Just Bananas About: Week of 10/2/15

I realize that I wrote about She Was Pretty last week. However, I’m having major issues with the drama. Mainly that, I love it so much and don’t have the patience to wait another week before my next fix. I literally kept hitting refresh on my computer until Episode 6 was uploaded yesterday. Siiigh, why does next Wednesday seem so far away?

This week, I quite enjoyed watching Ji Sung Joon (Park Seo Joon) take notice of the similarities between Kim Hye Jin (Hwang Jung Eum) and the Hye Jin he knew as a child.

Hye Jin keeps finding herself in situations where she gets on Sung Joon’s nerves whether she’s in his apartment or in his office. Of course, his initial reaction is to get mad but I love it that it triggers a memory in Sung Joon of the Hye Jin that he’s in love with.

Harry Connick, Jr. – (They Long To Be) Close To You

Harry Connick, Jr. – (They Long To Be) Close To You

However, the positive thing about Hye Jin’s unintentional meddlesome nature is that she happened to be in the right place at the right time when Sung Joon had his breakdown in the middle of the road. I don’t think I could forget that look of gratefulness, familiarity and confusion that Sung Joon had when Hye Jin shielded Sung Joon from the rain. That act of kindness leads him to be adorably cute in Episode 6.

I loved watching Sung Joon try to care for Hye Jin without her knowledge. He reprimanded her as he helped her put on a bandage for the cut she got when she knocked over his framed puzzle.

He tried to secretly get her cold medicine and meandering around the office trying not to get caught. Too bad Kim Shin Hyuk (Choi Si Won) beat him to the punch.

Or leaving an onion on her desk as a homeopathic antibacterial cure.

Or catching her head as it’s about to hit the desk because the cold medicine made her drowsy. My favorite is when he gets on Hye Jin’s bus, covering his face with a magazine, so that she could pass out on his shoulder. It didn’t matter that his car got towed in the process. That’s the adorable side of Sung Joon that I can’t help but swoon over.

For double dose of cuteness and much-loved bromance, is there anything better than the one between Sung Joon and Shin Hyuk? Sure, Sung Joon is crotchety about it now but look at the happy puppy face on Shin Hyuk. Who could hate a face like that?

As for Min Ha Ri (Go Joon Hee), she keeps digging deeper and deeper into her grave of lies. She’s even keeping the fact that she’s still seeing Sung Joon from her best friend, Hye Jin.

However, Sung Joon is beginning to notice the differences in her causing him to feel even more conflicted.  As a viewer, I like having that comparison.  While in the beginning Sung Joon only had to go by assuming what Hye Jin looked like, here we see that his love is beyond superficial beauty.  It’s in the mannerism, quirks and character that sets Hye Jin apart.

Despite that I ‘ship this couple less than Sung Joon and the real Hye Jin, that scene with the two of them in which Sung Joon sings “Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You” was priceless.

Heath Ledger – Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You

Heath Ledger – Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You

I have to admit that I was quite disappointed with Ha Ri when she decided to take the puzzle piece of the Peeping Noona from Hye Jin’s room to give to Sung Joon. In Ha Ri’s defense, it’s Hye Jin’s initial deception that lead both girls to deceive Sung Joon but we all know that when the truth is revealed, it won’t be pleasant. However, if there is a line that shouldn’t be crossed and it makes me wonder if taking the puzzle wasn’t that line.

I do realize that it’s Hye Jin that needs to have the confidence to stand up herself.  I’m hoping that as she becomes more aware of her feelings that she’ll step up to the plate.  But I also know that doesn’t happen in many K-Dramas.  I expect that she’ll try but Sung Joon will end up finding out first.  Eeeh, that’s just things are thwarted in K-Dramas, isn’t it?

Finally, there’s Kim Shin Hyuk who constantly makes me laugh. Even when he’s not relishing in all things bromance with Sung Joon. If only I knew how to make gifs (I’m sure I can look up how online), I could totally see myself making tons of gifs of him because he’s hilarious.

Right now, he’s the token supporting character who seems to have a crush on Hye Jin and knows her secret and yet is willing to help her out. Not only Hye Jin, but he also makes friends with Ha Ri and agrees to help her out as well, not knowing the connection between all of the characters.

He’s the nice sap but because Choi Si Won is so amusing to watch, I don’t seem to mind it at all.


Bonus!

Leave a Reply

