Jive Monkey Playlist: 10/12/15

Today’s artist is considered a legend in the K-Pop world but many new fans may not know much about this week’s singer.  Perhaps, if you watched MBC Star Audition: Birth of a Great Star, you would have gotten to know this mentor.  Or perhaps you’ve heard Ock Joo Hyun rendition of his most popular song, “A Thousand Days”, on I am a Singer. Or maybe, you’ve heard one of his songs on an OST, most recently Discovery of Love.

Lee Seung Hwan is an important figure in K-Pop history and his talent attests to him lasting this long.  I, first, got into his music in the mid-90’s during his 4th album with the popularity of his most well-known song, “A Thousand Days”, naturally.  That album, “Human”, was one I listened to on repeat but can’t say that I was quite as infatuated with his next album, “Cycle”.

And that’s the affinity I’ve had for Lee Seung Hwan for the last 20 years, sometimes it was great, sometimes it was meh but I don’t doubt he quite an admirable musician.  He spends a lot of time touring and holding concerts and just recently he set the record for one of the longest concerts by a single artist, 6 hours 21 minutes and 21 seconds long.  He also rents out a stage at Hongdae clubs so that up and coming bands have the opportunity to perform there for free.

Obviously being on the other side of globe, it’s not easy for me to see him live but I’ve always appreciated his lyric writing as it’s a combination of interesting metaphor and use of good alliteration.  Although, I’m not sure the latter would come across when I translate the lyrics into English.  The title song off his most recent album is “다 이뻐 (All Pretty)” and the light tone of the song seems fitting for him to feature GFriend in the music video.

이승환 – 다 이뻐

*콩깍지가 벗겨지고 = It literally means when the bean pod shells are opened but often a metaphor for when you’re no longer blinded by love.  In fact, the opposite, “눈에 콩깍지가 씌었다,” means your eyes are covered by the bean pod shells or blinded by love.

다 이뻐

한참이나 놀았는지
발그레한 볼을 하고
콧물범벅이던 그녀
어릴 적 사진을 보며
아 이 못난이가 커서
오 나의 여신이 되네

콩깍지가 벗겨지고*
화학작용이 멈춘대도
난 뼛속부터 너란 원소들로
이루어진 생명체
아 널 벗어날 수 없어
오 널 비껴갈 수 없어

너의 과거와 너의 지금이
전혀 딴판이라 해도
나는 그저 황송할 따름
너의 눈매와 너의 콧등이
달라졌다고 한들
난 결코 달라지지 않아

my lady sweetie pie
너는 내게 뭐든 다 이뻐
젤로 이뻐

네가 하품하며
손등으로 눈 비비며
이불에서 꼬물대는
아침마다 기적 같아
아 이 강 같은 평화로움
오 거룩하고 거룩하다

너의 과거와 너의 지금이
전혀 딴판이라 해도
나는 그저 황송할 따름
너의 눈매와 너의 콧등이
달라졌다고 한들
난 결코 달라지지 않아

my lady sweetie pie
너는 내게 뭐든 다 이뻐
my lady sweetie pie
너는 내게 뭐든 다 이뻐
my lady sweetie pie
너는 내게 뭐든 다 이뻐
my lady sweetie pie
너는 내게 뭐든 다 이뻐
my lady sweetie pie
너는 내게 뭐든 다 이뻐

All Pretty

We’ve played for a long time
With cheeks that are rosy
Her with the runny nose
When I see pictures of when she was young
Ah, this rascal grew up to be
Oh my goddess

When I’m not blinded by love*
Even if chemical reaction ceases
In my bones, I’m an element with you
Becoming a living organism
Ah, I can’t escape you
Oh, I can’t avoid you

Your past and your present is
Even if they say is different entirely
I’m just so grateful
Your eyes and the bridge of your nose
For those that say that it has changed
I will never change

my lady sweetie pie
You are all pretty to me
The most prettiest

If you yawn
Rub your eyes with the back of your hand
Wriggle in the blankets
It’s like a miracle every morning
Ah, this peace like a river
Oh, sacred and sacred

Your past and your present is
Even if they say is different entirely
I’m just so grateful
Your eyes and the bridge of your nose
For those that say that it has changed
I will never change

my lady sweetie pie
You are all pretty to me
my lady sweetie pie
You are all pretty to me
my lady sweetie pie
You are all pretty to me
my lady sweetie pie
You are all pretty to me
my lady sweetie pie
You are all pretty to me

This next song is technically an oldie but I was reminded of it recently when Lee Seung Hwan showed up as the guest on last week’s Healing Camp.  He said that most people only remember him for hit, “A Thousand Days,” and assume that he’s a ballad artist.  I confess that I’m guilty of that myself but he is technically an rock/pop artist and he’s been trying to break that ballad image for years.  Having said that, my second favorite song of his “이별에 대처하는 우리의 자세 (Our Attitude of Coping with a Breakup)”.

I know it’s unusual to hear an upbeat breakup song but I love the message of giving your all in a relationship so that if you do breakup, you have no regrets.  He sang the song for an audience member who relayed a story about breaking up with her boyfriend.  He was attentive up until the day before he cut off all communication.  To this day, she still doesn’t understand what went wrong.  At least give her the courtesy to know that she been broken up with, amiright?

이승환 – 이별에 대처하는 우리의 자세

이별에 대처하는 우리의 자세

자 이제부터 우리들의
이별에도 준비가 필요하지
그럴리 없어 내 사랑만큼은
특별하다 생각하면 오산

어찌보면 요즘 그녀
평소와 다르진 않았는지
무심한 표정 싸늘한 말투
모든 것엔 그럴 듯한 이유

있을 때 잘해주기
떠난 뒤에 미련이 남지 않게
그녀에게 감사하기
어쨌거나 사랑했던 기억으로

담담따라리라라 따라리라라
오오오 오오오오
담담따라리라라 따라리라라
오오오 오오오오

문득 생각해 보면
사랑한단 말 들은지 오래
내 농담에는 웃지도 않고
전화도 없으면 일단 의심

짜증은 왜 그리 자주
소문은 왜 그리 들려오고
그녀 수첩 속 우리들 사진
없어지면 확실한 변심

있을 때 잘해주기
떠난 뒤에 미련이 남지 않게
구차하게 굴지 말기
어쨌거나 사랑했던 기억으로

담담따라리라라 따라리라라
오오오 오오오오
담담따라리라라 따라리라라
오오오 오오오오

담담따라리라라 따라리라라
오오오 오오오오
담담따라리라라 따라리라라
오오오 오오오오

담담따라리라라 따라리라라
오오오 오오오오
담담따라리라라 따라리라라
오오오 오오오오

Our Attitude of Coping with a Breakup

Yeah, from now, our
Breakup needs some preparation
There’s no need for that, as much as my love
Is special, if you think that you’ve miscalculated

In some ways, these days, she
Don’t know if she’s changed from her usual ways
Heartless expressions and chilly words
There must be reason for all of that

Be good when you’re together
So that there are no feelings after you leave
Be thankful to her
Whatever happens, with loving memories

Damdamddararirara Ddararirara
Ohohoh ohohohoh
Damdamddararirara Ddararirara
Ohohoh ohohohoh

If you suddenly think about it
If it’s been a long time since you heard, ‘I love you’
Doesn’t even laugh at my jokes
If there’s not even a phone call, start to suspect

Why are you often irritated like that?
Why do I hear rumors like that?
In her notebook, our picture
If it’s gone, it’s certainly means they’ve changed

Be good when you’re together
So that there are no feelings after you leave
Don’t be pathetic
Whatever happens, with loving memories

Damdamddararirara Ddararirara
Ohohoh ohohohoh
Damdamddararirara Ddararirara
Ohohoh ohohohoh

Damdamddararirara Ddararirara
Ohohoh ohohohoh
Damdamddararirara Ddararirara
Ohohoh ohohohoh

Damdamddararirara Ddararirara
Ohohoh ohohohoh
Damdamddararirara Ddararirara
Ohohoh ohohohoh

Leave a Reply

