Just Bananas About: Week of 7/17/15

The new TVN drama, Oh My Ghost (Oh My Ghostess?  The jury is still out on how I’m going to translate this title.), started about two weeks ago but already I’m finding it cute and endearing.  In many ways the drama reminds me of both Chilling Romance and Master’s Sun, due to the meek female character who shuns away from people due to her ability to see ghosts.  This drama certainly isn’t rewriting the book on horror/romcoms but, as with many TVN dramas, the characters are its biggest draw.

The story is about Na Bong Sun (Park Bo Young) who works as the chef’s assistant at Sun restaurant.  She hopes to hone her skills to someday become a great chef like Chef Kang Sun Woo (Jo Jung Seok).  While she does everything in her power to avoid seeing ghosts,  she comes across Shin Soon Ae (Kim Seul Gi), a virgin ghost.  Soon Ae uses her ability to jump into women in order to lose her virginity but it results in the men mysteriously dying.  She ends up inhabiting Bong Sun’s body and gets stuck in it.

Last week,  Soon Ae discovered her lost memory and found the restaurant she used to run with her dad.   It used to be a popular spot for taxi drivers with lines out the door at lunchtime but now they are barely making ends meet.  Soon Ae still isn’t sure how she died but she does everything she can to help her dad out, despite her brother’s suspicions about this mysterious girl’s motives.

I love that we get to see the kind of girl Soon Ae was when she was alive.  We learn that she had a crush on Police Officer Choi Sung Jae (Im Joo Hwan) but not sure how he ended up marrying Sun Woo’s sister or if Soon Ae and Sung Jae had more than a platonic relationship before she died.

I also loved that we got to see Kim Seul Gi sing.  I’ve heard her sing before but I wished I got to see her perform on King of Masked Singers.

I’m quite amazed at seeing Park Bo Young act like Kim Seul Gi’s Shin Soon Ae.  She really understands Kim Seul Gi’s tone and nuances.  I laughed during the scene in which Soon Ae (as Bong Sun) finds out that she didn’t kill Sun Woo by kissing him so she tries to convince him to have meaningless sex with her.  He declines pointing out that he may have kissed her when he was sick but he wasn’t aware what he was doing and he didn’t mean it.

However, the thing that made me worry was the fact that Soon Ae was stuck in Bong Sun’s body.  It should be Sun Woo falling in love with Bong Sun, not Soon Ae.  So I worried every time Soon Ae made food and every time they had some camaraderie.

I think the drama resolved it at the end of Episode 4 as I was so glad to see that because of the kiss, Bong Sun’s body became ill which resulted in Soon Ae being able to pop back out.  Judging by the preview, it looks like the relationship between Bong Sun and Soon Ae will be rocky at first but I’m hoping that eventually they’ll both help each other out.  I’m also hoping that Sun Woo will be able to show concern for the real Bong Sun.  When will he find out that she’s the food blogger that he’s been following and cheering on anonymously?  Eeeee…

Leave a Reply

