Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/18/15

It seems that it’s all about the ladies.  While last night’s Billboard Awards featured a powerhouse of female musicians, today’s playlist is about 3 Korean female artists that’s I’ve been into recently.  They range from veteran status to an up and coming solo artist but their commonality is that I’ve been loving their entire album.  For the sake of time though, I’ll feature one song from each of the artists.

BoA’s been around the block a few times.  Although I’ve liked a selection of her songs in the past, I can’t say that she’s an artist that I love.  I’ve never quite listened to her album all the way through.  That is until her latest album titled “”Kiss My Lips”.  She’s done a lot of her own writing for her album which isn’t surprising since she’s been in the business ever since she was a tween.  While I don’t think the music is groundbreaking, I do think that the tracks are poppy and have a good hook.

Which is probably why I love “Double Jack” and the fact that it features singer-songwriter Eddy Kim.  It’s a sweet song with a simple message.  It’s important to note that the “Double Jack” slang featured in this song is not something that used in the English language as far as I’m concerned.  As the English connotation is more of a sexual term, I’m not sure where this meaning comes from.  However, the term here means two people finding inspiration and harmony over a single sound and it causes them to share their feelings.  As you can tell from the lyrics below, it’s all pretty innocent.

BoA – Double Jack (feat. 에디킴) (Double Jack (feat. Eddy Kim))

보아(BoA) – Double Jack (feat. 에디킴)

Double Jack (feat. 에디킴)

처음엔 그저
조심스러운 DATE
설레는 TIME IS TICKING
다음엔 ONE STEP
좁혀진 DISTANCE
조금씩 알아가는
COMMON THINGS

어색함은 조금씩
MELTS AWAY
피어나는 웃음 이야기들
언젠가부터 너를 원했고
내 맘은 널 향해 움직인 거야

I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
하나뿐인
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
이어져 있는
HEART MAKING OUR OWN SOUND
눈빛은 마주하고서
마음은 서로를 향해
CALLING YOU AS MINE
CONNECTING YOU AND ME
I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
하나뿐인
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
이어져 있는
HEART SHARING
YOURS AND MINE
함께 있는 만큼
놓칠 수 없는 한가지
모든 걸 공유하고 싶은
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK

BABY YOU BABY YOU
BABY YOU’RE
MY LOVE SOUND

우리 같이 보낼 많은 시간들
쌓여가는 작은 추억들
나누고 싶은 나의 모든 것
BABY MY LIFE GOES ON WITH YOU

I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
하나뿐인
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
이어져 있는
HEART MAKING OUR OWN SOUND
눈빛은 마주하고서
마음은 서로를 향해
CALLING YOU AS MINE
CONNECTING YOU AND ME
I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
하나뿐인
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
이어져 있는
HEART SHARING
YOURS AND MINE
함께 있는 만큼
놓칠 수 없는 한가지
모든 걸 공유하고 싶은
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK

가끔은 너에게 TURNING BAD OR GOOD
다른 연인들처럼 다를 바 없겠지만
JUST LET ME HEAR
YOUR VOICE MY LOVE
나에게만 들려줘
BECAUSE YOU’RE MY LOVE SOUND

I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
하나뿐인
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
이어져 있는
HEART MAKING OUR OWN SOUND
눈빛은 마주하고서
마음은 서로를 향해
CALLING YOU AS MINE
CONNECTING YOU AND ME
I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
하나뿐인
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
이어져 있는
HEART SHARING
YOURS AND MINE
함께 있는 만큼
놓칠 수 없는 한가지
모든 걸 공유하고 싶은
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK

BABY YOU BABY YOU
BABY YOU’RE
MY LOVE SOUND

Double Jack (feat. Eddy Kim)

At first it was just
A careful DATE
Excitingly TIME IS TICKING
Next, ONE STEP
Narrowing DISTANCE
Slowly learning
COMMON THINGS

Awkwardness, little by little
MELTS AWAY
Stories bringing laughter
For some time I wanted you
My heart moves towards you

I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
Only one
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
Connected
HEART MAKING OUR OWN SOUND
After our eyes meet
Our hearts move towards each other
CALLING YOU AS MINE
CONNECTING YOU AND ME
I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
Only one
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
Connected
HEART SHARING
YOURS AND MINE
As much as we’re together
Can’t let one thing go
Want to share everything
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK

BABY YOU BABY YOU
BABY YOU’RE
MY LOVE SOUND

As much as we spent time together
Mounting our mini memories
Sharing everything about me
BABY MY LIFE GOES ON WITH YOU

I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
Only one
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
Connected
HEART MAKING OUR OWN SOUND
After our eyes meet
Our hearts move towards each other
CALLING YOU AS MINE
CONNECTING YOU AND ME
I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
Only one
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
Connected
HEART SHARING
YOURS AND MINE
As much as we’re together
Can’t let one thing go
Want to share everything
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK

Sometimes to you TURNING BAD OR GOOD
Like other lovers, might be no different
JUST LET ME HEAR
YOUR VOICE MY LOVE
Just let me hear it
BECAUSE YOU’RE MY LOVE SOUND

I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
Only one
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
Connected
HEART MAKING OUR OWN SOUND
After our eyes meet
Our hearts move towards each other
CALLING YOU AS MINE
CONNECTING YOU AND ME
I’M IN LOVE WITH YOU
Only one
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK
Connected
HEART SHARING
YOURS AND MINE
As much as we’re together
Can’t let one thing go
Want to share everything
YOU’RE MY DOUBLE JACK

BABY YOU BABY YOU
BABY YOU’RE
MY LOVE SOUND

_____________________________________________________

Despite my confusion over how Yoon Jong Shin is managing Kim Ye Rim (aka Lim Kim), I’ve liked her music for quite a while.  I feel like Kim Ye Rim is more of a solo artist rather than part of the Two Months duo.  I think she’s a great vocalist with a musically unique sound.  I like that her tracks hook the listener with different attributes whether it’s the genre of music or it’s the beat or the instruments backing up the track.

The interesting about this track is the addictive beat along with the repetitive lyrics. I don’t expect anything less as it was written and composed by Yoon Jong Shin and Veteran Composer Jung Suk Won.  I have to admit that I kept misreading the second word in the title as “닥쳐 (dak chyu)” meaning “shut up” as it is a word that’s used in the lyrics and it made more sense that the title would read as “If You Know, Shut Up” but it doesn’t.  Still, the English title that’s been given is “Love Game” and while it’s not a literal translation, it does show the games that are being played between the guy and the girl.  I think that’s why the beat and the repetitive lyrics reflect the rollercoaster ride of relationship hierarchy.

김예림 [투개월] – 알면 다쳐

알면 다쳐

날 갖고 노는 건지
널 갖고 노는 건지
누가 키 쥐고 있는지
어쨌든 궁금해
너 저쨌든 매력 있어
game 시작됐어

날 갖고 노는 건지
널 갖고 노는 건지
누가 키 쥐고 있는지
어쨌든 궁금해
너 저쨌든 매력 있어
game 시작됐어

급하게 빠지지 마 급하게 허락지 마
take it easy 하나하나씩
호기심 가득가득
조바심 그득그득 이때가 좋아

쉽고 빨랐던 나 그가 전부였던 나
cool & simple 했던 나
결국 상처 밖에 밖에

다 알면 다 다 다쳐 다 다 닥쳐
다 다 다쳐 닥쳐 답답 다 다
oh loves gonna getcha
oh loves gonna catcha
oh deep dee dee deep love
oh my love game

급하게 빠지지 마 급하게 허락지 마
take it easy 하나하나씩
호기심 가득가득
조바심 그득그득 이때가 좋아

쉽고 빨랐던 나 그가 전부였던 나
cool & simple 했던 나
결국 상처 밖에 밖에

다 알면 다 다 다쳐 다 다 닥쳐
다 다 다쳐 닥쳐 답답 다 다
oh loves gonna getcha
oh loves gonna catcha
oh deep dee dee deep love
oh my love game
oh my love game

oh my love game
oh I wanna long long game
oh love game, oh my love game
oh my love game

날 갖고 노는 건지
널 갖고 노는 건지
누가 키 쥐고 있는지
어쨌든 궁금해
너 저쨌든 매력 있어
game 시작됐어

다 알면 다 다 다쳐 다 다 닥쳐
다 다 다쳐 닥쳐 답답 다 다
oh loves gonna getcha
oh loves gonna catcha
oh deep dee dee deep love

널 보러 나가는 나 준비가 길어졌어
미소가 가득해졌어
점점 더 알고 싶어
점점 더 느슨해져 내 자물쇠는

If You Know, You’ll Get Hurt/Love Game

Are you playing with me?
Am I playing with you?
Who’s got the key?
Anyhow I wonder
You have a sharp charm
The game has started

Are you playing with me?
Am I playing with you?
Who’s got the key?
Anyhow I wonder
You have a sharp charm
The game has started

Don’t rush to fall, don’t hurry to accept
take it easy, one by one
Full, full of curiosity
Nod, nod worry, I like these times

Easy and quick, he was everything to me
I was cool & simple
At the end just just hurt

If you know, hu hu hurt, sh sh shut up
Hu hu hurt, shut up, annoying, all all
oh loves gonna getcha
oh loves gonna catcha
oh deep dee dee deep love
oh my love game

Don’t rush to fall, don’t hurry to accept
take it easy, one by one
Full, full of curiosity
Nod, nod worry, I like these times

Easy and quick, he was everything to me
I was cool & simple
At the end just just hurt

If you know, hu hu hurt, sh sh shut up
Hu hu hurt, shut up, annoying, all all
oh loves gonna getcha
oh loves gonna catcha
oh deep dee dee deep love
oh my love game
oh my love game

oh my love game
oh I wanna long long game
oh love game, oh my love game
oh my love game

Are you playing with me?
Am I playing with you?
Who’s got the key?
Anyhow I wonder
You have a sharp charm
The game has started

If you know, hu hu hurt, sh sh shut up
Hu hu hurt, shut up, annoying, all all
oh loves gonna getcha
oh loves gonna catcha
oh deep dee dee deep love

Going out to meet you, taking me longer to get ready
Full of smiles
Want to get to know you more and more
My lock is getting more and more loose

_____________________________________________________

Finally, Vanilla Acoustic is a group that I’ve followed for quite some time now.  While the main vocalist is Lee Sung Ah, it’s also nice to Tarin making waves as a solo artist herself.  Tarin, whose real name is Han Jae Won, joined the group in 2012 to replace Narae.  The charming thing about Vanilla Acoustic is their soft, tender sound similar to Humming Urban Stereo.  However, Tarin adds a layer of sweet innocence.

It’s the sound that also reflected in her own album titled “IN THE ROOM”.  The album itself is about being alone in a darkened room on a late night, looking out the window into the fog and all the thoughts that could run through one’s mind.  It looks like there are plenty of thoughts that could run through one’s mind. “날 사랑하기 (To Love Me)” is naïve but honest song about a girl wanting to be with someone who accepts her true self.  The song feels incredibly intimate and pure and although the tempo is slow, it’s not a sad song.  Rather, it’s quite a brave and hopeful song that looks pass the insecurities.

Tarin (Vanilla Acoustic) -날 사랑하기 (To Love Me)

https://chunkeemonkeeato.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/04-eb82a0-ec82aceb9e91ed9598eab8b0.mp3%20

타린(바닐라 어쿠스틱) – 날 사랑하기

날 사랑하기

이른 아침에 일어나
세수하며 눈뜰 때
부은 내 얼굴에 당황하지 않아
하루를 시작하죠

아무도 없어
웃어도 보고
찡그려도 보고
매일 같은 나
익숙하지만

우우 지겨워도 좋아
사랑할 수밖엔 없을 거야
우우 한번만 날 봐봐
생각보다 나쁘지 않은 걸

이른 새벽에 들어가
졸린 두 눈 비비며
오늘은 어땠니 하고 반겨주는
그게 너였으면

아무도 없어
웃어도 보고
상상도 해보고
미소 띈 얼굴
어색하지만

우우 잠깐여도 좋아
사랑 할 수밖에 없을 거야
우우 한번만 날 봐봐
생각보다 나쁘지 않을 걸

이제는 생각을 해요
그대와 걷는 날들을
혼자는 안녕 다가와줘요
어때요 내 모습이

우우 너와 있고 싶어
사랑 할 수밖에 없을 거야
우우 한번만 날 봐봐
생각보다 나쁘지 않을 걸

To Love Me

Wake up early in the morning
Open my eyes when washing my face
Don’t be alarmed at my puffy face
Start my day

There’s no one
Try smiling
Try frowning
Me everyday
Accustomed to it but

Woo woo, it’s okay to grow tired
Have no choice but to love
Woo woo, just look at me once
Might not be as bad as you think

Go in at dawn
Rub my tired eyes
Greet you with how was today?
If that was you

There’s no one
Try smiling
Try imagining
A smiling face
Seem awkward but

Woo woo, like it even though it’s brief
Have no choice but to love
Woo woo, just look at me once
Might not be as bad as you think

Now think about it
The days we walked together
Alone, hello come to me
How do I look?

Woo woo, I want to be with you
Have no choice but to love
Woo woo, just look at me once
Might not be as bad as you think

Leave a Reply

