Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/22/16

Maybe it’s because the planets are aligned but I’ve been in an indie kind of mood lately. Recently, I’ve been discovering new, fairly unknown artists who have made their way onto my playlist and today’s it’s all about love confessions from two very different perspectives.

Lily Glass (백합유리잔 – Baek Hap Yoo Ri Jahn) is an acoustic duo that have been busking around the streets of Seoul. However, they’ve only released their first single last year and just recently released a mini album. The lead vocals are by female singer Yeo Hye Jung and the duo’s guitarist, writer/composer is Yang Kyung Shik. While they originally started a 4 person band in 2010, the two fell for each other’s lyrical musicality and started anew as an acoustic duo.

As the weather has now turned cold, Yeo Hye Jung’s honeyed voice is bound to melt hearts. I was quite taken with the whimsical track, “어쩌나 (What to Do?)”. As far as love confessions go, the lyrics seem to depict a typical scenario. The melody and its pace seem to perfectly capture the nervousness you feel when you get caught off-guard by your crush. And yet, there’s a lovely sweet vibe to it all.

Lily Glass – 어쩌나 (What to Do?)

백합유리잔 – 어쩌나

어쩌나

어쩌다 우연히 나는 보게 됐어
깔끔한 모습이 나는 너무 좋아
내 옆을 지날때 나는 비누향기
가볍게 하늘을 나는 이 기분을

어쩌나 어쩌나

당황할 때는 머리를 긁적이고
부끄러울 땐 귀까지 빨개지고
마냥 어린아이 같은 웃음으로
내게 한걸음 두걸음 다가오면

어쩌나 어쩌나

두근 거리는 내 맘을 들킬까봐
내게 인사를 하지만 모르는 척

어쩌나 어쩌나

애써 담담한 표정을 지어봐도
모든 걸 아는 듯한 그 눈빛
내가 사랑에 빠졌나봐

어쩌나 어쩌나

두근거리는 내 맘을 들킬까봐
내게 인사를 하지만 모르는 척

어쩌나 어쩌나

애써 담담한 표정을 지어봐도
모든 걸 아는 듯한 그 눈빛

내가 사랑에 빠졌나봐
내가 사랑에 빠졌나봐

What to Do?

Somehow by chance, I saw it
A clean-cut image is what I really liked
When you passed by, the scent of soap for me
Was slightly heavenly, to me this feeling

What to do, what to do?

When I get caught off-guard, I scratch my head
When I get nervous, even my ears get red
Always with a childlike smile
If you come closer to me, one step, two steps

What to do, what to do?

That you my catch on to the pitter-patter of my heart
Pretend to not see you greeting me

What to do, what to do?

Even though I try to hold my composure
That look that seems like it knows all
I must’ve fallen in love

What to do, what to do?

That you my catch on to the pitter-patter of my heart
Pretend to not see you greeting me

What to do, what to do?

Even though I try to hold my composure
That look that seems like it knows all

I must’ve fallen in love
I must’ve fallen in love

_____________________________________________________

Joo Hyung Jin is an indie singer-songwriter. It looks like it’s been 6 years since his last album but “Slow Tempo” is a lovely jazz album. He also happens to be close friends with Actor Kang Dong Won. They’ve been friends for about 20 years since they met in high school.

Kang Dong Won was previously in Joo Hyung Jin’s music video for “헤어지자고.. (Let’s Break Up..)” and Joo Hyung Jin specially composed a song for Kang Dong Won when he ended his mandatory army service in 2012 called “강동원 in a Day (Kang Dong Won in a Day)”. The same melody can be heard in the revamped bossanova track on “Slow Tempo” titled “One Fine Day”.

Kang Dong Won is also in the music video for the title track of this album called “비밀을 말하다 (Tell My Secret)”. He agreed to be in the music video for his friend, despite his busy schedule. It was all shot in Italy and I could swear that they tagged team this music video shoot along with the High Cut promo shoot he did for Black Priests. The music video itself looks like a beautiful photoshoot.

As for the song itself, the lyrics depict a guy who is too nervous to confess his feelings. On the one hand, it’s cowardly to hear about a guy who lacks so much confidence that he can’t own up to his feelings. That being said, the lyrics seem to reflect the worry that everyday people go through when their feelings are exposed. Rather than being rejected, they find a sense of comfort of liking the person from afar, even if it means that a relationship doesn’t come to fruition. It’s like when you keep that crush from becoming a real thing, it’s preserved as a beautiful dream. Sometimes when it becomes real, it doesn’t live up to the dream and the melody seem to compliment that sentiment as it lulls the listener into a sense of complacency.

주형진 – 비밀을 말하다

비밀을 말하다

솔직히 요즘 자신 없어요
갈수록 점점 그래요
말은 못해요 안 그런 척 하죠
그게 참 어렵네요
잘 지내냐는 안부에
당연하다며 웃어도
나 안 괜찮아 다 거짓말이야
입을 막은 채 외치는 고백
어디서부터 잘못된 건지
어디로 가야 할지
알지 못해도 버텨내야 하죠
cause life goes on

어디에서나 태연히
행복한 척 웃어봐도
나 안 괜찮아 다 거짓말이야
입을 막은 채 외치는 고백
비밀이니까 꼭 지켜줄래요
위로는 사양할래
안 그럼 이 고백이
현실이 될까 봐 너무 두려워
들어준 걸로 눈물이 날 만큼
고마워요
정말 고 마 워

Tell My Secret

To be honest, I’ve been lacking in confidence
As time goes on, it’s becoming more like that
Can’t tell you but pretend nothing’s wrong
That’s pretty hard
Inquiring about whether I’m doing well
Smile to show that of course I am
I’m not okay, it’s all a lie
Though my lips were sealed, I shout out my confession
Where did I go wrong?
Where do I need to go?
Though I don’t know, I need to withstand it
cause life goes on

No matter where, coolly
Pretending to be happy, even though I smile
I’m not okay, it’s all a lie
Though my lips were sealed, I shout out my confession
Because it’s a secret, will you promise to keep it?
I want to refuse your consolation
If I don’t, this confession
Might become real and that’s too scary
For listening to me, as if it would bring me to tears,
I’m grateful
Thank you, really

Leave a Reply

