Just Bananas About: Week of 8/21/15

There are times when I feel like I tend to focus a lot on the male actors in K-Dramas.  Today, it’s all about the ladies and I’ll talk about a few of the actresses in the dramas I’ve been watching lately.

I’ve been gushing about Park Bo Young and her acting in Oh My Ghost.  She’s been fabulous and there are clear contrasts between when she’s playing Na Bong Sun and when she’s playing Na Bong Sun being inhabited by Shin Soon Ae (Kim Seul Gi).  I love that there are clear characteristics of Kim Seul Gi that you can see in the Park Bo Young plays her.

I also have to give props to Lee Jung Eun and Ryu Hyun Kyung, who play the fortuneteller and Female Police Officer Kang, respectively.  They both were able to play that Kim Seul Gi charm convincingly but in a slightly different way from how Park Bo Young portrays her.

This week is the drama’s final episodes and I can’t wait to find out what happens.  Dun dun dun…

On the flip side, I’ve been quite critical of Kim Tae Hee on Yong Pal.  Well, actually I’ve been quite critical of Yong Pal as a whole because I was having a bit of a hard time being sucked in by the drama at first.  Perhaps it’s because I’m watching too many dramas right now (ha, what’s else is new) but I was hoping that I’d be able to quit the drama after the 2nd week due to disinterest.

Damn, the 4th episode for making the drama exciting.  I suppose it sounds about right as its hard to be fully invested in the drama when one of the main characters is sleeping for most of it.  That’s the problem I’ve been having with Kim Tae Hee’s Han Yeo Jin.  However, I never really thought she was a bad actress.  I think she’s quite decent and convincing as a woman who has woken up from a persistent vegetative state only to deal with muscular atrophy.

The  problem is that I find that Kim Tae Hee never takes any kind of risks with the roles she takes on.  You have someone like her with the beautifully coifed hair and then have someone like the psycho nurse playing opposite her.  Who is going to stand out more?

As one of the most beautiful actresses of Korea, it’s hard to take her seriously as an actress when she takes on Sleeping Beauty type of role.  For now, I’m just glad that she’s awake and that we get to see her interacting with Kim Tae Hyun (Joo Won).  I’ll worry about the depth of her character later.

Unlike Han Yeo Jin, two other characters who are already showing the dichotomy in their characters are Lee Chae Young (Chae Jung Ahn) and Cynthia (Stephanie Lee).

I love the Lee Chae Young is playing her husband (Jo Hyun Jae) and it makes me wonder exactly what he knows.  Plus, Chae Jung Ahn seems like she’s having so much fun in playing the role.

As for Stephanie Lee, I’ve seen her in Sunam Girls High School Detectives and I love that she’s gone in such a different direction with this role as Cynthia.  She’s an opportunist and she knows how to manipulate the situation to her advantage.  Somehow I think she would make a great addition as a gladiator for Pope and Associates, don’t you think?

Moving on to Scholar Who Walks the Night, I’m far more intrigued by the male actors because Lee Jun Ki and Lee Soo Hyuk are so good at what they do.  However, I don’t quite feel the same way about the female characters.  I was taken aback by Kim So Eun’s acting at first and then realized that it’s probably the way her character was written.  This includes the fact that she’s playing dual roles.  The writing is sorely lacking in this drama overall but the sad thing is when I see Jo Yang Sun (Lee Yoo Bi), Choi Hye Ryung (Kim So Eun) and even Soo Hyang (Jang Hee Jin), I find their characters to be very one-note so much so that the actresses don’t really have room to develop their characters.  They have their role and their purpose in the story and their so predictable that I’m hoping that Writer Ryu Yong Jae will allow them to color outside the lines a bit.

Similar to Kim Tae Hee, I find Lee Yeon Hee to be an uninspiring actress as well.  Other than a few eyebrow movements here and there, I was never really drawn to her as an actress.  Having said that, she’s doing a decent job in Hwajung.  Because it’s a sageuk, I’m very well aware of what her boundaries are in playing Princess Jungmyeong.  The way the princess is portrayed in the drama is fictional in and of itself that I feel like Lee Yeon Hee has to be conservative with her acting.

Finally, there’s Sistar’s Kim Da Som in The Eccentric Daughter-in-Law.  I knew I wanted to watch because of Go Doo Shim and Ryu Soo Young but I wasn’t really sure what to expect of Da Som’s acting ability nor the banal plotline.  It was pleasant to discover that Da Som is a decent actress but really the only saving grace is that we know that it’s silly and mindless entertainment thats only 12 episodes long.

However, I was surprised to discover that the drama feels more like a daytime family drama.  There are sitcom like elements to it and annoying camera zooms that make my eyes roll.  It had me scratching my head as to why KBS decided to put this drama up against Mrs. Cop on SBS and Hwajung on MBC as it will tank miserably in the ratings.

It’s most likely a space filler until Song Joong Ki and Song Hye Gyo finishes shooting Descended from the Sun which should start airing this Fall.  I’ll enjoy it enough for what it is as it’s an entertaining thing to watch while I color in my adult coloring book.

Leave a Reply

