Jive Monkey Playlist: 1/29/16

Stellar is a girl-group that’s been around since 2011 but I have to admit they haven’t been on my radar since their debut when they were overseen by Shinhwa’s Eric as their producer. My first introduction to them when they did the song “Loving U” for the Spy Myung Wol OST and that drama was just a painful memory on-screen and off-screen for all parties involved. Flash forward 5 years, I now see that half the members have changed. Currently, the members are Kim Ga Young, Jeon Yool, Joo Min Hee and Lee Hyo Eun.

They recently came back with a mini album called “찔려 (Sting),” which is also their title track. The song has a very catchy beat and it’s about the feeling of betrayal. Although the English title is “Sting,” the word 찔려 (Jjil-ryeo) has a stronger connotation. Sting can often be associated with something that’s small and painful like a prick. However, 찔려 more accurately translates into stab and in the case of this song they feel like they are being stabbed in the back by their significant other.

I think what’s most interesting about the song is the music video. At first, I felt very uncomfortable watching the video as it was so suggestive and unnecessarily provocative. Now that I think about it, it seems appropriate considering the lyrics.  The girls are representing the fact that they exposed an intimate part of themselves during the relationship.  There’s the guy who is taking photographs of Kim Ga Young in bed. Or the image of Lee Hyo Eun being backed into a corner by all of the mouse cursor. It’s clearly points to betrayal of trust and the feeling of being exposed.  In return, the girls are using their words to sting back.

On a side and more serious note, I’m curious as to why they decided to use a picture of Clark Gable in the music video. I do know that he had a few scandals during his career but it makes me wonder if it’s a reference to the disturbing story about his “affair” with Loretta Young, which was only revealed by her daughter-in-law last year.  Perhaps, I’m stretching things here but if that’s an underhanded comment about the shady side of the entertainment industry, I’ll admit that I would find that a bit unsettling because otherwise the appearance of his photo is quite random for an upbeat pop track, no?  Just saying…

스텔라(Stellar) – 찔려

찔려

스텔라
잠깐만요 그 입술
뻐끔뻐끔 뭐하니 너
손끝도 어쩌질 못해
뭔가 있는데
은근슬금 모든게
답을 정한 니 질문들
모른척하는 아닌 척 하는
Judas Kiss or What?
woo wow
난 니 마음 보는 돋보기 맞지?
마치 탐정이 된 것 같아 셜록
비록 이 사건의 피해자는
나라는 게 문제
차가워 차가워 공기가
시간이 이상해 천천히 흘러

애매한 이 분위기 맘이 쿡쿡
혹시 내말이 찔려?
그대 맘속이 찔려?
우리 관계가 질려?

넌 티가 나 언제나
역시 내 말이 찔려?
너의 맘속이 찔려?
나의 가슴 어질려?

힐끔힐끔 어색한 미소만

멋대로 판단해 오늘 좀 피곤해
흔한 핑계 싸구려 거짓말

우물쭈물 니 표정 어정쩡한 그 미소들
모른척하는 아닌 척 하는
Judas Kiss or What?

입만 열면
자꾸 딴소리
안아주는데도 없지 soul이 (i’m sorry)
넌 주제를 자꾸 빙빙돌아 어지러워
듣고싶지 않지만 답답해

차가워 공기가 시간이 이상해
천천히 흘러
내 가슴을 건드려 맘이 쿡쿡

혹시 내말이 찔려?
그대 맘속이 찔려?
우리 관계가 질려?

넌 티가 나 언제나
역시 내 말이 찔려?
너의 맘속이 찔려?
나의 가슴 어질려?

힐끔힐끔 어색한 미소만

비밀 일기처럼
니 가슴에 빼곡 쌓인 그 말
말해 알고 싶어 이젠 준비가 됐어
입을 맞추던 우리
눈도 못 맞추는 우리

뜨끔해 따끔해 내가 니가
뜨끔해 따끔해 내가 니가

내 귓가에 들리는 니 떨리는 목소리
시간이 오는 걸까 우리의 마지막
내가 질려?

혹시 내 말이 찔려?
지금 내 말이 들려?
니 안에서 떠밀려?

입을 맞추던 우리

역시 내 말이 찔려?
너의 두 눈이 떨려
나의 가슴 어질려

눈도 못 맞추는 우리

비밀 일기처럼
니 가슴에 빼곡 쌓인 그 말
말해 알고 싶어 이젠 준비가 됐어
입을 맞추던우리
어쩌다가 우리
우 가슴에
뭐가 미안해 미안해
너의 맘속에

Sting

Stellar
Hold up, those lips
Pucker, pucker, what are you doing?
Don’t even know what to do with my fingertips
Something’s up
Politely, cunningly, everything
Settled on an answer to your questions
Pretending not to know, pretending it’s not
Judas Kiss or What?
woo wow
I’m a magnifying glass that sees your heart, right?
Like I’ve become a detective, Sherlock
Though the victim of this case
The fact that it’s me is a problem
Cold, cold the air
Time is strange, it flows slowly

Ambiguous this feeling, jab, jab my heart
By any chance, do my words sting?
Does your heart sting?
Do you tire of our relationship?

You always have a tell
Again, do my words sting?
Does your heart sting?
Messin’ with my heart?

Glance, glance, just an awkward smile

Decide however you want, today I’m a bit tired
The usual excuse, a cheap lie

Hesitant, your expression, those equivocal smiles
Pretending not to know, pretending it’s not
Judas Kiss or What?

Whenever you open your mouth,
always an irrelevant remark
Even though I hug you, without soul (i’m sorry)
You keep spinning the subject, I’m dizzy
Don’t want to listen but it’s exasperating

Cold the air, time is strange
It flows slowly
Meddling with my heart, jab, jab my heart

By any chance, do my words sting?
Does your heart sting?
Do you tire of our relationship?

You always have a tell
Again, do my words sting?
Does your heart sting?
Messin’ with my heart?

Glance, glance, just an awkward smile

Secrets are like a diary,
Your heart is crammed with those words
Tell me, I want to know, now I’m ready
Us, whose lips have kissed each other
Us, whose eyes can’t meet

Prickly, prickly, me, you
Prickly, prickly, me, you

Surrounding my ears, your wavering voice
Is the time coming, our final moment
Do you tire of me?

By any chance, do my words sting?
Are you listening to me now?
Have I drifted away from you?

Us, whose lips have kissed each other

Again, do my words sting?
Your two eyes are trembling
Messin’ with my heart

Us, whose eyes can’t meet

Secrets are like a diary,
Your heart is crammed with those words
Tell me, I want to know, now I’m ready
Us, whose lips have kissed each other
Somehow we
Woo, in my heart
What are you sorry, sorry for
In your heart

Leave a Reply

