Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/5/15

It finally feels like Fall. Pumpkin Spice Lattes, Apple Cider and Oktoberfest Beer. These two songs remind me of all that’s romantic about the season even though the songs are entirely different genres.

The thing I really like about Lim Kim is that she is really a great vocalist. On the one hand, I think her voice is airy, which I don’t typically like. But on the other hand, her airy voice has a soft, beguiling quality to it. It also helps that her song have a good hook to it that manages to reel me in. One of the tracks off her latest single, “Think About ‘Chu” is just that, and even Songwriter Yoo Hee Yeol has designated this song as the most romantic song in the world.


The song is a slow jazz ballad and it’s the perfect Fall song for me. Although the lyrics are sweet, it’s simple and not very descriptive. And yet, a whole bunch of images come to mind as I’m hearing the song. I imagine a long romantic drive with the New England Fall foliage as the scenery. As the leaves fall on an endless tree-lined drive, the crisp autumn air makes you seek warmth by holding hands with your significant other. Is it just me that comes with this or any kind of imagery? Describe your thoughts below as your listening to Lim Kim’s live rendition of this romantic track.

김예림 [투개월] – Think About ‘Chu

Think About ‘Chu

언제 부턴가 많은 말이 왜
우리에게 필요 없어진
수많은 밤을 함께
보낸 우리들에게
다가오는 아름다운 날들
우린 서로 마냥 끌렸지
우린 마치 자석 같았어
아름다운 네 손을
처음 잡았을 때의 나
느껴지는 너와 나
둘만의 사랑
oh baby ye
oh ye
ho baby baby baby baby baby
I love you baby baby baby baby
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu baby
My baby is you
My baby is you tonight
ooh ye
그 많은 날을 혼자 있었지
마치 얼음처럼 차가웠던 날들
나를 향한 너의 미소를 느꼈을 때
내 마음은 이미 타오르는 한 여름
서로 미워한 적도 있었지 baby
싸우는지 연애인지 모를 만큼
그 때마다 우린
이 노래를 들으면서
서로의 얼굴을 빤히 보며 웃었던
그 기억 여기서 또 한번
너와 나 둘만의 사랑을
느껴지네 느껴지네
오늘 밤 baby
너와나 baby
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu baby
all light baby
all light baby
all light baby
all light baby
My baby is you
My baby is you tonight
ooh ye
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu baby

Think About ‘Chu

For some time, why are there a lot of words to say
For us, we didn’t need it
Together for countless nights
To us who we’ve sent away
The beautiful days approaching
It always drew each of us
And like we had the same seats
Beautiful your hands
The first time I held it, I
Felt you and I
The love between the two of us
oh baby ye
oh ye
ho baby baby baby baby baby
I love you baby baby baby baby
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu baby
My baby is you
My baby is you tonight
ooh ye
Those many days I was alone
Like ice, the days were cold
When I felt your smile towards me
My heart already like a burning summer
There were times when we hated each other baby
To the point where we don’t know if we’re fighting or dating
Whenever that happened we
When we listened to this song
When we laughed as we stared at each other’s faces
That memory comes alive again here
You and I, the love between the two of us
I feel it, I feel it
Tonight, baby
You and I, baby
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu baby
all light baby
all light baby
all light baby
all light baby
My baby is you
My baby is you tonight
ooh ye
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu
Think about’ chu baby

_____________________________________________________

For a different change of pace, “보통연애 (A Normal Relationship),” is a typical idol love song. As much as we’d all like to start a relationship with the upper hand, it doesn’t always end up like that. You like to imagine that your emotions are unruffled by the rollercoaster ride that’s love but emotion isn’t something that can be easily controlled.

To be honest, a normal relationship doesn’t ever sound like an exciting thing anyways. Who doesn’t love the flutter of the heart when there’s a new relationship on the horizon?

The song is a collaboration from Park Kyung of Block B and solo artist Park Bo Ram. The music video feels young and vibrant with color. It’s also clever in how it expresses the everyday drollness with a dose of cuteness.

박경 [블락비] – 보통연애 (feat. 박보람)

보통연애

새로운 사람, 흥미가 생기고
뻔하디 뻔한 말들을 주고받다
서로 눈치채고 있는 타이밍에
용기 내 하는 취중고백

끼워 맞추듯 취미를 공유하고
‘야!’라 부르던 네가 자기가 되도
너무나 익숙한 장면 같아
반복되는 Dejavu

너도 느끼잖아 이거 좀 웃기잖아
소설 속의 발단, 전개, 위기,
절정, 결말처럼 언제나
같은 Process 딱 그 정도
뜨거웠다 식는 연애의 온도
항상 그래 왔기에
함부로 치치도 못하는 설레발

근데 이상해 좀 잘못된 듯 해
더 설레고 조급해

평소처럼 또 머물다 가는
순간의 감정일까
아님 혹시 이번엔 다를까

Baby I gotta go
나 반복의 반복이더라도
다시 제자리로 온대도
I don’t give a (aye!)
날 들었다 놨다 하는 너
보통이 아닌걸

Oh boy
너의 행동 말투나 표정
이상형과는 달라도
자꾸 끌리는데
어쩌겠어 (baam!)
날 들었다 놨다
하는 너 보통이 아닌걸
I can feel it

새로운 사랑 초반의 설렘
뻔하디 뻔한 애칭도 붙여주고
온종일 붙잡고 있는 핸드폰 속엔
끊기지 않는 문자들

끼워 맞췄던 것이 좋아지고
무의식 중 자연스레
널 자기라 부르는 모습들이
어딘가 익숙해 반복되는 Dejavu

저 맞은편에서 보인
너의 모습 so beautiful
나는 분명 네가 좋은데
이상하게 걱정이 돼

내가 걱정이 돼?
그러다 사랑이 정이 돼
어떻게 사람 마음이
하루아침에 정의돼 but

이번엔 달라 좀 잘못된듯해
더 커지고 조급해

평소처럼 또 머물다 가는
순간의 감정일까
아님 혹시 (different)

Baby I gotta go
나 반복의 반복이더라도
다시 제자리로 온대도
I don’t give a (aye!)
날 들었다 놨다 하는 너
보통이 아닌걸

Oh boy
너의 행동 말투나 표정
이상형관 달라도
자꾸 끌리는데
어쩌겠어 (baam!)
날 들었다 놨다
하는 너 보통이 아닌걸
I can feel it

Yo, I’m confused girl
Hey, I’m confused boy

이런 걱정 바보 같은 거 알아
근데 사실은 말이야
이건 너 변할까 봐
혼자 먼저 하는 자기방어
같은 거야 그러니
나와 같을 거라고 말해줘
어린애같이 유치한 날 달래줘

Baby I gotta go
나 반복의 반복이더라도
다시 제자리로 온대도
I don’t give a (aye!)
날 들었다 놨다 하는 너
보통이 아닌걸

Oh boy
너의 행동 말투나 표정
이상형관 달라도
자꾸 끌리는데
어쩌겠어 (baam!)
날 들었다 놨다
하는 너 보통이 아닌걸
I can feel it

A Normal Relationship

A new person, gaining interest
Obviously, we trade the obvious words
At the moment we become aware of each other
Gain courage for a drunken confession

Like we’re trying to make a match, admit our hobbies
Calling me ‘Hey!’, you become my sweetie
It’s like a really familiar scene
Repeating Dejavu

You feel it, this is funny
A novel’s intro, development, crisis,
climax, conclusion always
the same Process, exactly that way
A relationship mode that gets hot, then cools
Because that’s always how it was
Unable to make a stand or a fuss

But it’s weird, like something a bit off
Get more nervous and impatient

Like always, again languishing and going
Is it this moment’s sentiment
If not, will it be different this time?

Baby I gotta go
Even if I repeat my repetition
Even if it means going back to the same place
I don’t give a (aye!)
Making me feel up and down, you
It’s probably not normal

Oh boy
Your motions, the way you talk and express yourself
Even if you’re different from my type
You keep attracting me
What can I do (baam!)
Making me feel up and down
You must not be normal
I can feel it

New love, the early stage nervousness
Obviously, assign the obvious nicknames
With the phone I’m holding onto all day
The text message that have no end

Like we’re making a match, enjoying it
Unconsciously, it’s natural
The image of you calling me sweetie
It somehow familiar, repeating Dejavu

Seeing across from me
Your image, so beautiful
I absolutely like you
Strangely, I get worried

You get worried about me?
Like that, you get attached to love
How does a person’s heart
become attached in one morning, but

This time, it’s different, like something’s a bit off
It get bigger and impatient

Like always, again languishing and going
Is it this moment’s sentiment
If not, will it (different)

Baby I gotta go
Even if I repeat my repetition
Even if it means going back to the same place
I don’t give a (aye!)
Making me feel up and down, you
It’s probably not normal

Oh boy
Your motions, the way you talk and express yourself
Even if you’re different from my type
You keep attracting me
What can I do (baam!)
Making me feel up and down
You must not be normal
I can feel it

Yo, I’m confused girl
Hey, I’m confused boy

I know these worries are stupid
But to tell you the truth
That you might change
A wall that I set up first
It’s like that so
Tell me that you’re the same way
Like an immature kid, appease me

Baby I gotta go
Even if I repeat my repetition
Even if it means going back to the same place
I don’t give a (aye!)
Making me feel up and down, you
It’s probably not normal

Oh boy
Your motions, the way you talk and express yourself
Even if you’re different from my type
You keep attracting me
What can I do (baam!)
Making me feel up and down
You must not be normal
I can feel it

Leave a Reply

