Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/16/15

Ah… Monday’s are tough.  It makes me the comfort of the weekend, dressed in sweats and being a couch potato.  Hopefully this week’s playlist will make you feel that way all week.

Super Junior’s sub unit, D&E, is a duo that’s been  around for a few years but I just never really got into them as I never really got a sense of them as serious artists.  Their songs mostly seemed like they were being produced as an entertaining gimmick more than anything else.  Eun Hyuk always seemed more suited for variety programs while I prefer Dong Hae as solo artist for OSTs.  This recent mini album feels like a change of pace at least for me as I have not listened to their last few releases.

One of my favorite tracks on the album is “Sweater & Jeans”.  It uses the metaphor of vintage sweater and jeans to convey the idea of wearing a comfortable sweater and jeans.  Something that feels worn but only suited for your body.

Howver, the lyrics start out with a description of old Hollywood and what sounds like f(x)’s Krystal saying, “S’cuse me, I’m a little lost.”  The concept of comfort and the style of Marilyn Monroe sounds very different but if there was anyone who could make a pair of an old sweater and jeans look beautiful, it will probably be her.  In that way the comparison to her beauty to the girlfriend in this song sounds pretty sweet.

SUPER JUNIOR-D&E (Dong Hae & Eun Hyuk) – Sweater & Jeans

SUPER JUNIOR-D&E (동해&은혁) – Sweater & Jeans

Sweater & Jeans

흑백영화에서 코너를 돌아
나온 듯한 그녀
Excuse me
I’m a little lost
그 차는 마치 Classic 1957
여긴 화려한 Hollywood
눈앞에서 Marilyn을 만난 듯
너의 손목을 잡아
이대로 너와 어디라도 좋은 나
꿈이라도 좋은 나
Ah Ah 사랑이 시작되나
Ah Ah Okay

넌 화보 같은 Lifetime
그 속에서 Say hello
널 따라다닌 단어는 Beautiful
드디어 찾은 나의 신데렐라
손등 위 Kissin’
수많은 낮과 또 그보다 더 많은 밤
그 시간 속에 묻어난 편안함
My God She’s 어제보다 예쁜

너는 내 Vintage Sweater And Jeans
너는 내 Vintage Sweater And Jeans
언제나 내 몸에 입혀진
나만의 Vintage Sweater And Jeans

날 취하게 했던 와인 느낌의 Perfume
별 쏟아지던 밤 선명했던 입맞춤
모든 게 낡고 또 바래도
그 속에 영원히 빛나줘 Yeah
하나하나 새겨 모든 건 기적
헤어지지 말자 떨어지지 말자
Ah Ah 시간은 우릴 스쳐가
Ah Ah Okay

넌 화보 같은 Lifetime
그 속에서 Say hello
널 따라다닌 단어는 Beautiful
드디어 찾은 나의 신데렐라
손등 위 Kissin’
수많은 낮과 또 그보다 더 많은 밤
그 시간 속에 묻어난 편안함
My God She’s 어제보다 예쁜

너는 내 Vintage Sweater And Jeans
너는 내 Vintage Sweater And Jeans
이렇게 내 몸에 맞춰진
나만의 Vintage Sweater And Jeans

Oh Baby 넌 매일 숨 쉬는 사진
날 부드럽게 감싸 안아
우린 마치 한 몸 같아
모든 Scene을 완성하는 너
영원토록 Would you be my world
Be my Marilyn I’ll be your James Dean

내 꿈만 같은 Lifetime
그 속에서 넌 Hello
단둘만 아는 얘기는 비밀로
드디어 찾은 나의 신데렐라
손등 위 Kissin’
눈부신 낮과 또 그보다 더 밝은 밤
그 시간 속에 묻어난 특별함
My God She’s 어제보다 예쁜

너는 내 Vintage Sweater And Jeans
너는 내 Vintage Sweater And Jeans
언제나 내 몸에 입혀진
나만의 Vintage Sweater And Jeans

너는 내 Vintage Sweater And Jeans
너는 내 Vintage Sweater And Jeans
이렇게 내 몸에 맞춰진
나만의 Vintage Sweater And Jeans

넌 Vintage Sweater And Jeans

Sweater & Jeans

Turning the corner in a black & white movie
Seems like she has appeared
Excuse me
I’m a little lost
It’s like that car, Classic 1957
Here, it’s the glamorous Hollywood
In front of my eyes, it’s like I’ve met Marilyn
I grab your wrist
I like it like this wherever with you
Even if it’s a dream, I like it
Ah Ah, starting to love
Ah Ah Okay

You’re like a pictorial, Lifetime
In there, Say hello
The word following you around, Beautiful
Finally found my Cinderella
Upon your hand, Kissin’
Countless days and even more nights
Within that time, seemingly comfortable
My God She’s even prettier than yesterday

You’re my Vintage Sweater And Jeans
You’re my Vintage Sweater And Jeans
Always covering my body
My only Vintage Sweater And Jeans

Making me drunk, a wine-like perfume
A starlit night, a brilliant kiss
Though everything gets worn and faded
Inside you forever shine, Yeah
Listen one by one, everything is a miracle
Let’s not breakup, let’s not separate
Ah Ah, time passes us by
Ah Ah Okay

You’re like a pictorial, Lifetime
In there, Say hello
The word following you around, Beautiful
Finally found my Cinderella
Upon your hand, Kissin’
Countless days and even more nights
Within that time, seemingly comfortable
My God She’s even prettier than yesterday

You’re my Vintage Sweater And Jeans
You’re my Vintage Sweater And Jeans
Always covering my body
My only Vintage Sweater And Jeans

Oh Baby, you’re a live breathing image
You embrace me softly
We are like one body
You complete every Scene
Forever, Would you be my world
Be my Marilyn I’ll be your James Dean

My dream-like, Lifetime
In there you say, Hello
Keep secret the thing that only we know
Finally found my Cinderella
Upon your hand, Kissin’
Dazzling days and even brighter nights
Within that time, seemingly unique
My God She’s even prettier than yesterday

You’re my Vintage Sweater And Jeans
You’re my Vintage Sweater And Jeans
Always covering my body
My only Vintage Sweater And Jeans

You’re my Vintage Sweater And Jeans
You’re my Vintage Sweater And Jeans
Made for my body like this
My only Vintage Sweater And Jeans

You’re Vintage Sweater And Jeans

_____________________________________________________

I was very surprised to see that Niel released his solo album. It’s not that I don’t know who Niel is but I didn’t know him well enough to remember he was in Teen Top.  In that way, I think the group has a way to go in promoting their members in general and on more programs.

Having said that, it’s nice to see that Niel is making an effort to write his own songs.  While it’s a collaborative effort with other writers, I’m quite partial to “아포가토 (Affogato)”.  For those who aren’t familiar with this coffee drink, it’s espresso topped with gelato or ice cream.

Like the drink, the song is a blend of the bittersweet.  It’s about regrets over breaking up and thinking of sweet memories at the couple’s usual cafe.  However, this slow R&B track combined with Niel’s smooth voice makes it feel very familiar and comfortable.  Fellow Teen Top member, C.A.P, features on the track.

Niel – 아포가토 (feat. C.A.P) (Affogato (feat. C.A.P))

니엘(Niel) [틴탑] – 아포가토 (feat. C.A.P)

아포가토 (feat. C.A.P)

아직 조금 쌀쌀한 날씨
축 쳐진 가디건 살짝 걸치고
신기 힘든 운동화 대신
슬리퍼 신고 문을 열었죠
그 순간 잠시 앞은 하얘지고
꽉 감은 눈을 다시 살짝 뜨고
가벼운 미소를 머금고
다시 슬리퍼 끌며 길을 걸었죠

Café 니가 자주 가던Café
우리 자주 가던 Café
진한 커피 향에 눈물이 흘러 oh baby
Café 니가 자주 가던Café
우리 자주 가던Café

우리 처음 함께 했던 그 날
우리 마지막을 함께 했던 그 밤
Our last kiss was so bittersweet
Our love was like Affogato
라랄랄라라 라랄라
라랄랄라라 라랄랄라
마치 어제 일만 같은데

Café 니가 자주 가던Café
우리 자주 가던 Café
진한 커피 향에 눈물이 흘러 oh baby
Café 니가 자주 가던Café
우리 자주 가던Café

야, 너와 헤어지고 난 후
난 후회만 남아
너와 자주 가던Café 에 나와
내 눈앞엔 Affogato와
입안엔 씁쓸함 어때?
마치 우리의 연애와 끝과 같지
부탁해 한번만 더 Talk to me now
다시 Ocean을 만들 수 있게
내 문을 두드린 건
자존심 아닌 그리움

Café 니가 자주 가던Café
우리 자주 가던 Café
진한 커피 향에 눈물이 흘러 oh baby
Café 니가 자주 가던Café
우리 자주 가던Café

Café 니가 자주 가던Café
우리 자주 가던 Café
진한 커피 향에 눈물이 흘러 oh baby
Café 니가 자주 가던Café
우리 자주 가던Café

Affogato (feat. C.A.P)

The weather is still chilly
Slightly slip on a slouchy cardigan
Instead of a hard to wear sneakers
Slip on slippers and open the door
That moment, everything in front turns white a bit
My tightly shut eyes again open slightly
Holding a slight smile
Again dragging my slippers, walk the streets

Café, where you went often, Café
Where we often went, Café
Tearing at the strong scent of coffee, oh baby
Café, where you went often, Café
Where we often went, Café

The first time we spent together, that day
The last time we spent together, that night
Our last kiss was so bittersweet
Our love was like Affogato
Lalallallala Lalalla
Lalallallala Lalallalla
It seems like it was just yesterday

Café, where you went often, Café
Where we often went, Café
Tearing at the strong scent of coffee, oh baby
Café, where you went often, Café
Where we often went, Café

Hey, after we broke up
I only have regrets
Come out to the Café where we often went to
With an Affogato in front of my eyes
How is the bitterness in your mouth?
Like the end of our relationship
Begging you once more, Talk to me now
I’ll make an Ocean once more
Knocking on my door
Is not pride but longing

Café, where you went often, Café
Where we often went, Café
Tearing at the strong scent of coffee, oh baby
Café, where you went often, Café
Where we often went, Café

Café, where you went often, Café
Where we often went, Café
Tearing at the strong scent of coffee, oh baby
Café, where you went often, Café
Where we often went, Café

Leave a Reply

