Just Bananas About: Week of 3/27/15

I’ve been eagerly looking forward to the series iZombie mainly because it was a Rob Thomas vehicle.  Fans of Veronica Mars might find a lot in common with this series but there were a number of factors that made this show iffy for me at first.

First of all, I get this fascination with zombies but ugh zombies.  Yes, this sounds totally superficial but vampires seem to hold a much higher sex appeal for me rather than zombies.  Secondly, I wasn’t totally swayed by the premiere episode last week.  Having said that, this week’s episode (AND the appearance of Blaine) renewed my interest in the show.

The show follows Liv Moore (Rose McIver), a medical resident, who becomes a zombie after being bitten at a boat party.  She then quits her job and becomes a coroner’s assistant so that she’s able to have access to brains.

Her ally comes in the form of her boss, Dr. Ravi Chakrabarti (Rahul Kohli), who is more fascinated with her condition rather than being scared by it.  He wants to study her to hopefully help her find a cure.

After eating brains, she often experiences flashes of memories from the deceased and adopts some of their skills and quirks.  Through this superpower, she’s able to help Detective Clive Babinaux (Malcolm Goodwin) solve cases by coming off as a psychic.

On the other hand, her family, her best-friend/ex-roommate and ex-fiancé don’t seem to understand what’s been going on with Liv.  In fact, they believe that she’s suffering from PTSD after the boat tragedy and going through a “goth” moment.

I feel generally positive about the show so far.  However, I have to admit that I’m not a fan of Liv’s family and friends.  I understand where the show is coming from.  After all, you have someone you love who has completely changed as a person because they just don’t realize that she’s a zombie.  Geez, I never thought I’d ever make a comment like that.  But since we’re rooting for Liv, it makes Liv’s mother (Molly Hagen), her roommate Peyton Charles (Aly Michalka) and her ex-fiancé Major Lilywhite (Robert Buckley) come off as irritating.

I get not wanting to come clean to the mother and ex-fiancé but I think Liv could have at least brought Peyton into the loop as I don’t think I’d be able to take much more of her eye rolling and judgey head tilt.

I’m so glad to see the bad boy Blaine DeBeers (David Anders).  He seems to have taken to a liking to Liv but he’s got a shady side business that’s gonna make the trust thing hard between the two.  However, he seems like a lot of fun.

Having said that, my favorite character so far, hands down, is Ravi.  He’s so gleeful about knowing that Liv is a zombie and it’s amusing to see him be eager about learning all that he can about the zombie lifestyle.

So for that reason, the witty repartee and the good writing, I’m looking forward to this series.

Leave a Reply

