Jive Monkey Playlist: 8/10/15

Retro seems to be the name of the game these days. And everything old seems new again.

Wonder Girls recently made a comeback with “Reboot” and it’s the first album since 2011. Since then, there have been a number of member changes which includes Min Sun Ye and Ahn So Hee officially leaving and Lee Sun Mi rejoining the group. Also for this album, they’ve changed their concept as they are now a four person band rather than a pop dance group. They’ve taken on retro 80’s instruments such as the keytar and synth drums and they remind of groups, such as The Bangles, The Jets and Bananarama.

At first, I was a little taken aback because the music video for “I Feel You” is highly sexualized. However, I realize that a lot of female artists appeared this way in the 80’s and they just seemed to be replicating it. I suppose everyone can decide whether that was necessary or not but I think it was quite a bold move on their part. Personally, I’m really digging the music video for its classic MTV look and now I’m wishing they were in the Jem and the Holograms movie.

원더걸스(Wonder Girls) – I Feel You

I Feel You

내게 걸어놓은 마법이 뭔지
헤어 나오질 못하고 있어
한번도 이런 적이 없이
흔들린 적이 없었던 난데(No)(Woo)

하루 종일 이래
네 생각에 취해
(Woo) 기다리기만 해
널 만나러 가게
(Woo woo baby) 어쩌면 좋아
너 없인 못 살 것만 같아(Woo baby)

I Feel You
혼자 있어도 너의 손길이 느껴져
하루 종일 나를 만져

I Feel You
빠져있는데 헤어나올 수가 없어
너에게 달려갈 생각뿐이 없어

점점 더 빠져만 가
점점 더 미쳐만 가
점점 더 어떻게 나
Baby
네 손길이 아직도 나를
스치고 있는 것만 같아
네 목소리가 내 귓가에
계속 속삭이는 것만 같아 (No)

(Woo) 하루 종일 이래
네 생각에 취해
(Woo) 기다리기만 해
널 만나러 가게
(Woo woo baby)
어쩌면 좋아
너 없인 못 살 것만 같아 (Woo baby)

I Feel You
혼자 있어도 너의 손길이 느껴져
하루 종일 나를 만져

I Feel You
빠져있는데 헤어나올 수가 없어
너에게 달려갈 생각뿐이 없어

눈 감아도 들려
달콤한 숨결 느껴
그만 날 보고 불 꺼
니 시선이 더 날 붉혀

손발 끝 간질거려와
달아오르는 체온 숨 가빠와
더 이상은 참을 수가 없어 나
이제 please baby be mine

I Feel You
혼자 있어도 너의 손길이 느껴져
하루 종일 나를 만져

I Feel You
빠져있는데 헤어나올 수가 없어
너에게 달려갈 생각뿐이 없어

점점 더 빠져만 가
점점 더 미쳐만 가
점점 더 어떻게 나
Baby

I Feel You

What is this spell you cast on me?
I can’t get out of it
I’ve never once been like this before
I’ve never wavered before (No)

(Woo) All day, it’s like this
Drunk with thoughts of you
(Woo) You make me wait
In order to see you
(Woo woo baby) What am I to do?
Don’t think I can live without you (Woo baby)

I Feel You
Though I’m alone, I feel your touch
All day, you touch me

I Feel You
Though I’ve fallen, I can’t escape
Only have thoughts of running to you

Falling for you more and more
Going crazy more and more
More and more, what am I to do?
Baby
Still, I feel your touch
It’s like you’re brushing over me
Your voice in my ears
It’s like you are still whispering to me (No)

(Woo) All day, it’s like this
Drunk with thoughts of you
(Woo) You make me wait
In order to see you
(Woo woo baby)
What am I to do?
Don’t think I can live without you (Woo baby)

I Feel You
Though I’m alone, I feel your touch
All day, you touch me

I Feel You
Though I’ve fallen, I can’t escape
Only have thoughts of running to you

Though I close my eyes, I hear it
Feel your sweet breath
Stop looking at me and turn off the lights
Your stare is making me turn more red

Tips of my hands and feet feel ticklish
My rising temperature quickens my breath
Can’t hold it in anymore
Now, please baby be mine

I Feel You
Though I’m alone, I feel your touch
All day, you touch me

I Feel You
Though I’ve fallen, I can’t escape
Only have thoughts of running to you

Falling for you more and more
Going crazy more and more
More and more, what am I to do?
Baby

In addition to “I Feel You,” “Candle” is such a great track with it synth new wave sounds. The chorus and the verses have a sultry quality but I like that it’s broken up by the rap which keeps the flow from becoming conventional. Paloalto also lends his talents by featuring his rap in the track. His rap style seems more modern for the retro track but it all seems like it’s meant to keep us on our toes. You have to listen to the song more than once to kind of let all the elements sink in but it’s quite a catchy track.

Wonder Girls – Candle (feat. Paloalto)

원더걸스(Wonder Girls) – Candle (feat. Paloalto)

Candle (feat. Paloalto)

I’m your candle
아슬아슬하게 흔들려 난
니가 닿으면 녹아버릴 것만 같아
I’m your candle
깊이 숨겨놨던 향기가 나
너밖에 몰라 이런 모습 처음이야

여자들은 다 Poker face
아닌 척 하지
겉으론 다 Joker face
나는 Good girl
I mean a really good girl
낮엔 평범하게 튀지 않게
밤엔 변신 하는걸
알아보지 못할걸 뜨겁게 덥게
촛불은 켜놔
전화기는 넣어놔
to the next round
to the next base
Turn the bass up

오늘 왠지 둘만 있으면
큰일 날 것만 같아 (No)

난 이러지 않는데 이상해
뜨겁게 흔들려 널 위한 Candle
Say you love me 나를 더 안아줘
아무도 모르게 오늘 밤

Light up my candle
Light up my candle

I’m your candle
조심스레 너에게 다가가
너와 눈 맞춤 세상이 멈출 것 같아
I’m your candle
깜깜한 이 밤에 너와 둘이
있으면 내 맘까지 환하게 비춰

Oh no, 집중이 안돼
말이 안돼(No)
니가 뭔데(Why)
Want you, 오늘만은 너 하나만
원하는데 자꾸만 난 화가 나
어떻게 하면 니가 내게 반하나
이제 다른 남자들은 내게 지루해
너무해 넌 뭐해 난 널 원해
시간이 없어 You only have one chance

오늘 왠지 둘만 있으면
큰일 날 것만 같아 (No)

난 이러지 않는데 이상해
뜨겁게 흔들려 널 위한 Candle
Say you love me 나를 더 안아줘
아무도 모르게 오늘 밤

Light up my candle
Light up my candle

난 원해 단 둘이기를
즐기고파 야릇한 분위기를
알려줘 밤새 내가 너를 부를 이름
불을 끄는 지금 뜨겁게 무르익은
둘의 깊은 속을 보는 시간
내일 어찌 될 진 모르지만
난 마음 가는 대로 해
넣어놨어 전화 엉망이 될 거야
내일은 내일 너무 걱정 마
아무도 모르게 오로지 내 손 끝에
느낌만이 너를 기억하게
궁금해 넌 어때

난 이러지 않는데 이상해
뜨겁게 흔들려 널 위한 Candle
Say you love me 나를 더 안아줘
아무도 모르게 오늘 밤

Light up my candle
Light up my candle

Light up my candle
Light up my candle

Candle (feat. Paloalto)

I’m your candle
I’m dangerous shaking
If you touch me, it’s like I’ll melt
I’m your candle
Smell a deeply hidden scent
Only you know it, this is the first time I’m like this

Women are all Poker face
Pretending we’re not interested,
on the outside, all Joker face
I’m a Good girl
I mean a really good girl
During the day, I’m normal, don’t stand out
At night, I change
You won’t be able to tell, fiercely hot
Light up a candle
Put away your phone
to the next round
to the next base
Turn the bass up

Today, somehow, when it’s only the two of us
It’s like something will happen (No)

I’m not like this but I’m strange
Hotly trembling, for you, Candle
Say you love me, embrace me more
So no one knows, tonight

Light up my candle
Light up my candle

I’m your candle
Carefully, I approach you
It’s like the world stops when our eyes meet
I’m your candle
Together with you on this dark night
When you’re here, my heart brightly lights up

Oh no, can’t focus
Doesn’t make sense (No)
Who do you think you are (Why)
Want you, only you for today
Want you but I keep getting angry
How do I make you fall for me?
I’m now tired of all the other guys
It’s too much, what are you doing when I want you
There’s no time, You only have one chance

Today, somehow, when it’s only the two of us
It’s like something will happen (No)

I’m not like this but I’m strange
Hotly trembling, for you, Candle
Say you love me, embrace me more
So no one knows, tonight

Light up my candle
Light up my candle

I want it, just the two of us
Want to enjoy this sexy mood
Tell me what name I should call you all night long
Turning off the lights now, hotly ripening
The time we both look deeply at each other
Don’t know what tomorrow will be like
Going where my heart leads
Put away the phone, it’ll be messy
Tomorrow is tomorrow, don’t worry too much
Without anyone knowing, only my fingertips
Remember only that feeling
I’m wonder, how about you?

I’m not like this but I’m strange
Hotly trembling, for you, Candle
Say you love me, embrace me more
So no one knows, tonight

Light up my candle
Light up my candle

Light up my candle
Light up my candle

_____________________________________________________

Yes, SHINee’s back. Sort of. They are back with repackaged version of their 4th album “Odd,” with 4 additional tracks.

One of which is “Married to the Music” which has a very addictive beat and guitar riff. Retro style is not uncommon for this group but leave it to this group to always come up with quirky music videos. The music video for “Married to the Music” seems to be paying homage to The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

The dance is also so slick and energetic that it’s hard not to get on your feet and move to the music. Now, that’s a party I’d like to join.

 

샤이니(SHINee) – Married To The Music

Married to the Music

Yeah Oh Wait up girl Hold on

So listen baby 하얀 하이힐
살짝 가린 레이스 스커트
Beautiful lady 네 어깨 위
아슬아슬 시스루

네 심장 비트 소리에
걸음이 맞춰져 Oh baby
나도 모르게 이끌려가
느껴본 적 없는 L.O.V.E.
작은 손짓 하나에도
내 맘은 세상은 춤을 추고
넌 나를 지휘하잖아 Oh

너와 눈 맞추고
너와 발 맞추고
너와 입 맞추고
(Don’t stop)

I’m married to the music
놀라워라
너는 나의 Music
원하는 대로
매일 꿈꾸던 그 순간
Oh baby
둘만의 리듬 속에 점점 물들어

I’m married to the music
내 손을 잡아
Didida 꼭 잡아 Didida
너는 나의 Music
볼륨을 높여
Didida 터질 듯 Didida
너를 사랑해 이 순간
Oh baby
촉촉이 스며드는 너의 향기로

세상을 가득 채운 Spotlight
공기를 감싸는 멜로디 Yeah
(흔들리는 눈동자 속
그 안에 날 숨 쉬게 해줘)
아쉬워할 순간 따위
저 높은 하늘로 다 날려버려 Yeah
(내게 널 모두 맡겨 이 뜨거운 그루브
널 싣고서 Come on)

네 심장 비트 소리에
세상이 들썩여 Oh baby
나도 모르게 휩쓸려가
구경한 적 없는 M.O.V.E.
작은 손짓 하나에도
내 맘은 세상은 색을 입고
넌 나를 지휘하잖아 Oh

Are you married to the music?
(We’re married to the music)
Are you married to the music?
(We’re married to the music)
Oh 기억해줘 잊지 못할 뜨거운 하이라이트
Yeah-yeah

나의 모든 건 너라고 터질 듯 Turn it up

Married to the Music

Yeah Oh Wait up girl Hold on

So listen baby, white high heels
Slightly hidden, lace skirt
Beautiful lady, on your shoulders
Dangerously see-through

At the sound of your heartbeat
I match my steps, Oh baby
With knowing it, I get pulled in
Haven’t felt before L.O.V.E.
Even with the smallest hand movement
My heart, my world begins to dance
I am under your command, Oh

Meet my eyes with yours
Meet my steps with yours
Meet my lips with yours
(Don’t stop)

I’m married to the music
It’s shocking
You are my Music
As you wish
Dreaming daily, that moment
Oh baby
Within our rhythms, infected by you more and more

I’m married to the music
Hold my hand,
Didida, hold tight, Didida
You are my Music
Pump up the volume,
Didida about to explode, Didida
I love you, in this moment
Oh baby
Moistly enveloping me, your scent

Filled the world, Spotlight
The air encompassing the melody, Yeah
(In your wavering eyes,
in the, you help me breathe)
Regretful moments and such
Toss them all high into the sky, Yeah
(Leave it all to me, this hot groove
will carry you, Come on)

At the sound of your heartbeat
The world shakes, Oh baby
With knowing it, I get carried away by it
Haven’t seen before M.O.V.E.
Even with the smallest hand movement
My heart, my world is colored
I am under your command, Oh

Are you married to the music?
(We’re married to the music)
Are you married to the music?
(We’re married to the music)
Oh remember this unforgettable, hot highlight
Yeah-yeah

You are all of me, like it’ll explode, Turn it up

Leave a Reply

