Jive Monkey Playlist: 11/30/15

I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about Answer Me 1988. Trilogies tend to lose steam at the third installation and the first two episodes didn’t instill me with all that much confidence. However, I’m finding that there’s a whole new depth of nostalgia felt in this drama that wasn’t there with the first two installations.

I have to say that if 1997 was my generation in that Sung Shi Won represented the fan culture youth of my time. As for 1994, the theme of adjusting to the unfamiliar and figuring out who we are as adults was something that I could find relatable. While I was alive in 1988, I can’t say that I have a lot of pop culture memories from that year other than movies from that year and the Olympics.

The 1988 Olympics in Seoul was a big event for Koreans. I spent a summer in Korea with my parents 4 years prior, and while I don’t have many memories of it, I distinctly do remember feeling the difference between my life in States compared to the ones my cousins had in Korea. It certainly isn’t the modern Seoul that you see today.

However, the thing that does strike me as feeling familiar is how small the world felt back then and how close people were. There’s a line in the early episodes of the drama that seems to sum it up, ‘We didn’t have much but it was the era when you gave everything you had.’ That feeling of closeness is something that you just don’t want to give up and that’s the nostalgia that Answer Me 1988 seems reinforce again and again. It’s that heartwarming feeling felt in every single episode that it makes my eyes well up with tears each week.

One of the unassuming hot artists of today, ever since his appearance on Infinity Challenge, is Oh Hyuk. Under his new label HighGrnd, he released a cover of an old Lee Moon Sae song called “소녀 (Girl)”. Oh Hyuk’s version is very modernized and somewhat more somber than the original due to piano accompaniment that’s been replaced with a keyboard accompaniment.

If Lee Moon Sae’s version feels dated because it reflects innocence and naiveté, Oh Hyuk’s version is like sepia-toned photograph that’s looking back at a simpler time with experienced filled eyes.

While the song is about the memory of a love that you never want to let go of, even if she’s no longer by your side, it seems reflect a theme beyond the love of a significant other. It reflects the togetherness of friends and family as well.

Lee Moon Sae – 소녀 (Girl)

이문세 – 소녀

오혁(Hyukk Oh) – 소녀

소녀

내 곁에만 머물러요 떠나면 안돼요
그리움 두고 머나먼 길
그대 무지개를 찾아올 순 없어요

노을 진 창가에 앉아
멀리 떠가는 구름을 보면
찾고 싶은 옛 생각들
하늘에 그려요

음 불어오는 차가운 바람 속에
그대 외로워 울지만
나 항상 그대 곁에 머물겠어요
떠나지 않아요

노을 진 창가에 앉아
멀리 떠가는 구름을 보면
찾고 싶은 옛 생각들
하늘에 그려요

음 불어오는 차가운 바람 속에
그대 외로워 울지만
나 항상 그대 곁에 머물겠어요
떠나지 않아요

내 곁에만 머물러요 떠나면 안돼요

Girl

Please just stay near me, you must never leave
Leave behind longing, a far off path
You can’t search for that rainbow

Sitting at the window of a setting sun
Looking at the cloud floating far away
The old memories you want to search for
Draw them on the heavens

Um, within the cold, blowing wind
Lonely for you, I cry but
I will always stay near you
It never leaves

Sitting at the window of a setting sun
Looking at the cloud floating far away
The old memories you want to search for
Draw them on the heavens

Um, within the cold, blowing wind
Lonely for you, I cry but
I will always stay near you
It never leaves

Please just stay near me, you must never leave

_____________________________________________________

Jo Jung Hyun is not an artist I actually remember but I do remember hearing this song, “그 아픔까지 사랑한거야 (I Even Loved the Pain)”. It’s weird how there are some songs you haven’t heard in ages and yet the lyrics and melody is embedded in your head.

In the scheme of the drama, the song is titular in representing the unrequited love of some of the characters. As with all of the Answer Me series, the identity of the husband to the main female character tends to be a mystery. There’s a really funny parody that SNL Korea did recently about this, featuring Lee Se Young who appears as Sung Deok Sun’s (Lee Hye Ri) friend in the drama. Despite the skit, I think viewers can pretty much guess who Deok Sun is going to end up with.

We’re beginning to see Kim Jung Hwan (Ryu Joon Yul) show that he likes Deok Sun in his cranky way. As for Sun Woo (Go Kyung Pyo), whom Deok Sun had a crush on, he confessed his feelings for Deok Sun’s sister, Bo Ra (Ryu Hye Young). Despite her bad temper, especially towards Deok Sun, there’s a layer of warmth and sensitivity that only Sun Woo sees beneath her cold exterior. She didn’t have feelings for Sun Woo before but now that he’s confessed, it’s something that she can’t forget easily especially since he’s so caring.

Jo Jung Hyun – 그 아픔까지 사랑한거야 (I Even Loved the Pain)

조정현 – 그 아픔까지 사랑한거야

그 아픔까지 사랑한거야

너를 처음 만난 날
소리 없이 밤새 눈은 내리고
끝도 없이 찾아드는 기다림
사랑의 시작이였어

길모퉁이에 서서 눈을 맞으며
너를 기다리다가
돌아서는 아쉬움에 그리움만 쌓여도
난 슬프지 않아

눈 내리고 외롭던 밤이 지나면
멀리서 들려오는 새벽 종소리
혼자만의 사랑은 슬퍼지는 거라
말하지 말아요

그대 향한 그리움은 나만의 것인데
외로움에 가슴 아파도
그 아픔까지 사랑한거야

눈 내리고 외롭던 밤이 지나면
멀리서 들려오는 새벽 종소리
혼자만의 사랑은 슬퍼지는 거라
말하지 말아요

그대 향한 그리움은 나만의 것인데
외로움에 가슴 아파도
그 아픔까지 사랑한거야

그 아픔까지 사랑한거야

I Even Loved the Pain

The first day I met you
Silently, it snowed all night long
Endlessly finding me, the expectation
It was the beginning of love

Standing on the street corner, being snowed on
Waiting for you
The sorrow turning away, even if the longing grows
I’m not sad

As the snow falls and the lonely night passes
The early morning bells heard from the distance
Being in love along is a sad thing
Please don’t tell me that

Because my longing for you is all mine
Though a lonely heart hurts
I even love that pain

As the snow falls and the lonely night passes
The early morning bells heard from the distance
Being in love along is a sad thing
Please don’t tell me that

Because my longing for you is all mine
Though a lonely heart hurts
I even love that pain

I even love that pain

Leave a Reply

