Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/27/15

Oh My Ghost continues to delight me.  This week, we finally get some forward movement with some of our main characters an equally enjoyable jazz soundtrack.

Last week, we left off with Shin Soon Ae (Kim Seul Gi) getting caught in Na Bong Sun’s body  by the fortuneteller.  As Na Bong Sun (Park Bo Young) wanders around, she meets up with Chef Kang Sun Woo (Jo Jung Seok) who is waiting for her.  Of course, she has no idea that Soon Ae made plans with him and the two have their “date”.  We find out that she’s had a crush on him for quite some time now.

Meanwhile, the fortuneteller tries to convince Soon Ae to cross over to the other side as it has been 3 years since she died.  If a ghost lingers too long, they will eventually become a demon.  However, the method is unpleasant and frightening and Soon Ae persuades the fortuneteller to let her figure out her own unresolved issue that’s keeping her here.

As Sun Woo’s friend and long-time crush, Lee So Hyung (Park Jung Ah), is finally garnering the courage to tell Sun Woo how she feels about him, Bong Sun realizes that she can’t just stand by and watch.  She  enlists Soon Ae’s help and they finally become friends.  It’s the cutest thing as they shout, ‘Fighting!’ and skip along together.

The members of the Sun restaurant decide to go on an MT together and Bong Sun lets Soon Ae take over her body in order to get closer to Sun Woo.  Unfortunately, Soon Ae’s plans to hit on Sun Woo goes awry when So Hyung shows up.  However, when the pension’s owners’ daughter goes missing, Soon Ae and Sun Woo try to help in the search.  The daughter is “special” in that she sees that Soon Ae and Bong Sun are both occupying the same body.  She lures Soon Ae into a freezer and traps them there.  Soon Ae is able to pop out of Bong Sun’s body and manages to get help.  Sun Woo shows up worried about Bong Sun but hides it by lashing out at her.  Then he carries her back to the house.  All while the other staff members are watching, including Seo Joon.

On the psycho front, the fortuneteller has finally met Sun Woo’s brother-in-law, Choi Sung Jae (Im Joo Hwan).  It seems that he’s not only involved in Soon Ae’s death but also in his wife’s accident.  He spent this week trying to cover up his tracks as his fellow cops around him continued to search for a way to find out who the perpetrator is.  For the last week or so, I couldn’t understand his motives as a supposed killer.  Then, it dawned on me.  My theory is that Sung Jae is possessed by a demon.  The same kind of demon that the fortuneteller is worried about Soon Ae becoming.

After the whole group returns home and Sun Woo barks that since they went on the trip, Bong Sun missed out on her cooking lessons.  He clearly has other things on his mind which includes So Hyung feelings for him and how his feelings may have turned to Bong Sun.  One thing leads to another and the two finally kiss.  Soon Ae steps out of Bong Sun’s body as Bong Sun comes to realize what is happening.

The thing that worries me at the moment is the fact that Soon Ae’s personality is so prevalent in Bong Sun’s body.  After all, this is romcom and because they are so different it makes me wonder just exactly who Sun Woo is falling for.  Obviously, we want Bong Sun to be the girl that he falls for as Soon Ae needs to move on but I hope the drama figures out a way to address that.  Either by Soon Ae allowing to influence Bong Sun from the sidelines or having Sun Woo figure out that there are two personalities in the body and allowing him to choose.  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see what happens next but I’m hooked.

As for the music on the OST, it’s got a classic, jazzy sound that’s typical of romcoms but I’m enjoying it a lot.  It’s perfectly suits the light atmosphere of the drama’s tone and the track “오 나의 귀신님 (Oh My Ghost)” is meant to reflect both Sun Woo and Bong Sun’s personalities in the song.  The track is sung by Han So Hyun from indie band, 3rd Coast, and Jaime Park, a jazz vocalist.

Han So Hyun, Jaime Park – 오 나의 귀신님 (Oh My Ghost)

한소현, 제이미 박 – 오 나의 귀신님

오 나의 귀신님

누가 나를 알 수 있을까?
내 속의 다른 모습
혹시라도 말해 버리면 이해할까요?

괜찮아 지금 다른 너의 그 모습 왠지 끌려
이상해 왜 이러는지 나도 몰라

이젠 익숙해져 가는 내 모습
하루 또 하루 그대만 바라봐요
꿈에서라도 만나고 싶었던
그대란 걸 아는데 그저 그리워해요

서로 모르게
이상해진 우리 사이
마치 바보들처럼 조금씩 무너져가
마음은 아닌데 화만 내게 돼
그거 알아 이미 내 속에 니가 있어

이젠 익숙해져 가는 내 모습
하루 또 하루 그대만 바라봐요
꿈에서라도 만나고 싶었던
그대란 걸 아는데 그저 그리워해요

서로 모르게
이상해진 우리 사이
마치 바보들처럼 조금씩 무너져가
마음은 아닌데 화만 내게 돼
그거 알아 이미 내 속에 니가 있어

서로 모르게
이상해진 우리 사이
마치 바보들처럼 조금씩 무너져가
마음은 아닌데 화만 내게 돼
그거 알아 이미 내 속에 니가 있어

Oh My Ghost

Who knows me?
In me, the different image
If I just say it, will they understand?

It’s alright, somehow drawn to your different image
It’s strange, don’t even know why I’m like this

Now getting used to, my image
A day again another day, just look at you
Even want to meet you in my dreams
Know it’s you, just long for you

Without each other knowing,
grown strange our relationship
Like idiots, breakdown a little bit
It’s not how I feel but I just keep getting mad
Know it, in me there’s you

Now getting used to, my image
A day again another day, just look at you
Even want to meet you in my dreams
Know it’s you, just long for you

Without each other knowing,
grown strange our relationship
Like idiots, breakdown a little bit
It’s not how I feel but I just keep getting mad
Know it, in me there’s you

Without each other knowing,
grown strange our relationship
Like idiots, breakdown a little bit
It’s not how I feel but I just keep getting mad
Know it, in me there’s you

One thought on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/27/15

Leave a Reply

