Just Bananas About: Week of 11/27/15

Happy Day after Thanksgiving! Happy Black Friday!  Last week was the premiere of Oh My Venus.  While I like Shin Min Ah and So Ji Sub, I honestly didn’t quite get the plot of the drama.  Shin Min Ah plays Kang Joo Eun, a lawyer, who used to be the prettiest girl in town.  Years later, she’s broken up with her boyfriend and a bit overweight.  So Ji Sub plays Kim Young Ho, the outcast son of a wealthy family.  He hides the fact that he’s celebrity trainer, John Kim, because of his family’s status.

Kim Tae Woo, Ben – Darling U

김태우 , 벤 – Darling U

As much as I get that the plot of the drama is for Joo Eun to lose weight because of Young Ho’s help and they will fall for each other, I still there are plenty of holes in the plot at the moment.  However, the drama still has time to work that out so here’s hoping that this drama will satisfy by the time we reach the end.

There’s so much to like about the drama.  I love Shin Min Ah’s vivacious personality and while her character is described as being not so attractive, she’s quite adorable even with the fat suit on.  I do hope that the drama treats the issue of body image well.  I know that Korean dramas don’t have the best track record when dealing with this subject matter but so far, I’m liking what I’m seeing from Episodes 3 & 4.  Joo Eun is a very relatable character.

There was no doubt that So Ji Sub wouldn’t be great at playing the cold, city guy but I think more than that, I look forward to seeing his reaction when Young Ho’s around Joo Eun.  He’s finally caught on that Joo Eun is hypothyroidism and I’m interested in how he’ll be helping Joo Eun out besides having her workout.

And then there’s Henry.  He plays Kim Ji Woong who is a training assistant.  What Henry lacks with his sometimes awkward acting, he makes up for in basically being himself.  Lol.  From the first time I heard, ‘Ma’am,’ to him being silly and cute with Joo Eun, it’s hard not to smile when Henry’s on the screen.  Seriously, Shin Min Ah can have chemistry with anyone and I’m glad these two do as well.

So Joo Eun learns who the real John Kim is and now she’s on her way to make her ex-boyfriend, Im Woo Shik (Jung Kyeo Woon), and her ex-friend/co-worker, Oh Soo Jin (Yoo In Young), jealous.  She’s already starting to infect their relationship.  However, Woo Shik happens to know Young Ho’s true identity and he’s jealous about the fact that this guy is around Joo Eun.  Where this plotline will lead, we’ll just have to see.

As for Joo Eun and Young Ho, he seems to notice a stalker and I’m curious to see how saving the damsel in distress will advance their relationship.  This is the first time we got wind of this plotline and while it may just be a passing storyline, I’m hoping that the themes will have a bigger implication in revealing their characters.

Leave a Reply

