Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/11/15

I received a request from my sister to feature San E’s title track from his latest album.  I’ve been listening to San E for a few years now but I really became a fan when he left JYP to join Brand New Music.

Verbal Jint seems to have a big hand in mentoring San E over the last few years.  At least in helping him refine his sound.  As for his image, I think I’ve always liked his happy-go-lucky style from his big grin to his smize.  Even when he’s singing a break up song, there always seem to be a smirk under that sadness.

Truthfully, “Me You” is the only song on the album that I really like.  The other rap tracks just seem to blend together when you listen to them one after the other.  “Me You” is the only song that really stands out for me in the album so I was initially hesitant about featuring San E but decided to anyways because the song and the music video is so cute.  I love how modern the music video feels with its Instagram vibe as it reflects our times.

5&’s Baek Ye Rin features on the track and she compliments the saccharine quality of the track well.  Hmm, now I’m going to be mewing like a cat all day long.

산이(San E) – Me You (feat. 백예린 Of 15&)

Me You (feat. 백예린 Of 15&)

Oh boy I’m kinda new to this
어떻게 말해야 되지
그냥 솔직히 말할게
baby I think I’m in love

자꾸 기분이 up 돼
생각만 해도 찡해
장난 아냐 No playing
확신이 들어

There is something
going between
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me and you

I sing this song like
I don’t need no girlfriend
왜냐면 드디어 만났거든 girlfriend
이 노랠 듣고 꺼져 ex-girlfriends
don’t call me

그녀가 불안해하잖아
what you want from me
이유는 간단해
cause she got something for me

너와는 달라 달라 달라
말 못했지만

넌 돈 쓰길 바라고 그녀는
마음 쓰기 바래
yeah, I said it, whoop

비교해서 미안 그녀 함께하다
너와 놀면 하품이 나, yawning

so what (so what)

날 위해 그녈 위해
너는 block block block

Oh boy I’m kinda new to this
어떻게 말해야 되지
그냥 솔직히 말할게
baby I think I’m in love

자꾸 기분이 up 돼
생각만 해도 찡해
장난 아냐 No playing
확신이 들어

There is something
going between
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me and you

I rap this song like
I don’t need no girlfriend
왜냐면 지금 옆에 있는
soul friend
친구도 돼 연인도 되니
oh well
그녀 남자로서 한 마디 해줄게
ex-boyfriends

Just don’t call her
이제 그녀는 내가 있으니
밤에 전화하지 마
뭐 하냐 묻지 마
괜히 걸어봐라 뿌르르르
어 어 엄한 소리 들을라

니 lip service 느끼해하지 mayo
그녀 내 말투엔 빨개져
you gotta ketchup
Mr. 껄떡, 전엔 신사답게 끝냈지만
딱 잘라 말할게 얄짤없어 I? you

Boy I’m kinda new to this
어떻게 말해야 될까
그냥 솔직히 말할게
baby I think I’m in love

자꾸 기분이 up 돼
생각만 해도 찡해
장난 아냐 No playing
확신이 들어

There is something
going between
me you me you
me you me you it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me and you

once again

me you me you
me you me you it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me and you

and me and you
and me and you
and me and you
and me and

Me You (feat. Baek Ye Rin Of 15&)

Oh boy I’m kinda new to this
How should I say it?
Should I speak honestly?
baby I think I’m in love

My mood keeps going up
Get choked up even if I think about it
It’s not a game, No playing
Feel it’s the real thing

There is something
going between
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me and you

I sing this song like
I don’t need no girlfriend
Because I just met her, girlfriend
Listen to this song and get lost, ex-girlfriends
don’t call me

She gets uneasy
what you want from me
The reason is simple
cause she got something for me

Different, different, different from you
Even though I couldn’t say it

You want to spend money, but she
Want to use my heart
yeah, I said it, whoop

Sorry for comparing, being with her
When I play with you I yawn, yawning

so what (so what)

For me, for you
You block, block, block

Oh boy I’m kinda new to this
How should I say it?
Should I speak honestly?
baby I think I’m in love

My mood keeps going up
Get choked up even if I think about it
It’s not a game, No playing
Feel it’s the real thing

There is something
going between
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me and you

I rap this song like
I don’t need no girlfriend
Because beside me, there’s
soul friend
A friend and also a lover
oh well
As her man, I’ll say one thing
ex-boyfriends

Just don’t call her
Now she has me
Don’t call at night
Don’t ask what she’s up to
Hopelessly call her, brrrrr
Uh uh, you might hear something intense

Your lip service is smooth like mayo
She gets red when I talk
you gotta ketchup
Mr. Leech, ended things like a gentleman before
Just tell you straight up, no mercy, I? you

Boy I’m kinda new to this
How should I say it?
Should I speak honestly?
baby I think I’m in love

My mood keeps going up
Get choked up even if I think about it
It’s not a game, No playing
Feel it’s the real thing

There is something
going between
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me and you

once again

me you me you
me you me you it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me you me you
me you me you, it’s you and
me and you

and me and you
and me and you
and me and you
and me and

While I can’t say that I really wanted to feature any of the other songs on the album, I thought I’d feature a song from his previous studio album.  Honestly, I didn’t have any intention of featuring this song as I’ve already featured “아는사람 얘기 (Story of Someone I Know)” previously but “이별 식탁 (Farewell Dinner Table)” kept coming up on my Google Play Instant Mix playlist.  I could see the similarities in the melody and style with the song above but the music video is pretty clever too.

I think we’re all pretty savvy to predict the twist in the story but I love how the song’s lyrics read like a conversation.  I’m a sucker for music videos that tell a story but this disjointed conversation enhanced the loneliness felt in the breakup song.  I think what makes it even more heartbreaking is how San E exudes this positive attitude until the end.

산이(San E) – 이별식탁 (Feat. 산체스 Of 팬텀)

이별 식탁 (feat. 산체스 Of 팬텀)

밥 한 끼 먹자 (안돼)
밥 한 끼 먹는 건데 왜 (우리 헤어졌잖아)
부탁이야 응? 한 번만 (하.. 그래 나갈게)

마지막으로 밥 한 끼 먹자 내가 사줄게
걱정하지 마 손도 잡지 않을게
그냥 전처럼 함께 식탁에 앉아
맛있게 먹는 네 모습 보고 싶은 게 다야

네 문자 “좀 늦겠다 차가 막히네”
내 답장 “천천히 와 오는 길 조심해”
네가 염려한 곤란한 자리
듣기 불편할 말 입과 접시에 안 담을 테니

baby I just wanna feed you
배부르게 해주고픈 게 이유
네가 저기 오며 “미안해 많이 기다렸지?”
난 평소와 같이 “아냐 배고프지?”

일단 앉아 나름 신경 쓴 식탁
맘에 들었으면 해
모자란 내 마지막 정성이야
웃자 자꾸 왜 울어 정말
음식 다 식겠어 그만 울고 한 입만 들어

내가 맘대로 주문했어 괜찮지?
너 연어 좋아하잖아 우리 꽤 됐지?
이런 데 온지 어때?
야경 참 좋지?
더 많이 좋은 곳 데려갔어야 했는데

여기요 물 좀 더 갖다줄 수 있어요?
(자꾸 목이 타네) 네, 불편한 건 없어요
울지 마 네가 자꾸 우니까
우릴 다 쳐다보잖아 그만 뚝 어서요

good girl 오늘 너 진심 예쁘다
네 새 남자친구 누군지 정말 행운아
그 사람 잘해줘? 착해? 술버릇은?
혹시 사진 갖고 있… oh sorry

hu~ 음식 진짜 맛있다
예약하느라 고생했어
어디 가?
화장 번져 화장실 다녀온다고?
아냐, 제발 지금 말고

일단 앉아 나름 신경 쓴 식탁
맘에 들었으면 해
모자란 내 마지막 정성이야
웃자 자꾸 왜 울어 정말
음식 다 식겠어 그만 울고 한 입만 들어
음식 다 식겠어

이별 식탁 맛있게 먹자
다 먹고 나면 네가 잊혀질까
그건 아니겠지 하지만 우리의
이별 식탁 이 밤이 가면
다신 네 모습 보지 못하니까
담아두고 싶어 그러니

일단 앉아 나름 신경 쓴 식탁
맘에 들었으면 해
모자란 내 마지막 정성이야
웃자 자꾸 왜 울어 정말
음식 다 식겠어 그만 울고 한 입만 들어
음식 다 식겠어

thank you I can let you go
out of my life now
good bye

Farewell Dinner Table (feat. Sanchez Of Phantom)

Let’s eat one meal together (No)
It’s just one meal, why? (We broke up)
Please? Just one (Ha.. Alright I’ll come out)

For the last time, let’s eat a meal together, I’ll buy
Don’t worry, I won’t hold your hand
Let’s just sit together at the table like before
Just want to see you eat deliciously, that’s all

Your text, “Will be late, there’s traffic”
My response, “Take your time, be careful”
Know you’re worried and uncomfortable
Won’t load your plate with uncomfortable words

baby I just wanna feed you
Just want to make you feel full
You come from over there, “Sorry, did you wait long?”
Just like always, “No, you’re hungry, right?”

Just sit down, put some effort into this table
Hope you like it
Lacking, this is my last act of sincerity
Smile, why do you keep crying, really
Food is getting cold, stop crying and take one bite

I ordered already, is that okay?
You like salmon; it’s been a while right?
Since we came to a place like this?
The night scene is nice, right?
Should have taken you to more nice places

Excuse me, could I please have some more water?
(Keep feeling thirsty) Yes, everything is fine
Don’t cry, because you’re crying
Everyone keeps looking, stop now

good girl, today you’re really pretty
Whoever your new boyfriend is, he’s really lucky
Is he good to you? Nice? And his drinking habits?
Do you happen to have a picture… oh sorry

hu~ the food is really delicious
Had a hard time making a reservation,
where you going?
Going to the bathroom cause your makeup is running?
No, please, not now

Sit for now, put a lot of effort into this table
Hope you liked it
Lacking, it’s my last act of sincerity
Smile, why do you keep crying, really
Food is getting cold, stop crying, take one bite
Food is getting cold

Let’s eat our farewell dinner well,
When we finish eating, will I forget you
Probably not, but our
farewell dinner table, when this night passes
Won’t be able to see you again
So I want to fill up on you

Sit for now, put a lot of effort into this table
Hope you liked it
Lacking, it’s my last act of sincerity
Smile, why do you keep crying, really
Food is getting cold, stop crying, take one bite
Food is getting cold

thank you I can let you go
out of my life now
good bye

Leave a Reply

