Jive Monkey Playlist: 12/7/15

The Royal Pirates are back with a new album and they’ve rebranded their image by exploring the other genres of rock or by mixing other genres with rock.

I really like how all the members in this band usually have a hand in producing all of the songs, which is pretty rare. It’s usually only one or two members that take part but it just seems to reflect how tight the members must be to collaborate on this level.  I was also surprised to find that Jung Jae Yoon (kna Jae Chong) had a hand in producing the album for them. It was only a few weeks ago when I featured Kim Jo Han, originally from the 90’s R&B group Solid. And here was the original leader of that group. While the album still retains the Royal Pirates sound, many of the tracks seems to have elements of retro and electronic sounds which are signature Jae Chong sounds.

My favorite song on the album is “Too Fast”. I love that it starts with this retro 80’s sound and transitions into a polished new retro wave sound. The other thing I really like this group is how they’re able to seamlessly go from singing in Korean and English. With many other K-Pop bands, the English parts can come off as awkward but since they’re all Korean-American and have a part in writing the songs, I personally find the transition natural.

The song seems to be perfect for nighttime driving when it’s only you on the road with nothing else but the street lamps speeding past you on the highway. It seems to be about racing towards someone that you love, perhaps someone that you split from, but want to rekindle whatever you had again.

Royal Pirates – Too Fast

로열 파이럿츠(Royal Pirates) – Too Fast

Too Fast

미워했던 널 원망했던 널
바보같이 난 그리워했어
미워했던 널 원망했던 널
왜 널 못 잊어

‘Cause you’re taking me high
Take me up to the sky
끝없이 추락하는 나를
But you’re taking me high
Take me up to the sky
내 눈 앞에 아른거려

날 기다리는 너에게 가고 있잖아
오늘 밤 너도 나와 같다면
슬픔 속에 기억을 모두 지워 버려
I’m going too fast 더 늦지 않게
I’m going too fast
Can’t wait to see you tonight
I’m going too fast
Too fast, love

미워했던 널 원망했던 널
하루하루 난 지우려 했어
너의 향기도 너의 숨결도
왜 난 못 잊어

‘Cause you’re taking me high
Take me up to the sky
끝없이 추락하는 나를
But you’re taking me high
Take me up to the sky
내 눈 앞에 아른거려

날 기다리는 너에게 가고 있잖아
오늘 밤 너도 나와 같다면
슬픔 속에 기억을 모두 지워 버려
I’m going too fast 더 늦지 않게
I’m going too fast
Can’t wait to see you tonight
I’m going too fast
Too fast, love

I see the star shine in your eyes
Don’t wanna fall asleep tonight
You seem so far from me but I
I just can’t forget you

I’m going too fast 더 늦지 않게
I’m going too fast
Can’t wait to see you tonight
I’m going too fast
Too fast, love

Too Fast

You, that I hated, you, that I resented
Like an idiot, I longed for you
You, that I hated, you, that I resented
Why can’t I forget you

‘Cause you’re taking me high
Take me up to the sky
I’m endlessly falling
But you’re taking me high
Take me up to the sky
You waver in front of my eyes

Want to go to you who is waiting for me
Tonight, if you’re like me
The memories dipped in sadness, erase it all
I’m going too fast, before it’s too late
I’m going too fast
Can’t wait to see you tonight
I’m going too fast
Too fast, love

You, that I hated, you, that I resented
Day by day, I tried erasing you
Your scent, your breathing too
Why can’t I forget you

‘Cause you’re taking me high
Take me up to the sky
I’m endlessly falling
But you’re taking me high
Take me up to the sky
You waver in front of my eyes

Want to go to you who is waiting for me
Tonight, if you’re like me
The memories dipped in sadness, erase it all
I’m going too fast, before it’s too late
I’m going too fast
Can’t wait to see you tonight
I’m going too fast
Too fast, love

I see the star shine in your eyes
Don’t wanna fall asleep tonight
You seem so far from me but I
I just can’t forget you

I’m going too fast, before it’s too late
I’m going too fast
Can’t wait to see you tonight
I’m going too fast
Too fast, love

Leave a Reply

