Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/5/16

I try to make an effort to listen to as much K-Pop and K-Indie music I can and it’s easy to just have music playing while you’re on the train traveling from Point A to Point B or just having it as background music at home. Most often, I’m listening to music at work when I have to tune out the din of the office. It’s here where I can often listen to all the tracks in a single album back to back. How often can you say that in this digital age? Sometimes I need to repeatedly listen to a song in order to fall in love with it, other times the melody just grabs you. This week, two big idol groups have made their comeback and these are two songs that grabbed my attention.

I think the most surprising thing I found with Winner’s latest album, “EXIT: E,” is how similar it sounded to Big Bang, especially with one of their title songs, “센치해 (Sentimental)”. Most of the members have a hand in writing the music for the group and I get that they are a part of YG but I think we all love Big Bang because they have their own branded sound. I don’t necessarily think it does anyone a service by having Winner be Big Bang, Jr. That’s just my two cents.

However, I did immediately fall in love with “BABY BABY” which is the first track on the album. It’s a song that just stands out because it’s a classic blues track as opposed to the other pop songs on the album. The song’s melody has such a simple concept and yet the harmony and rap just makes me swoon.

As much as the song is slick and sexy, I like that the lyrics are about companionship. I know, it sounds cheesy but bear with me. I have to admit that I laughed when the lyrics go, “Will you stay with me tonight? Oh baby, I’m not expecting much. Just need a companion to talk with.” Because really? That’s not what the music video makes it look like. Lol. However, even though there is someone in your bed, it’s about the feeling of being with someone and clicking with them. That’s the difference between feeling lonely in a crowd of people and feeling complete whether it’s with someone you love or with your besties.

WINNER – BABY BABY

BABY BABY

Baby baby 이 밤이 싫어요
Baby baby 혼자가 싫어요

Hey girls 안 바쁘면
오늘 밤은 나와 함께 있어줄래?
Oh baby 별거 안 바래
그냥 말동무 좀 해줘요

My friends 오늘 뭐 하니
우리 술 한잔 기울일까
너 바쁘구나 그렇다면 다음에
얼굴이나 한번 보자

Baby baby 이 밤이 싫어요
Baby baby 혼자가 싫어요
우리 함께 외로운 이 밤을 지새워요
모든걸 잊고 다같이 취해가요
Baby baby 혼자가 싫어요

침대 위에 표류해 쓰는 SOS
뭐해 라고 보낸 톡방은 셀수없네
웅크리고 앉어 한없이 작아져
세상의 소음보다 정적이 더 시끄러워
shut up

거리엔 여자들이 비처럼 쏟아지듯 내려와
근데 맞을 일이 없어
머리 위 우산 좀 내려놔
새벽은 너무 길고
시처럼 너의 답은 짧어
해가 뜨면 다시 또 그렇게 잠이 들고 말 걸

Baby baby 이 밤이 싫어요
Baby baby 혼자가 싫어요
우리 함께 외로운 이 밤을 지새워요
모든걸 잊고 다같이 취해가요
Baby baby 혼자가 싫어요

시간이 지나면 지나갈수록
사랑을 향한 그리움만 커져서
난 아무것도 못하죠
날 좀 제발 살려줘요

Baby baby 이 밤이 싫어요
Baby baby 혼자가 싫어요

우리 함께 외로운 이 밤을 지새워요
모든걸 잊고 다같이 취해가요
Baby baby 혼자가 싫어요

Baby baby 이 밤이 싫어요
Baby baby 혼자가 싫어요
우리 함께 외로운 이 밤을 지새워요
모든걸 잊고 다같이 취해가요

Baby baby 혼자가 싫어요

BABY BABY

Baby baby, I hate tonight
Baby baby, I hate being alone

Hey girls, if you’re not busy
Will you stay with me tonight?
Oh baby, I’m not expecting much
Just need a companion to talk with

My friends, what are you doing tonight?
Shall we tilt a shot of booze?
You’re busy, aren’t you? If that’s the case, next time
Let’s see your face some time

Baby baby, I hate tonight
Baby baby, I hate being alone
Together, let’s stay up on this lonely night
Forget everything, let’s get drunk together
Baby baby, I hate being alone

On the bed, a drifting SOS
Countless chatroom of me asking what’s up?
Sitting crouched, endlessly getting smaller
More than the din of the world, the silence is louder
shut up

On the streets, like rain the women pour down
But there’s no chance I’ll get rained on
Put down the umbrella above my head
The dawn is too long,
like a poem, your response is short
When the sun rises, just fall asleep again like that

Baby baby, I hate tonight
Baby baby, I hate being alone
Together, let’s stay up on this lonely night
Forget everything, let’s get drunk together
Baby baby, I hate being alone

When time passes, as much as it goes by
The longing for love grows bigger
I can’t do anything
Please save me

Baby baby, I hate tonight
Baby baby, I hate being alone

Together, let’s stay up on this lonely night
Forget everything, let’s get drunk together
Baby baby, I hate being alone

Baby baby, I hate tonight
Baby baby, I hate being alone
Together, let’s stay up on this lonely night
Forget everything, let’s get drunk together

Baby baby, I hate being alone

_____________________________________________________

It’s been a few years since I last featured 4minute on this blog. However, all it took was listening to the first few beats of this song to be hooked. With its synthetic sound, the backing track is quite hypnotizing. Then after the first verse, the song heads right into the rap, which comes off strong and fierce. I assume the rap is done by Jeon Ji Yoon and say what you will about her poor performance on Unpretty Rapstar Vol. 2 but she improved vastly from her embarrassing first appearance down to the end.

The other reason why I was drawn to this track was because of the title, “Blind”. Since the track is about a woman who has been the victim of lying, shady significant other, the blindness could reflect how she was unable to see behind his mask. However, the lyrics bring another connotation of that word as being blind reflects how now she’s blind or immune to his B.S. He can go on lying and putting up a fake image for other fools but now she’s no longer affected by him.

As a side note, I recently saw Hyuna’s High Cut spread featuring her being lovey-dovey with Deadpool.  To say the least, it was odd and I can’t say that I really liked the spread.  However, Ryan Reynolds, who is Deadpool in the upcoming movie, responded with the picture below and I have to admit that I am totally blind when it comes to him.  I can even forgive that he was once married to Scarlett Johansson and is currently married to Blake Lively.  Scarlett what?  Blake who?  Ha.

4minute – Blind

포미닛(4minute) – Blind

*내 눈이 멀어 = literally this line translates as “my eyes are far away or sees far away” meaning that I’m ignorant of what’s going on right now or around me.

**바람일 = literally this line translates as “wind-filled matters” but the English language equivalent is passing fancy to mean your carefree imagination.

Blind

Let’s go
Lie lie lie liar

내게 뭘 더 바래
그만 쇼 해 쇼 해
갖고 놀다가 필요 없어진 나인데
재미없다고 날 버린 건 너인데
왜 끝까지 구질구질해

넌 가려진 그 모습으로
날 번번히 속였던 거지 Oh no
난 몰랐어
어때 재미 좀 봤니
네 덕에 난 그냥 재미 좀 봤어
내가 또 언제 너 같은 새x랑
이 딴 영화 한 편을 써보겠어
수고했어 미안하단 말 말고
이제 서로 갈 길 갔으면 해

너의 눈빛이 달라졌다
느낄 때 끝냈어야 돼
난 끝냈어야 돼
처음부터 넌 날 속이고 있던 거야

끝났어 너를 향한 내 맘은
미련 없어 이제는
깨졌어 너를 믿던 그 맘도
산산조각 나버려

사랑한단 말로 포장하지마
사랑했던 척 가식 떨지마
더 이상 너를 감추려 하지마
I’m blind I’m blind

내게 뭘 더 원해
적당히 좀 해 Stop it
지긋지긋해 제발 좀 떨어져
이젠 안 당해 너한테 Eh 질렸어
다신 안 속아 난 Ah ah ah 다신

네 가면은 계속 진행 중 인생이 NG
널 이렇게 만난 건 최악이라 생각해
자꾸 탓해 애꿎은 자기합리화
누가 누굴 탓해
싫어도 좋은 척
좋아도 싫은 척
널 아는 사람들 거짓이 뱄어
진실에 대가가 좋지만은 않잖아
Oh god 후회 말고 가면 써

내 눈이 멀어* 아무것도 못 볼 땐
늦었던 거야
이미 늦었던 거야
처음부터 넌 날 사랑 했던 게 아냐

끝났어 너를 향한 내 맘은
미련 없어 이제는
깨졌어 너를 믿던 그 맘도
산산조각 나버려

사랑한단 말로 포장하지마
사랑했던 척 가식 떨지마
더 이상 너를 감추려 하지마
I’m blind I’m blind

내가 원한 모습은 나의 바람일** 뿐이야
넌 달라질게 없는데
내 눈을 가렸던

그 막을 걷어 널 봤어야 돼
숨겨온 실체
그만둬 더는 상처 주지마
그만 나를 속여

가증스러워 다가오지마
미안하단 말 다 필요 없어
이제는 너를 벗어나고 싶어
I’m blind I’m blind

Blind

Let’s go
Lie lie lie liar

What more do you expect from me,
Stop showing off, showing off
I’m the one you toyed with then didn’t need anymore
You’re the one that said I was no fun and threw me away
Why are you shady until the end?

That image that you hid
I was often fooled, Oh no
I didn’t know
How was it? Did you have some fun?
Because of you I had some fun
With an asshole like you, when will I ever
Write a movie like this
Thanks for the effort, rather than saying sorry
Hope that we go our separate ways

The look in your eyes has changed
When I felt it, should have ended things
I should have ended things
From the beginning, you were lying to me

It’s over, the feelings I had for you
Without feelings, now
It’s broken, those emotions I believed in
It’s been shattered to pieces

Don’t gift wrap words of I love you
Don’t pretend that you loved me
Don’t hide yourself anymore
I’m blind I’m blind

What more do you want?
That’s enough, Stop it
I’m fed up, please just go away
Now, I won’t be conned by you, Eh been stabbed
Won’t be fooled again, I, Ah ah ah, again

Continuing to keep wearing your mask, life’s NG
Think that meeting you has been the worst
Keep blaming others, blameless is your self-justification
Who is blaming whom?
Though you hate it, pretending it’s fine,
Though it’s fine, pretending you hate it
People that know you, they’re saturated with lies
The cost of the truth isn’t always good
Oh god, don’t feel sorry and wear your mask

I’m blind*, when I don’t see anything
It’s late
It’s already too late
From the beginning, you didn’t love me

It’s over, the feelings I had for you
Without feelings, now
It’s broken, those emotions I believed in
It’s been shattered to pieces

Don’t gift wrap words of I love you
Don’t pretend that you loved me
Don’t hide yourself anymore
I’m blind I’m blind

The image that I want, it’s just my passing fancy**
Nothing that you need to change,
but that you covered my eyes

Should have gathered those curtains and seen you
The truth you’ve hidden
Forget it, don’t hurt me anymore
Stop lying to me

You’re despicable, don’t come near me
Don’t need you to say that you’re sorry
Now, I want to be released from you
I’m blind I’m blind

Leave a Reply

