Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/16/15

As I try to listen to a variety of different songs to find something to feature in my weekly music playlist, it’s easy to overlook the tranquil ballads as it may take some time to catch my ear right away. However, it’s been a hectic work week for me and I found that listening to the tranquil tracks helped me to filter out the outside noise and focus on my task. Both songs are by indie female artists who are singer/songwriters but the songs are very reflective in that they both look back at their lives and have themes of regret and wanting to move forward.

Shim Kyu Sun, also known as Lucia, is a singer/songwriter from Busan. Although I heard some of music about 4 years ago through the drama Lie to Me, I haven’t really heard anything of hers since so she’s a fairly new artist for me. However, I like the tone of her voice as there are a range of emotions that can be felt from it. She sounds warm and yet there’s a level of mysteriousness and transcendence.

The title song on her latest album, “Light & Shade Chapter.2,” is “너의 존재 위에 (Upon Your Presence)”. On one level, the song is obviously about a broken relationship and finding a way through that pain. However, it’s also a metaphor for life as it changes and how one experiences ups and downs.

Life is a long journey and more than money or fame, the thing we truly need to chase after is our true self. It may sound a bit esoteric and clichéd but we often chase after what we want, only to see it slip from our fingers, and miss things that we need.

Lucia(심규선) – 너의 존재 위에

너의 존재 위에

어떤 슬픈 밤 숨을 곳 없는 나
어긋나는 일을 저질렀지만
이상하게도
부끄럽거나 두렵지도 않아
맹세컨대 난 그게
뭔지조차도 몰랐으니까

잠들기 전 늘 소용없는 기도
신조차도 나를 사랑하지 않으실까 봐
두려웠어 늘 원하시는 대로
맹세컨대 난 그게
옳은 일이라고 믿었으니까

너의 존재 위에 무언가를
너의 존재 위에 무언가를 두지마
어떤 내일도 오늘을 대신할 순 없어
그보다 더 소중한 너의 존재 위에

난 참 바보처럼 쫓았지
보이지 않는 허상을
잡히지 않는 안개를
두 손에 쥐려고 애를 썼네
불행함의 이유를 이 괴로움의 시간을
다 견뎌내려 하지마
바로 지금 이 순간부터

너의 존재 위에 무언가를
너의 존재 위에 무언가를 두지마
꿈도 명예도
어제와 불확실한 내일
그보다 더 소중한

닥친 내일이 어깨를 짓눌러
멍든 어제가 발목을 잡아도
모든 이유를 이해할 때까지
너의 존재 위에

너의 현재 위에 무언가 무언가를
너의 존재 위에 무언가를 두지마
어떤 약속도 아무도 대신할 수 없는
무엇보다 더 소중한
너의 존재 위 너의 존재 위해
너의 존재 위에

Upon Your Presence

On a sad night, me without a place to hide
I did something wrong
But strangely
I wasn’t ashamed or scared
I swear, I didn’t
even know what that was

A useless prayer always said before bed
Even god might not even love me
Was always scared, as you wanted
I swear, I
believed that was the right thing to do

Upon your presence, something
Upon your presence, don’t put anything
Can’t replace today with any kind of tomorrows
More precious than anything, upon your presence

Like an idiot, I chased you
An illusion I’m not able to see
A fog that you can’t trap
Tried to grab with two hands
For unhappy reasons, this time of suffering
Tried to withstand it all
Right now from this moment

Upon your presence, something
Upon your presence, don’t put anything
Even a dream and reverence,
yesterday and an uncertain tomorrow
More precious than that

A looming tomorrow places weight on my shoulders
A bruised yesterday grabs your ankles
Until you understand everything
Upon your presence

Upon this moment, something, something
Upon your presence, don’t put anything
No matter what the promise is, no one can replace
More precious than anything
Upon your presence, upon your presence
Upon your presence

_____________________________________________________

The other track for this week’s playlist is a track by the singer/songwriter Younha. I’ve been following her for several years now and I love her sweet, elegant voice. Her latest single is called “널 생각해 (I Think of You)” and while I’m used to seeing Younha writing her own music, this song was actually written, composed, produced and features Lee Chan Hyuk of Akdong Musician.

Even though he’s quite young, I’m quite amazed at his amazing talent that he’s shown so far. I hope that he still continues to promote along with his sister as part of the Akdong Musician duo but he certain has a back-up role as a singer/songwriter and producer. I can tell from the track though his voice has change and he sounds more manly now. Not sure how much dating he’s experience, especially being in the fame spotlight, but at least when I hear his voice I can somewhat believe it to a certain extend. Hehe.

I love the imagery of Autumn in the song. As they walk the streets, they are reminded of each other and so it’s hard to move on. And I think what’s quite unique about the song is that they are both missing each other from afar but don’t have the courage to try again. So she looks down in order to focus on her footsteps, she’s taking instead of looking at their surroundings that may remind her of him.

It’s quite unique how Lee Chan Hyuk uses adjectives such as damp and humid to describe the atmosphere such as the wind. It’s not an adjective that’s typically used to describe the wind or Fall but it does describe how heavy a somber heart can feel. Also, the last line of Lee Chan Hyuk’s rap* isn’t intended to sound as something that’s creepy or arrogant but rather it’s supposed to sound hopeful. I hope you’d be watching me from somewhere so that we’d be able to work things out through a chance encounter. On the other hand, it’s because he doesn’t have the courage to seek her out and step up to the plate. So there’s that.

윤하(Younha/ユンナ) – 널 생각해 (Prod. by 이찬혁 of 악동뮤지션)

널 생각해 (Prod. by 이찬혁 of 악동뮤지션)
It falls the leaves
널 생각해
바람 젖은 거리
눅눅할 땐
OK It’s not bad
(yeah terribly bad)
이 길 위에 서면
아직도 네가 보여

다른 계절이 몇 번 지나고
서로 다른 상황 속에 지내오며
잊었다고 생각 했던게
이 거리 위에 모두 떨어져 밟힌
흔적들을 지나올 때마다
내 눈은 여전히 고갤 숙여
내 발걸음만 세고 있어
여전히 이렇게 노력해야 해

It falls the leaves
널 생각해
바람 젖은 거리
눅눅할 땐
OK It’s not bad
(yeah terribly bad)
이 길 위에 서면
아직도 네가 보여

다른 만남으로 날 채워보고
억지로 인연을 만들어 보며
아무렇지 않은 척했던 게
이 길 위에 서면 무너져 내린
흔적들에 등 돌릴 때마다
미숙했던 우리 둘의 모습이
떠나가질 못하고 있어
여전히 내 맘은 여기 있는 걸

It falls the leaves
널 생각해
바람 젖은 거리
눅눅할 땐
OK It’s not bad
(yeah terribly bad)
이 길 위에 서면
아직도 네가 숨셔

숨셔 아직도 이 길가엔
맴돌아 지금도 이 귓가엔
눈 질끔 감고 살아보려 해도
이 빈 공간을 채우는 건
네 생각인걸
Yeah I think about
you everyday
이 거리가 허문다면
덜 허무할 텐데
시간에 아문다면
덜 암울할 텐데 ay
어떻게 너는 내 생각도 안 해
어떻게 너는 내색 한번 안 해
난 하루가 다르게 더 깊어져만 가는데
오래됐잖아 지난 일이 된지
난 안타까워 이 빈 길가엔
아무렇지 않은 척 혼자 서있는
내 모습을 네가 어디서
지켜봐 주지 않을까 해*

이젠 각자인 모습이
더 자연스러워 보여
그래 안녕히
잎이 떨어지는 이 거리에서
마지막으로 널 생각해

I Think of You (Prod. By Lee Chan Hyuk of Akdong Musician)

It falls the leaves
I think of you
A street dampened with the wind
When it’s humid
OK It’s not bad
(yeah terribly bad)
When I stand on this street
I still see you

When the different seasons pass a few times
When we each experience different things
Thought that we forgot
On this street, everything has fallen and been stepped on
When I pass these traces
As usual my eyes cast down
I only count my steps
Still I have to make an effort like this

It falls the leaves
I think of you
A street dampened with the wind
When it’s humid
OK It’s not bad
(yeah terribly bad)
When I stand on this street
I still see you

Fill my time with other encounters
Force myself to make other connections
Pretend that nothing’s wrong
But when I stand on this street, fallen
Turn my back on those traces
Immature, the image of the two of us
I’m not able to leave it behind
My heart is always here

It falls the leaves
I think of you
A street dampened with the wind
When it’s humid
OK It’s not bad
(yeah terribly bad)
When I stand on this street
I still see you

Still breathing, on this street
Even now circling, in this ear
Though I squint my eyes and try to live
Filling this empty space
Are thoughts of you
Yeah I think about
you everyday
If this street knocks me down
It won’t be as futile
If time heals
It’ll be less bleak ay
How can you not think of me
How can you not show your emotions once
My day, unusually, passes by
Been a long time since that incident
It’s sad this empty street
Standing along pretending nothing’s wrong
From somewhere are you
watching me, by any chance?*

Now our individual image
Seems more natural
Yeah, goodbye
On this street with falling leaves
Think of you for the last time

Leave a Reply

