Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/12/16

It’s been over a year since Misaeng aired on television and yet I’m still deeply moved by Han Hee Jung’s song, “내일 (Tomorrow).”  Even now, I still play that song because I find it incredibly cathartic, especially when it’s been one of those trying days.  These two artists tackle those themes today and the interesting is the difference in the ages of the singers.  No matter what age we are, we all have those hard days, those days where we feel like we just don’t belong, but the way we approach that hardship or how we even perceive it is very different.

Yoo Seung Woo with his baby-face and baby-voice is almost all grown-up.  He’s turning 20 at the end of this month which means he’s an adult.  Despite his young age, I think his style of music is very mature.  I love the blues-y, jazz vibe of the song, “스무살 (Twenty)” and if it weren’t for his baby-voice, I almost feel like it could be sung in a smoky, underground jazz bar.

I have to admit that I couldn’t help chuckling a bit when I first heard the song and its lyrics.  It’s like what do you know at 20 but now that I think about, I thought I knew everything.  And even though older people will tell you that you have the whole world ahead of you, I somewhat felt a sense of dread and loneliness.  It’s hard to explain but yes, you do have the whole world ahead of you but it almost sounds like you’re gonna be tossed out there into the unknown.  Now that I’m in my 30’s, I can say that despite the fear of the unknown, I look back at that time fondly but back then, I probably did not feel that way.

Yoo Seung Woo –스무살 (Twenty)

유승우 – 스무살 (Twenty)

스무살 (Twenty)

혼자인 것 같아 나만 이럴 때면
왠지 아무 일도 없던 것처럼
혼자 웃고 떠들썩한 티브이 속에 나를 봐
이젠 나도 알게 된 거야 이 무거운 맘을

음악이 좋아서 마냥 하려 했지
근데 이 무겔 느낀 그 후부턴
모두 두려워진 거야 지금 내 모습을 봐
나는 행복해져야만 해 이해하지 나를

기댈 곳 하나 없는 이세상에서
난 어디에 기대야 할지
상처투성이 몸과
낯설기만한 이순간
갑갑한 하루가 흐르면 또

혼자일 것 같아 모두다 변했어
예전 내 모습은 추억이 됐지
가끔 오늘처럼 힘들 때면
그땔 추억해
괜찮아 힘을 내 괜찮아
하룰 또 살아가

기댈 곳 하나 없는 이세상에서
난 어디에 기대야 할지
상처투성이 몸과
낯설기만한 이순간
갑갑한 하루가 흐르면 또

혼자일 것 같아 모두다 변했어
예전 내 모습은 추억이 됐지
가끔 오늘처럼 힘들 때면
그땔 추억해
괜찮아 힘을 내 괜찮아
하룰 또 살아가
이젠 혼자 있어도 좋아
그렇게 흘러가

Twenty

It’s like I’m alone when I’m like this
Like somehow nothing has happened
Laughing alone and watching myself on the loud TV
Now I know how it feels, this heavy feeling

Because I like music, thought I do it forever
But feeling this weight afterwards
Everything’s become frightening, look at me now
Need to become happy, you understand me, right?

In this world where there’s nowhere to lean
Where am I going to lean on
With a body filled with cuts and bruises
Unfamiliar with this moment
When the confining day passes again

Feel like I’m gonna be alone, everyone has changed
My past image has become a memory
Sometimes like today, when it’s hard,
I bring up those memories
It’s alright, be strong, it’s alright
You’ll live another day

In this world where there’s nowhere to lean
Where am I going to lean on
With a body filled with cuts and bruises
Unfamiliar with this moment
When the confining day passes again

Feel like I’m gonna be alone, everyone has changed
My past image has become a memory
Sometimes like today, when it’s hard,
I bring up those memories
It’s alright, be strong, it’s alright
You’ll live another day
Now even if I’m alone, I like it
That’s how time passes

_____________________________________________________

As for Lee Young Hyun, we are similar in age so there’s probably a lot more we have in common.  Recently, she was on King of Masked Singers and I’m a bit sad that she wasn’t able to go farther than the first round.  I love her voice but I completely understand that she was up against another musical actress, Hong Ji Min.  It was a tough choice.

Lee Young Hyun’s latest single is called, “새벽집 (Home at Dawn),” and it paints the picture of a person who works late hours.  Despite the hardships of life, we put on a smile and encourage ourselves to just get to the weekend only to start the grind all over again on Monday.

It’s the difficult cycle of life and sometimes we wonder if this has been what we’ve all been striving for.  Were these the dreams that we all dreamt of when we were in school, as we were just waiting for graduation and being an adult?  Sometimes all it takes is a word of encouragement to make it to we need is a word of encouragement.  It’s kind of weird how life doesn’t turn out how you expect it would but I think we all try to do the best with what we’re given.

이영현 – 새벽집

새벽집

이쯤 해두고 집에 가자
짐을 챙기고 고갤 드니
텅 빈 사무실엔 아무도 없네
불을 끄고 문을 나섰지

차가운 바람 느껴지는
어느새 이미 다음날이 됐어
우리 집에 돌아가면
수고 많이 했다고
그 말해줄 것 같아

이게 꿈이었는데 행복해야 하는데
아픈데 없고 그럭저럭 잘 살고 있는데도
행복하게만 보이네
모두 다른 얼굴들보면
나만 이런 생각하는지
지쳐

혼자 떠드는 텔레비전
그 옆에 식은 커피 반 잔 남아
어지럽혀진 물건들
이 밤새 기다렸다고
토닥여 줄 것 같아

이게 꿈이었는데 행복해야 하는데
아픈데 없고 그럭저럭 잘 살고 있는데도
행복하게만 보이네
모두 다른 사람 얼굴들보면
나만 이런 생각하는 건지

웃을 일이 없는 하루 끝에
잠시나마 여기 기대 누우면
지치지 말라고 안아 줄 것 같아

오늘 수고했다고 따뜻하게 해주고
잠깐 기대어 쉬어가라고 그래도 된다고
넌 행복하게 잘 지내길 바래
행복하게 잘 지내길 바래라고
말을 하는 것 같아

Home at Dawn

For now, let’s just leave it and go home
Packing up my things and looking up
At the empty office, there’s no one
Turned the light off and walked out the door

Feeling the cold wind,
somehow it’s already become the next day
When we return home,
you gave it your best effort
is that what you think you’ll hear?

This was my dream, you have to be happy
Not feeling ill, even if you are somehow living well
Just coming off looking happy
When I see everyone else’s face
Am I the only person that thinks this?
It’s exhausting

The television clamoring on its own
Next to it, a half cup of cold coffee remains
Stuff littered all over the place
If you waited all night long,
will you get a pat on the back?

This was my dream, you have to be happy
Not feeling ill, even if you are somehow living well
Just coming off looking happy
When I see everyone else’s face
Am I the only person that thinks this?

At the end of the day where there’s no reason to smile
If I lean back here for a moment,
will you hug me telling me not to give up?

Saying that today I did my best and treat me warmly
That it’s okay to lean on me and rest for a moment
I hope that you’re happy and doing well
That you’re happy and doing well
It’s like I’m saying that to you

Leave a Reply

