Monkey Poo: 2015 Emmy Nom, Nom, Noms

The 2015 Emmy nominees were announced yesterday. One of the biggest changes for this year are some of the categories.  Will that change things up for the winners?  So who are your favorite picks for this year?

There are two major things I’ve noticed for this year.  There a lot more nominees from Internet streaming platforms rather than channels, like Netflix and Amazon, which shows how the TV landscape is changing.  But overall, I don’t think there were any big surprises.  We knew that the Academy had new guidelines about what was considered a drama so that’s why Orange is the New Black is now competing in the drama category.  But all of the usual players seem to be here. There was also controversy last year because True Detective was considered in the drama category but since that series just started airing it’s 2nd season, we’re going to have to wait until next year to see how that pans out. (I’ve yet to catch up on the latest season but sources say that it’s underwhelming.  Womp womp.)

 

 

As for the acting categories, I’m so glad to finally see Tatiana Maslany nominated here.  I don’t even watch Orphan Black but her snubs the previous years just made me wonder what took the Academy so long?  I find that the Academy is so rooted in tradition that it belatedly takes them time to recognize talent.  It’s the same for the Oscars as well.  To be frank, I’m disappointed to see Jon Hamm here.  I don’t think the series nor the cast was all that impressive in the final season of Mad Men.  I would have also liked to have seen Matthew Rhys here from The Americans.  I am glad to see Viola Davis here as soapy dramas are often overlooked.  But she was so powerful as a character who night and day between her vulnerability and a tough, intelligent lawyer that she deserves a nod.

 

As for the nominations in the Comedy Series categories, it seems like it is Jeffrey Tambor and Amy Schumer’s award to lose.  The nominees seem to pale in comparison to these two and let’s hope the Academy is smart enough to recognize them.  The Limited Series and TV Movies categories are a little be more difficult for me as I haven’t seen much beyond American Crime and American Horror Story so I’ll just have to see how this one pans out.

 

 

Again, I feel like The Americans were shut out of the Supporting Characters category.  I really felt that the Holly Taylor was fabulous this year as the daughter, Paige Jennings.  Other than that, I didn’t find the series Better Call Saul too exciting.  I’m thinking again that the Academy is belatedly recognizing actors that they should have recognized years ago.  Modern Family is also another series that I’m fond of but I’m tired of seeing them nominated time and time again.  It’s time to make room for different shows and different actors and actresses.  For the Limited Series and TV Movies, is there no other cast to nominate besides American Horror Story?  Still, my favorites for the Supporting Actress is Regina King for American Crime because without having to play to stereotype, her character was so thought-provoking and poignant.

 

 

 

 

Variety Sketch category is also a new category for this year and this change makes the most sense for me. A show like The Daily Show or The Colbert Report is so different from a show like Saturday Night Live that it should be judged by different merits. Sidenote: while we’ll still get to Stephen Colbert in his new position at Late Night, this just reminded me how much I’ll miss Jon Stewart.  Hint, hint, Academy.

The 67th Primetime Emmy Awards air on Sunday, September 20, 2015 with host Andy Samberg.

Leave a Reply

