Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/23/15

It took me some time before I actually listened to Gain’s latest mini album, “Hawwah”. Her last album was underwhelming because I know that she could be sexy but after awhile that can’t be the only concept you’re selling. Certainly, Gain is sexy on this album but I like that she’s exploring other genres and having a lot of fun with it.

I absolutely love “Apple”, one of the title songs on the album. It has nothing to do with the fact that Jay Park features on the track. I swear! (Maybe just a little.)

The thing that makes this song so flirty and fun is the jazziness mixed with the cheekiness of the lyrics.  Obviously, the symbol of the apple reflects back to the biblical tale of Adam and Eve and even the album’s title is another name for Eve in Hebrew.  The start-stop rhythm of the song and varied beats seem to characterize that she’s a temptress who has her man on a very short leash.

가인 [브라운아이드걸스] – Apple (feat.박재범)

Apple (feat. 박재범)

하지 말라고 말하니까 하고 싶다 yummy
갖지 말라고 말하니까 갖고 싶다

hol’ up mommy u needa relax
go slow girl u movin’ too fast
여기서 이러면 안돼
그러다가 큰일 나면 어째
잘못하면 우리 둘 다 벌 받아
한 입 할까 말까 우- 참자

한 입만 어때
아무 일도 없을 거야, 그치
혼나면 어때 너도 지금 원하잖아

ooh- uh-
don’t don’t don’t don’t don’t
don’t don’t don’t don’t
ooh- uh-
don’t don’t don’t don’t don’t
do do do do

그래 맞아 girl yeah 나도 원해
더 이상은 부정할 수는 없어
힘들어도 나는 계속 아닌 척 해
근데 거의 불가능해졌어
나도 정말 그러고 싶어 girl
but I’m really thinking that we shouldn’t girl
until it’s just two of us
there won’t be any reason to hide
좋은 데로 가자 단둘이만 있으면
그때는 내가 변신하니까
문을 잠그고 제대로 보여줄게 girl
그때는 헐크처럼 힘을 쓸게 girl

말할 땐 못된 내 입술이
tasty, bite me, yummy
지금 나 어때 대답해 줘
want me, love me

ooh- uh-
don’t don’t don’t don’t don’t
don’t don’t don’t don’t
ooh- uh-
don’t don’t don’t don’t don’t
do do do do

우린 손을 잡고
넘지 못할 선을 밟고 boy
이리 저리 춤을 추고 있어
넌 이제 처음처럼 나를 보질 못하지
이젠 나랑 떨어질 수 없어

Apple (feat. Park Jae Bum)

Please say no, I want to, yummy
Please say don’t have me, I want to have you

hol’ up mommy u needa relax
go slow girl u movin’ too fast
You can’t do that here
What if we get into trouble like that?
If we do something wrong, we’ll both get in trouble
Take a bite or not? Woo, let’s wait

Just one bite, who cares?
Nothing will happen, right?
Who cares if we get into trouble? You want it too

ooh- uh-
don’t don’t don’t don’t don’t
don’t don’t don’t don’t
ooh- uh-
don’t don’t don’t don’t don’t
do do do do

Yeah, that’s right girl yeah, I want it too
Can’t deny it any longer
Even though it’s hard, I’ll keep pretending it’s not
But it’s nearly impossible
I also really want to, girl
but I’m really thinking that we shouldn’t girl
until it’s just two of us
there won’t be any reason to hide
Let’s go somewhere nice, if it’s just the two of us
That’s when I’ll transform
Lock the door and I’ll show you properly, girl
Like The Hulk, I’ll use my muscles, girl

When I talk, my bad lips,
tasty, bite me, yummy
Tell me how do I look right now?
want me, love me

ooh- uh-
don’t don’t don’t don’t don’t
don’t don’t don’t don’t
ooh- uh-
don’t don’t don’t don’t don’t
do do do do

Let’s hold hands and
step over the line we shouldn’t cross, boy
Dancing like this and that
You won’t be able to look at me like before
Now you can’t be apart from me

Following the temptation theme of “Apple”, “The First Temptation” is about the woman having the upper hand.  The song’s beat reminds me of Muse and Prince tracks with its electronic sound and synth bass running through the core of the song.  The sound seems to compliment her slinky voice that’s meant to draw men in like a siren.

Gain [Brown Eyed Girls] – The First Temptation

가인 [브라운아이드걸스] – The First Temptation

The First Temptation

널 시험에 들게 하리라
너를 뿌리 채 흔들리라
아주 천천히 허나 아주 깊이
위험하게 위험하게

결국엔 내 앞에 주저앉아
나를 애원하게 만들리라
아무도 몰래 허나 달콤하게
교활하게 교활하게

니가 처음인 여자처럼
I don’t wanna Jeesi but you
내게 처음인 사랑처럼
I can’t love a Jeesi but you
can I come in, let me be the one in
니가 지금 원하는걸 말해
그게 뭐야 뭐야
나야 나야

아직은 좀 suspicious한 suspicious한
너의 얼굴
이게 뭘까 두리번대는 두리번대는
순진한 그 모습 oh
나의 모든 것을 걸고
너의 처음 너의 끝 모든 게 되리라 oh
내게 들어오는 순간
너의 꿈 너의 삶 모든 게 나이리라

겁을 먹은 너의 귀에 대고
밤을 새워 노래 부르리라
너의 틈새로 내가 스며들게
위험하게 위험하게

너의 마음이 말하는 거
I don’t wanna Jeesi but you
우리 마음이 원하는 거
I can’t love a Jeesi but you
can you say it, now that you can hear me
니가 지금 중요한걸 말해
그게 뭐야 뭐야
나야 나야

아직은 좀 suspicious한 suspicious한
너의 얼굴
이게 뭘까 두리번대는 두리번대는
순진한 그 모습 oh
나의 모든 것을 걸고
너의 처음 너의 끝 모든 게 되리라 oh
내게 들어오는 순간
너의 꿈 너의 삶 모든 게 나이리라

oh 너의 모든 것을 걸고
나를 더 원하고 원하게 말이야 oh
눈을 감는 그 순간도
나를 꼭 부르다 잠들게 말이야

The First Temptation

I will test you
I will shake things up
Really slowly but really deeply
Dangerously, dangerously

In the end, you’ll kneel before me
I will make you beg
Without anyone knowing but sweetly
Cunningly, cunningly

Like it’s your first woman
I don’t wanna Jeesi but you
Like I’m your first love
I can’t love a Jeesi but you
can I come in, let me by the one in
Tell me what you want now
What, what is that?
It’s me, me

It’s still a little suspicious, suspicious
Your face
What is this looking around, looking around
Innocent, that look, oh
Putting everything I have on the line
Your first, your last, I’ll be everything, oh
The moment you come to me
Your dreams, your life, will all be me

Scared, leaning near your ears
I’ll sing to you all night long
So I can permeate through the gaps
Dangerously, dangerously

The thing your heart is saying
I don’t wanna Jeesi but you
What our hearts want is
I can’t love a Jeesi but you
can you say it, now that you can hear me
You’re saying something important now
What, what is that?
It’s me, me

It’s still a little suspicious, suspicious
Your face
What is this looking around, looking around
Innocent, that look, oh
Putting everything I have on the line
Your first, your last, I’ll be everything, oh
The moment you come to me
Your dreams, your life, will all be me

oh, putting all that you have on the line
You’ll want me and I’ll make you want me more oh
The moment you close your eyes
You’ll say my name as you fall asleep

Leave a Reply

