 좋아
깊숙이 더 빠져도 몰라 몰라
좋아 좋아 어쩜 좋아
당신만 괜찮다면은 술도 한잔

A Drink (feat. Choi Jung Hoon – Jannabi)

Saying the words, let’s get dinner some time
Was sleepless for several nights
Threw that my way but there was no call
Is it just something you say?

Should I bring it up first?
A bit complex to do it over the phone
Type up a text and edited it about 10 times
What am I doing?

Always treated to food is a bit iffy
Should I pay first?
Or should I say I’m getting the tea?
Oh yeah, I should buy some clothes first

Like it, like it, really like it
Don’t get your hopes up*, don’t know, don’t know
Like it, like it, just like it
If it’s okay with you, how about a drink?

Can you hold your liquor well?
Can’t drink that well
The liquor tastes sweet today
Oh my, the trains are about to shut down

You’re gonna take me home? That’s okay
I can go home by myself
My mom must be waiting for you
Ah but why do I feel dizzy?

Like it, like it, really like it
Don’t get your hopes up, don’t know, don’t know
Like it, like it, just like it
If it’s okay with you, how about a drink?

Tonight, like this
Don’t want to send you off
Like a magnet
Being pulled in

(One Two)

Like it, like it, like it, like it
Like it, like it, like it, like it

Like it, like it, really like it
If I fall deeper, don’t know, don’t know
Like it, like it, just like it
If it’s okay with you, how about another drink?

Like it, like it, really like it
If I fall deeper, don’t know, don’t know
Like it, like it, just like it
If it’s okay with you, how about a drink?

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/9/15

Leave a Reply

