Just Bananas About: Week of 12/4/15

I think it’s a uniquely American thing but I can’t really get into the Christmas spirit until after Thanksgiving. I get weirded by hearing Christmas songs and seeing Christmas-y items in stores in mid-November but I know that’s the norm for many other countries. Now that we’ve had our turkey, I’m ready to put up my Hello Kitty-lit Christmas tree and for the slew of Christmas albums coming out this month. One such album is “Lonesome Christmas” by The Barberettes, a trio of Doo-Wop singers who embrace vintage style and have harmonic voices. This is their 2nd Christmas album and I also highly recommend the Christmas album they released last year.

Like the album title, “Lonesome Christmas” is the title song of the album with versions in Korean and English. Both the Korean and English music videos are the same so I only included the English one below but provided both versions of the lyrics.

I think what’s heartwarming about this song is that it seems to reach out to all those Korean students studying in North America, especially if you are closer to the East Coast. I’ve seen students arrive from abroad with boxes and boxes of food such as ramyun and packaged kimchi just so they can sustain the long months away from Korea.  It’s not easy to fly home for the holidays because flights are expensive and it takes a long time to reach Korea. As university campuses empty out, it’s the students that are here studying abroad that’s left behind. This song seems to be for them and its incredibly bittersweet.

바버렛츠 – Lonesome Christmas

Lonesome Christmas

Merry, merry Christmas

All the lights, red and green
on the street, start to glow
Those old Christmas song melodies,
blow slowly in the snow

Days gone by I didn’t see
alone under a Christmas tree
So far away this Christmas

Friends of mine, one by one
they’re leaving headed home
The ones I love, long to see
wait for me, overseas

A year gone by I didn’t see
how I wish you were here with me
I’m so far away from home

Everyone back home they say
The snow is falling down
Places that I long for
memories together
I’m so far from home

It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
it’s a lonesome Christmas
I’m so far away
and I don’t wanna be alone tonight

Everyone back home they say
The trees are covered in white
Faces that I long for
so loving and so tender
But I’m so far from home

It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
I’m so far away
and I don’t wanna be alone tonight

Lonesome Christmas
Lonesome It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas woo

So far away So far away
That it’s sad to say
Merry merry Christmas

The Barberettes – 론썸 크리스마스 (Lonesome Christmas)

바버렛츠 – 론썸 크리스마스

론썸 크리스마스

Merry merry Christmas
거리에 불빛들 하나씩 켜지고
찬바람 속에 흐르는 캐롤 송 들리고
한 두 해도 아닌데 오늘따라 서러워
타지에서 맞는 크리스마스

친구들 하나 둘 고향에 내려가
그리운 가족들 만나러 가지만
한 두 해도 아닌데 오늘따라 서러워
집에 가고 싶어

그곳엔 지금 눈이 온다며
보고 싶은 얼굴 먹고 싶은 음식
다 그립다

It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
외로운 건 좀처럼 익숙하지 않네

그곳엔 지금 눈이 온다며
보고 싶은 얼굴 먹고 싶은 음식
다 그립다

It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
외로운 건 좀처럼 익숙하지 않네

It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
외로운 건 외로워도 외롭지만

Merry merry Christmas

Lonesome Christmas

Merry merry Christmas
The lights on the street go on, one by one
In the cold wind, the carol song drifting in my ear
It’s not one or two years long but today I feel sad
Greeting Christmas from a strange land

One, two of my friends going down to their hometown
Going to see the family they yearn for
It’s not one or two years long but today I feel sad
I want to go home

If snow is falling there right now
Faces that I miss, the food that I want to eat
Miss it all

It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
Unlike before, not used to be lonely

If snow is falling there right now
Faces that I miss, the food that I want to eat
Miss it all

It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
Unlike before, not used to be lonely

It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
It’s a lonesome Christmas
Loneliness is lonely and I may be lonely but

Merry merry Christmas

Not end the work week and this post on a sad note, I’m including the other track on this year’s Christmas, “Santa Baby”. It’s a Christmas classic and I’ve always loved the cheeky tone of the track. I’m not sure if it’s because The Barberettes often sing and do covers of famous Doo-Wop songs from the 60’s but I think their English songs pretty decent. If you haven’t heard their cover of “Be My Baby”, it’s totally worth a listen.

The Barberettes – Santa Baby

바버렛츠 – Santa Baby

Leave a Reply

