Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/7/15

It’s a long weekend… Woooo… I should be sleeping in but I’ve procrastinated with this morning’s post. But that’s okay because today’s band is worth getting out of bed for. I was first introduced to the band Every Single Day through the many, many OST’s they’ve contributed to.

The first drama where I’ve heard their music is Pasta, naturally.  The band is made up of 3 members: Moon Sung Nam (main vocals and bass), Jung Jae Woo (guitar) and Kim Hyo Young (drums).  Moon Sung Nam is also a drama soundtrack producer which explains the connection.

They recently remade the song from this drama, “Lucky Day,” with another indie band, Ska Wakers. Ska Wakers are a small-time band in Busan featuring in ska and reggae music. The song itself is not all that from the original version except with the sounds of the trumpets which gives the track a fresh and bright new update.

Every Single Day – Lucky Day (With Ska Wakers)

에브리 싱글 데이(Every Single Day) – Lucky Day (With. Ska Wakers)

Lucky Day (With Ska Wakers)

Oh Alright! 1, 2, 1234!!

나의 잠을 깨우는
매일 반복되는 TV소리
오늘도 여전히
가슴 떨려오는 나의 질주

It’s lucky lucky lucky day
I want you every single day

오늘도 달릴거야 하이웨이
오랜 기다림은 안녕
어 어우워 어 어우 워어

언제라도 좋아
시원한 5월의 노랫소리
상쾌한 바람과
귓가를 간지럽힌 휘파람

It’s lucky lucky lucky day
I want you every single day

오늘도 달릴거야 하이웨이
오랜 기다림은 안녕
어 어우워 어 어우 워어

It’s lucky lucky lucky day
I want you every single day
오늘도 달릴거야 하이웨이
오랜 기다림은 안녕

It’s lucky lucky lucky day
I want you every single day
오늘도 달릴거야 하이웨이
오랜 기다림은 안녕

It’s lucky lucky lucky day
I want you every single day

오늘도 달릴거야 하이웨이
오랜 기다림은 안녕

Lucky Day (With Ska Wakers)

Oh Alright! 1, 2, 1234!!

Waking me up from my dreams
The repetitive TV sounds everyday
And still, today again
My speeding trembling my heart

It’s lucky lucky lucky day
I want you every single day

Today again I’ll drive the highway
Say goodbye to waiting a long time
Uh uh woo woah uh uh woo woah uh

Whenever is good for me
Cool May sounds
Refreshing breeze and
A whistle tickling my ear

It’s lucky lucky lucky day
I want you every single day

Today again I’ll drive the highway
Say goodbye to waiting a long time
Uh uh woo woah uh uh woo woah uh

It’s lucky lucky lucky day
I want you every single day
Today again I’ll drive the highway
Say goodbye to waiting a long time

It’s lucky lucky lucky day
I want you every single day
Today again I’ll drive the highway
Say goodbye to waiting a long time

It’s lucky lucky lucky day
I want you every single day

Today again I’ll drive the highway
Say goodbye to waiting a long time

Unlike the vivaciousness of “Lucky Day,” “It Could Be Love” is a medium tempo love song. The song is fairly new and while it was meant to be the title track of Every Single Day’s latest album, the song was recently used in the Ha Ji Won and Lee Jin Wook drama, The Time I Loved You. I love how the song starts with a few simple strumming and then picks up with the drums and the bass. It’s a quiet number, certainly if you compare to Lucky Day, but romantic nonetheless.

 

에브리 싱글 데이(Every Single Day) – It Could Be Love

It Could Be Love

It could be love It could be love
It could be love It could be love

가끔은 그대가 떠오르네요
조용한 그 어느 날 그대 내게
예전엔 내가 알지 못하는
화두 같은 눈빛으로 날 바라보던

때로는 알 수도 없는 그 표정
나만의 착각이라고 해두죠

내 젊은 날의 사랑은
이렇게 고이 접어 품에
먼 훗날 다시 메마른 가슴에
펼쳐 볼 수 있게

It could be love It could be love
It could be love It could be love

이제는 꿈에서 깨어야 해요
너무 많은 일들이 떠밀려오네

때로는 알 수가 없는 그 표정
나만의 착각이라고 해두죠

내 젊은 날의 사랑은
이렇게 고이 접어 품에
먼 훗날 다시 메마른 가슴에
펼쳐 볼 수 있게

It could be love It could be love
It could be love It could be love

It Could Be Love

It could be love It could be love
It could be love It could be love

Sometimes you come up in my mind
That one quiet day, you come to me
Before, there were things I didn’t realize
When mad, you gave me the same look

Sometimes I just couldn’t read your expression
It might just be my mistake

Love in my younger days
In the midst of folding it delicately like this
With my withered heart again in the distant future
So that I can revisit

It could be love It could be love
It could be love It could be love

Now I need to wake up from dreaming
There’s too much I’ve procrastinated on

Sometimes I just couldn’t read your expression
It might just be my mistake

Love in my younger days
In the midst of folding it delicately like this
With my withered heart again in the distant future
So that I can revisit it

It could be love It could be love
It could be love It could be love

Leave a Reply

