Jive Monkey Playlist: 9/14/15

It’s never easy to say goodbye to a loved one.  Today’s post is about finding some healing, happiness and the courage to live on.

I can’t believe it’s been a year since the passing of Ladies’ Code’s EunB and Rise.  In some ways, it felt like the time flew by.  In other ways, it felt like time was crawling. I can’t help but still get choked up as I think about how we lost talented stars far too early.  As for the surviving three members, many fans hope that they would have the courage to carry on.  I’m pretty sure EunB and Rise would have wanted them to.

The group has recently made a comeback worth the single, “아파도 웃을래 (Smile, Even When It Hurts)” on the anniversary of Rise’s death.  The song itself was written by Lee So Jung who was severely hurt in the accident herself and is clearly about the loss of their fellow members.  They recently showcased the song in Japan followed by a rendition of “I’m Fine Thank You” in which they were joined by their fellow Polaris artists.  The cover was released on the anniversary of the accident and EunB’s death.  It was clear that the girls couldn’t hold back their tears as they thought of their members. It was hard to watch but I hope that with the support of friends and family that they’d be able to make a comeback when they are ready to.

레이디스 코드(LADIES’ CODE) – 아파도 웃을래

아파도 웃을래

아직도 난 믿을 수 없는데
널 볼 수 있을 것만 같은데
거짓말 일거라고
니가 내 곁을 떠났다는 게

사진 속에 웃고 있는 얼굴
영원할 것 같던 지난 날들
어느 날 갑자기도 너는
내 곁을 떠났지만

울지 않을래 미안하지 않게
이젠 너 없는 하룰 살아볼게
아무리 아파도
자꾸만 눈물이 나도
웃을래 너를 떠올리며 웃을래

잊었다고 이젠 괜찮다고
아무렇지 않은 척 해봐도
자꾸 니 모습이 떠올라
눈물이 흐르지만

울지 않을래 미안하지 않게
이젠 너 없는 하룰 살아볼게
아무리 아파도
자꾸만 눈물이 나도
웃을래 너를 떠올리며 웃을래

내 맘이 아파 힘들 때면 말야
좋은 사람들 날
달래며 많이 위로해줘
너 있는 곳도 그러길
바라고 바랄게 행복해줘

울지 않을래 미안하지 않게
이젠 너 없는 하룰 살아볼게
아무리 아파도
자꾸만 눈물이 나도
웃을래 너를 떠올리며 웃을래
아파도 웃을래

Smile, Even When It Hurts

I still can’t believe it
Believe I’d still be able to see you
That it’s all a lie
That you left my side

The smiling face in pictures
The past that was supposed to be like forever
Suddenly one day, you
Left my side

Don’t want to cry, so that I won’t feel sorry
Now I’m gonna live one without you
No matter how much it hurts,
though I keep crying
Want to smile, as I think of you I want to smile

That we forgot, now it’s okay
Though I pretend nothing happened
Keep thinking of your image
Though the tears keep falling

Don’t want to cry, so that I won’t feel sorry
Now I’m gonna live one without you
No matter how much it hurts,
though I keep crying
Want to smile, as I think of you I want to smile

My heart hurts when things are hard
Good-hearted people
Soothe and console me a lot
Hope you have that where you are
Wish and wish that you’re happy

Don’t want to cry, so that I won’t feel sorry
Now I’m gonna live one without you
No matter how much it hurts,
though I keep crying
Want to smile, as I think of you I want to smile
Smile, even when it hurts

_____________________________________________________

Coffee Boy (No Ah Ram) is an indie acoustic artist I’ve been following for awhile.  His latest single is a song called, “충분해 (It’s Sufficient),” and it’s about a breakup.  While that in and of itself does make the song sad and wistful, it’s also hopeful.  The lyrics reflect a couple who had a beautiful relationship.  Though the relationship did not last, they are satisfied by it and wish each other well even if that mean it is with other people.  I don’t know why but the song is quite fitting for the first signs of Fall.

Coffee Boy – 충분해 (It’s Sufficient)

커피소년 – 충분해

충분해

힘든 헤어짐 뒤에
찾아온 공허함
니가 내 세상이었구나
니가 전부였구나

숨어버리려 했지
지워버리려 했어
하지만 분명히 살아있는 너
우리 사랑했구나

불안한 우리 사랑에 아파할 때
내일은 완전해질 수 있을까
사랑에 정답이 있다면
사랑에 공식이 있다면

그렇게 이별을 맞이할 때
그래 우리 참 애썼구나
충분히 아름다웠구나
우리 여기까지구나

숨어버리려 했지
지워버리려 했어
하지만 분명히 살아있는 너
우리 사랑했구나

불안한 우리 사랑에 아파할 때
내일은 완전해질 수 있을까
사랑에 정답이 있다면
사랑에 공식이 있다면

그렇게 이별을 맞이할 때
그래 우리 참 애썼구나
충분히 아름다웠구나
우리 여기까지구나

모든 걸 던졌기에
후회 없이 사랑했기에

그렇게 서로 부둥켜안고 울 때
이게 마지막이란 걸 알았을까
한순간도 놓치지 않으려
쓰다듬고 또 쓰다듬으며

그렇게 이별을 맞이할 때
그래 우리 사랑했구나
그래 우리 사랑했구나
우리 여기까지구나

그걸로도 충분해

It’s Sufficient

After a hard split
The emptiness that finds me
You were my world
You were my everything

Wanted to hide
Wanted to erase you
But it’s clear you are living on
We were in love

Anxious, when our love was in pain
Tomorrow, will it be perfect?
If there is an answer in love
If there is a formula with love

When I face a breakup like that
Yeah, we tried our best
It was sufficiently beautiful
This is where we end

Wanted to hide
Wanted to erase you
But it’s clear you are living on
We were in love

Anxious, when our love was in pain
Tomorrow, will it be perfect?
If there is an answer in love
If there is a formula with love

When I face a breakup like that
Yeah, we tried our best
It was sufficiently beautiful
This is where we end

Threw everything at it
Because I loved you without regrets

Like that when we hug each other and cry
Did we know this was the last time?
Don’t want to waste one moment
Caress and caress again

When I face a breakup like that
Yeah, we were in love
Yeah, we were in love
This is where we end

And with that, it’s sufficient

Leave a Reply

