Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/15/16

It is Flashback Friday.  If you’re a music lover, then maybe you might be watching the Yoo Jae Suk and Yoo Hee Yeol music variety program Two Yoo Project: Sugar Man.  The name “Sugar Man” comes from the 2012 documentary called “Searching for Sugar Man” in which two fans go out in search of an American folk musician named Sixto Rodriguez.  This show does the same by searching for old Korean musicians, pop stars and the like who have achieved fame but have “disappeared” from the entertainment scene.  The two Yoo’s split up into different teams to remake the songs which are then voted on by the audience of a 100 people which are divided equally by their age groups.

This week, instead of featuring two different Sugar Men, the show featured one group, Noise.  Noise was a 90’s K-Pop group made up of 4 guys: Hong Jong Gu, Chun Sung Il, Han Sang Il and Kim Hak Kyu.  What’s interesting about Chun Sung Il is that he was a great composer and arranger and is behind some of the most famous K-Pop songs of the 90’s.  He’s produced music for artists such as Kim Gun Mo, Shin Seung Hoon and Park Mi Kyung.  Hong Jong Gu was an accomplished lyricist and together they made many of the Noise tracks.

Unfortunately, they weren’t dancers.  So they went out and found Han Sang Il and Kim Hak Kyu to complete the group.  By the late 90’s, they disappeared off the scene and I really don’t know what happened to them until now.  I was so glad to see the group back together but I couldn’t help but feel a bit sad that Chun Sung Il didn’t join the other members as he was the leader of the group.

One of the songs that they remade on the show as “상상 속의 너 (You In My Imagination)” which is an upbeat number about imagining the person you’re gonna be with and hoping that they are just out there on the same page as you.  Below is the original track from Noise’s 3rd album.

Noise – 상상 속의 너 (You In My Imagination)

Noise – 상상속의 너

상상 속의 너

나는 가끔 이런 생각들을 했어
내가 사랑할 수 있는 누군가도
지금 나와같은 생각으로
나의 모습들을 가끔씩 그려보는지
이런저런 상상속에 많은 시간들은
나를 외롭게 만들었지만
나는 기다렸어
그날이 오기를 바로 오늘을

오늘 나는 우연히 널 보고 말았어
나에 상상속에 그리던 널
나의 눈이 너와 마주치던 그 순간
나는 굳어버렸지 할말도 잃어버린 채

어떡해야 그대에게 말을 건넬까
나의 맘은 두근거렸지만
내게 슬쩍 눈길을 주며 웃는 그댈
이젠 사랑할 수 밖에 없어

너무 오랫동안 나는 기다렸어
나의 친구들은 애인이 있는데
나만 혼자라는 외로움에
가끔 나는 내 자신을 미워했었지만
그래 한번 참아보는 거야
어디까지 그댈 기다려야 하는지
나의 인내심은 그대를 만났어 바로 이순간

오늘 나는 우연히 널 보고 말았어
나에 상상속에 그리던 널
나의 눈이 너와 마주치던 그 순간
나는 굳어버렸지 할말도 잃어버린 채

어떡해야 그대에게 말을 건넬까
나의 맘은 두근거렸지만
내게 슬쩍 눈길을 주며 웃는 그댈
이젠 사랑할 수 밖에 없어

You In My Imagination

Occasionally, I have these thoughts
The person whom I could love
Right now, with the same thoughts as me
Not sure if they sometimes draw an image of me
This and that in my imagination, lots of time
Might make me lonely
I’ve waited
For that day to come, today

Today, I saw you by chance
Drawn in my imagination
When my eyes met yours, in that moment
I froze, at a loss for words

How will I talk to you
Even though my heart is pounding
If you give me a sly glance of a smiling you
Now I can’t help but fall in love

For a really long time, I’ve waited
My friends have girlfriends
Only I am single and lonely
Occasionally, I hated myself but
Yeah, I’m being patient for once
How far will I go to wait for you
Until my patience has met you, right this moment

Today, I saw you by chance
Drawn in my imagination
When my eyes met yours, in that moment
I froze, at a loss for words

How will I talk to you
Even though my heart is pounding
If you give me a sly glance of a smiling you
Now I can’t help but fall in love

It was the cover below from Yoo Hee Yeol’s team that won this week. The remake was produced by Kye Bum Ju and Seventeen’s Woozi and it was hilarious to watch them on the show as they kept provoking Yoo Jae Suk by showing off such small snippets of the cover track. Raina and Lizzy from the group After School and its sub-unit, Orange Caramel, sing the cover.  The lyrics are slightly different from above as the language has been updated for current times so I provided both versions in this post.

As Kye Bum Ju and Woozi were describing how they’ve updated the song, it was hard to tell what the end product would be.  On Yoo Jae Suk’s team, there was Philtre who remade “너에게 원한거 (What I Want From You)” had decided to make it jazzy made sense for that track.  That song was sung by the girls of Red Velvet.

However, Kye Bum Ju and Woozi managed to incorporate a number of different genres in the same track, such as reggae, electronica, folk and ballad styles.  Even the singers had different styles in the way they’re singing the track.  Raina focused on a somber ballad style for the chorus while Lizzy brings a bright and cheery style to the verses.  The best way to explain their concept is that if Raina is Sadness from Inside Out, Lizzy is Joy.  For me, this version of the song reflects the ups and downs of falling in love.  On the one hand, it could bring excitement and butterflies but on the other hand, there’s also worry over how you’d confess your feelings and whether the other person will reciprocate.

레이나 [애프터스쿨] , 리지 [오렌지 캬라멜] – 상상 속의 너

상상 속의 너

어떡해야 그대에게 말을 건넬까
나의 맘은 두근거렸지만
내게 슬쩍 눈길을 주며 웃는 그대를
나는 사랑 할 수밖에 없어

나는 가끔 상상해봐
내가 사랑할 누군가도
지금 나 같은 생각으로
내 모습을 그려 볼런지

이런저런 걱정 때매
나를 외롭게 만들었지만
나는 기다렸어 진짜로
바로 오늘을

오늘 나는 우연히 널 보고 말았어
나에 상상속에 그리던 널
나의 눈이 너와 마주치던 그 순간
나는 굳어버렸지 할 말도 잃어버린 채

어떡해야 그대에게 말을 건넬까
나의 맘은 두근거렸지만
내게 슬쩍 눈길을 주며 웃는 그대를
이젠 사랑할 수밖에 없어

오랫동안 나는 기다렸어
친구들은 애인이 있는데
혼자라는 외로움에 가끔
나는 내 자신을 미워했었지만

그래 한번 참아보는 거야
어디까지 그댈 기다려야 하는지
나의 인내심은 그대를 만났어
바로 이 순간

오늘 나는 우연히 널 보고 말았어
나에 상상속에 그리던 널
나의 눈이 너와 마주치던 그 순간
나는 굳어버렸지 할 말도 잃어버린 채

어떡해야 그대에게 말을 건넬까
나의 맘은 두근거렸지만
내게 슬쩍 눈길을 주며 웃는 그대를
이젠 사랑할 수밖에 없어

어떡해야 그대에게 말을 건넬까
나 심장이 터질 것만 같아
내게 슬쩍 눈길 이상 주는
그대를 사랑할 수밖에 없어

You In My Imagination

How will I talk to you
Even though my heart is pounding
If you give me a sly glance of a smiling you
Now I can’t help but fall in love

Occasionally, I imagine
That a person whom I could love
Right now has the same thought as me
If they’re trying to imagine how I look

Because of worries here and there
Though it makes me lonely
Really, I’ve waited
For today

Today, I saw you by chance
Drawn in my imagination
When my eyes met yours, in that moment
I froze, at a loss for words

How will I talk to you
Even though my heart is pounding
If you give me a sly glance of a smiling you
Now I can’t help but fall in love

For a long time, I’ve waited
My friends have boyfriends
The loneliness of being alone, occasionally
I hated myself but

Yeah, I’m being patient for once
How far will I go to wait for you
Until my patience has met you
Right this moment

Today, I saw you by chance
Drawn in my imagination
When my eyes met yours, in that moment
I froze, at a loss for words

How will I talk to you
Even though my heart is pounding
If you give me a sly glance of a smiling you
Now I can’t help but fall in love

How will I talk to you
My heart is like it’s about to burst
If you at least give me a sly glance
I can’t help falling in love with you

Today’s final track is one that wasn’t played on the show but it’s one of my favorite tracks as I feel like it stands the test of time. “이젠 (Now)” is a deep house track with a very catchy beat and it reflects the downfall of relationship due to a betrayal. I love how the lyrics reflect the dichotomy of what a person looks like when they’re in love and what they look like when they’ve been betrayed. It’s not only that the way that person look has changed but it’s also because the betrayer has another person in their heart so its reflected in how they look.

Noise – 이젠 (Now)

Noise – 이젠

이젠

rap)
이젠 이젠 너의 맘이 변해버린 이유를
너의 너의 이미 내가 지워지고 없었어
이젠 이젠 요즘 니가 나를 피해 왔던걸
너의 너의 다른 사람의 모습이 보였어

rap)
나를 바라보던 너의 눈빛속엔
예전 같지않은 느낌들이 있어
어색해진 너의 표정들을 느끼면서
이별이 날 찾아왔다는거 느꼈기에
아무 대답조차 할 수 없던 나는
너를 그냥 잊어 버리기로 했어
내게 부담되는 그런 사랑으로
나는 기억되고 싶은 맘은 없었으니까.

song)
이젠 알것같아 너의 맘이 변해버린 이유를
너의 마음속엔 이미 내가 지워지고 없었어.
이젠 알것같아 요즘 니가 나를 피해 왔던걸
너의 마음 속엔 다른 사람의 모습이 있었어

rap)
너의 집앞에서 너를 기다리다
보고싶지 않은 광경을 난봤어
내가아닌 다른 사람이 너를 위해서
너의 집앞 까지 바래다주는 모습을
하늘이 무너져 내리는 것 같아
무거운 발길을 돌리고 말았어
돌아보고 돌아보고 또 돌아보면서
마지막 눈물로 너를 잊기로 한거야

song)
그래 그렇다면 나도 날 위해
이별을 서두를 거야
나의 마음 속에서
니가 날 좀더 빨리 떠날 수 있도록

이젠 알것같아 너의 맘이 변해버린 이유를
너의 마음속엔 이미 내가 지워지고 없었어
이젠 알것같아 요즘 니가 나를 피해 왔던걸
너의 마음 속엔 다른 사람의 모습이 있었어

rap)
이제 더 이상은 생각하지 않아
너를 위해 흘려줄 눈물도 없어
니가 나에게 남겨준 사랑의 의미는
미움으로 밖에 내겐 기억되지 않아
이젠 너를 기억조차 하기 싫어
내 지신이 자꾸 초라해지니까
니가 나를 쉽게 지워 버렸던 것만큼
나도 쉽게 너를 잊어 버리고 말꺼야

song)
그래 그렇다면 나도 날 위해
이별을 서두를 거야
나의 마음 속에서
니가 날 좀더 빨리 떠날수 있도록

song)
이젠 알것 같아 너의 맘이 변해버린 이유를
너의 마음 속엔 이미 내가 지워지고 없었어.
이젠 알것 같아 요즘 니가 나를 피해 왔던걸
너의 마음 속엔 다른 사람의 모습이 있었어

(너의 마음속에 이제는)
나를 남겨두지 말어
(너를 사랑했던 기억을)
모두 지워 버릴거야
(너와 만들었던 추억도)
이젠 내게 필요없어
(너를 몰랐었던 시절로)
다시 돌아가려고해

song)
이젠 알것 같아 너의 맘이 변해버린 이유를
너의 마음 속엔 이미 내가 지워지고 없었어.
이젠 알것 같아 요즘 니가 나를 피해 왔던걸
너의 마음 속엔 다른 사람의 모습이 있었어

Now

rap)
Now, now, the reason why your heart has changed
You, you’ve already erased me completely
Now, now, that you’ve recently avoided me
You, you showed the image of a different person

rap)
The look with which you regarded me
Doesn’t feel like what it was before
Feels like your expressions are forced
Felt like a break up has now found me
There’s not even an answer that I can give
I just decided to forget you
It’s just a relationship that burdening me
Had no intention of becoming a memory

song)
Now, I think I know, the reason why your heart has changed
In your heart, you’ve already erased me completely
Now, I think I know, that you’ve recently avoided me
In your heart, there’s the image of a different person

rap)
As I waited for you in front of your house
Seen the sight of you not wanting to see me
For you, not me but another person
Taking you home, the sight of that
Felt like the heavens were collapsing in on me
With heavy steps, I turned around
Turn back, turn back, and turning back again
With my last tears, decided to forget you

song)
Yeah, if it’s like that, I will too, for myself,
Break up with you swiftly
So that in my heart,
you’ll leave me quickly

Now, I think I know, the reason why your heart has changed
In your heart, you’ve already erased me completely
Now, I think I know, that you’ve recently avoided me
In your heart, there’s the image of a different person

rap)
Now, I won’t think of you anymore
For you, don’t have tears to shed
The meaning of love that you left with me
Don’t remember anything but hate
Now, I don’t even want to remember you
Because it keeps making me feel pitiful
As easily as you forgotten and thrown me away
I’ll easily forget you

song)
Yeah, if it’s like that, I will too, for myself,
Break up with you swiftly
So that in my heart,
you’ll leave me quickly

song)
Now, I think I know, the reason why your heart has changed
In your heart, you’ve already erased me completely
Now, I think I know, that you’ve recently avoided me
In your heart, there’s the image of a different person

(Now in your heart)
Don’t leave me there
(Recalling how I loved you)
I’ll erase it all
(The memories I’ve made with you)
Now, I don’t need them anymore
(To the time when I didn’t know you)
Planning to go back to that time

song)
Now, I think I know, the reason why your heart has changed
In your heart, you’ve already erased me completely
Now, I think I know, that you’ve recently avoided me
In your heart, there’s the image of a different person

Leave a Reply

