Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/8/16

Early last year, I featured music from Heart to Heart. The music supervisor on that show was Tearliner and again at the start of the new year, I’m featuring his music from Cheese in the Trap. He’s one of the biggest reasons why I decided to give his drama a try.  I realized that I have a bias when it comes to drama titles that are odd or cheesy. No pun intended. However, after watching the first two episodes of this drama, I immediately fell in love with its quirky, awkward funny and bittersweet tones of the drama.

And in a way, that’s exactly how I would describe Tearliner’s music and selection of music. If you’re not familiar with Tearliner (aka Park Sung Hoon), check out last year’s post to get a sense of the drama’s he’s worked on over the years.

As I didn’t read the webtoon, I honestly didn’t know what to expect nor did I read up much on the drama’s plot. I only knew it was about college kids. So I had a hard time understanding why they titled the drama as such. Now that I’ve seen the episodes, I can see that the main character Hong Seol (Kim Go Eun) is like a mouse. She’s the type of person who doesn’t want to stand out in a crowd. That is, until the popular guy at school, Yoo Jung (Park Hae Jin), notices her and starts paying attention to her.  The attention drives her crazy enough to want to take a break from school.

The drama starts off relatively 1 year prior to present day when she first met Jung. As a other girls fawn over him, she coolly watches him from afar. Although many people in her class see Jung as a nice guy, she senses his dark side. From that moment, Jung actively chases after Seol, despite the fact that she tries to shirk from the unwanted spotlight.

My favorite song in the drama so far is a song that’s heard at the end of Episode 2. As my song detecting app was unable to recognize the song, it seems likely that this is probably a song that will be released at a later time. For now, my favorite song on the first release is the title track, “Cheese in the Trap”. I love how the song starts off with just the folksy strumming of a guitar.  It almost comes off as being playful but it’s not clear if his intentions are sincere.  Then, in comes the piano, the cello and the song just swells into this sentimental number which reflects his true heart.

The song is sung by singer-songwriter who goes by the name, Twenty Years Old, but whose real name is Hwang Dae Hyun. I recently downloaded the single, “뽀드득 (Crunch),” which is a collaboration between him and Vanilla Acoustic. Although he’s in his 30’s, his stage name suits him in that he sounds young. The name is meant to reflect how the 20’s are often looked upon fondly as it is time that’s rich with opportunities but you are still discovering who you are as a person.

What I like about “치드인더트랩 (Cheese in the Trap)” is that the phrase seems to reflect how Seol is the mouse who is being lured toward the cheese in the trap. That’s probably true of the romance between Jung and Seol in the beginning but I suspect that as time goes on, the roles will be reversed.

In the lyrics, you can hear his point-of-view in that all he wants is for her to get to know and give him a chance. It’s an unusual phrase and yet they seem to be an unusual couple which makes me like them even more.

Twenty Years Old – 치즈인더트랩 (Cheese in the Trap)

스무살 – 치즈인더트랩

치즈인더트랩

오늘 너는 내가 미웠겠지
가끔 나도 내가 미운데
그래도 넌 날 미워하지 말아줘
그냥 날 알아봐 줄 순 없을까
누가 뭐래도 내가 어떻든
Cheese in the trap
all the things 모든 순간
모든 감정들마다 다 널 담고 싶어
Cheese in the trap

문득 널 처음 본 날이 기억나
우리 마주쳤던
그 날 같은 별이 켜지고 있어
너는 이렇게 내게 자꾸 커져
누가 뭐래도 네가 어떻든
Cheese in the trap
all the things 모든 순간
모든 감정들마다 다 널 담고 싶어
Cheese in the trap

If all things are gone
I hope you are the only one
who left with me at the end
Cheese in the trap 모든 순간
Cheese in the trap 모든 감정

Cheese in the trap
all the things 모든 순간
모든 감정들마다 다 널 담고 싶어
Cheese in the trap

Cheese in the trap

Cheese in the Trap

Today, you probably hated me
Occasionally I hate myself
But still, please don’t hate me
Can’t you just get to know me?
No matter what anyone says or how I act
Cheese in the trap
all the things, all the moments
With every emotion, I want to bottle all of you up
Cheese in the trap

Suddenly remember the first day I met you
When we crossed paths
Like that day, the stars are lighting up
You light me up like that
No matter what anyone says or how you act
Cheese in the trap
all the things, all the moments
With every emotion, I want to bottle all of you up
Cheese in the trap

If all things are gone
I hope you are the only one
who left with me at the end
Cheese in the trap, all the moments
Cheese in the trap, all the emotion

Cheese in the trap
all the things, all the moments
With every emotion, I want to bottle all of you up
Cheese in the trap

Cheese in the trap

I think what’s hilarious about the Jung and Seol pairing is how much she wants to avoid his attention. Although he’s asked her multiple times to go out and eat with him, she constantly rejects him. On the one hand, she doesn’t trust him but on the other hand, he’s helped her out so many times that she feels bad for rejecting him when it seems that he might genuinely be a nice guy. I especially think that Kim Go Eun is so good at playing awkward which makes their scenes together downright funny.

And from Seol’s perspective, we can totally sense that Jung might have an ominous side to him. Now, that just might be because I watched Park Hae Jin in Bad Guys and he was so good at playing a psychopathic killer but I digress.

The other non-instrumental track on the album is “어쩌면 좋아 (What Are We To Do),” sung by indie artist/singer-songwriter Cosmos Hippie (aka Han Gook In – which I’m not sure if that is also a stagename as it translates to mean “Korean”).

If “치드인더트랩 (Cheese in the Trap)” is from Jung’s perspective, then this song seems to be from Seol’s perspective. Compared to the other song, this song comes off a little more playful and carefree which is indicative of Seol’s clumsiness and nervousness.

She also wants to get to know Jung as well but there’s something about the way Jung expresses himself that confuses her. He doesn’t seem like the type of person that just says things outright and in some ways, he allows people to get the wrong impression of him.

Now that could extend from his backstory. We’ve gotten hints that he was once close to Baek In Ho (Seo Kang Joon) and his sister, Baek In Ha (Lee Sung Kyung).

It’s not clear yet what happened in their relationship but it’s clear that In Ho will use the fact that Jung is hiding something in order to get close to Seol. I think we’ll see that while Jung is secretive, In Ho is not afraid to be an open book.

The differences in their personalities should create an interesting love triangle.

After watching the two episodes, I decided to look into the webtoon. Only reading the first few chapters of the webtoon, I honestly like the drama over the webtoon. The issue I have with the webtoon is that you can’t really tell that Jung has a dark side just by looking at the way he’s drawn. Even if we’re viewing Jung from Seol’s perspective, Park Hae Jin does a great job in getting that point across about Jung. It’s really too early to say how the drama will turn out but for now, I’m hooked.

Cosmos Hippie – 어쩌면 좋아 (What Are We To Do)

우주히피(Cosmos Hippie) – 어쩌면 좋아

어쩌면 좋아

혼자 몰래 나를 보고 있었나요
알 수 없는 그대 맘을 열어봐요

다시 내 이름을 불러줘요
비밀을 알고 싶다면 또 불러봐요
내 손을 잡아주세요
오래 숨겨둔 그 맘을 들켜줘요

그대는 나는 우리는 어쩜 좋아요
그냥 하는 말 아냐
그대는 나는 오 우린 어쩌면 좋아
이제 나도 설레요

내 맘대로 그댈 믿어도 될까요
다음번엔 모두 말해줄 건가요

다시 날 불러 세워줘요
바로 알아챌 수 있게 손들어봐요
어떤 말이 더 필요한가요
눈에 보이는 그대로 믿어요

그대는 나는 우리는 어쩜 좋아요
그냥 하는 말 아냐
그대는 나는 오 우린 어쩌면 좋아

내 이름을 불러줘요
나를 좀 더 알고 싶다면 또 불러봐요
내 손을 잡아주세요
오래 숨겨둔 그 맘을 내게만 줘요

내 이름을 불러줘요
비밀을 알고 싶다면 또 불러봐요
내 손을 잡아주세요
오래 숨겨둔 그 맘을 들켜줘요

내 이름을 불러줘요
비밀을 알고 싶다면 또 불러봐요
내 손을 잡아주세요
오래 숨겨둔 그 맘을 들켜줘요

내 이름을 불러줘요
비밀을 알고 싶다면 또 불러봐요
내 손을 잡아주세요
오래 숨겨둔 그 맘을 들켜줘요

그대는 나는 우리는 어쩜 좋아요

What Are We To Do

Were you secretly watching me alone?
Don’t understand you, open your heart

Again, call out my name
If you want to know the secret, call me again
Please hold my hand
Get caught with those feelings you hid for so long

You, I, we, what are we to do?
It’s not just words that I’m saying
You, I, oh we, what are we to do?
Now, I’m nervous

Can I trust that I can believe in you?
Next time, will you tell me everything?

Again, call me to stand in front of you
So I can recognize you right away, raise your hand
What other explanation do you need?
I believe what I see in front of my eyes

You, I, we, what are we to do?
It’s not just words that I’m saying
You, I, oh we, what are we to do?

Call out my name
If you want to get to know me more, call me again
Please hold my hand
Give only to me those feelings you hid for so long

Call out my name
If you want to know the secret, call me again
Please hold my hand
Get caught with those feelings you hid for so long

Call out my name
If you want to know the secret, call me again
Please hold my hand
Get caught with those feelings you hid for so long

Call out my name
If you want to know the secret, call me again
Please hold my hand
Get caught with those feelings you hid for so long

You, I, we, what are we to do?

2 thoughts on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/8/16

  1. I just discovered your blog.Thanks for this entry! I’m really loving this drama right now, and your background info on the music is both interesting and enlightening. I’m learning korean so I really appreciate the English and Hangul lyrics side by side.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

