Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/19/16

I don’t watch a lot of music competition programs but it’s nice to see that one of the rappers I rooted for on Show Me the Money 4 pushing beyond his success on the show and producing music.  For InnoVator’s latest single, he collaborates with singer-songwriter eSNa and I have to admit that the track took me by surprise.  I think I was expecting more rap and less pop but it’s a very catchy tune.

As one of the writers and composers of the 2014 hit, “썸 (Some),” I have been following her for some time because she collaborates with a lot of artists that I listen to regularly.  However, I can’t quite get the spelling of her name correct.  Or rather which letters should be capitalized or not.  Even InnoVator has some unconventional spelling. However, she’s talented at the young age of 22 and with this new song, “I Remember,” they both seem to have a hit on their hands.

Another thing that took me by pleasant surprise (lots of surprises to discover in this track) were the song’s lyrics.  InnoVator and eSNa share their personal experiences that they’ve encountered with their significant others but it’s completely relatable and said in a witty way.  While the melody is upbeat, the song is actually about the aftermath of a breakup and holding on to the memories of the relationship.  The line “기억나 (ki-yeok-na)” is alternated with the English lyric, “I remember”.  They’re synonyms but the catchiness of two sayings together and the repetitiveness of it is a good hook that will have listeners following along.  The song is about remembering the good times and the fondness they once felt for each other.  They’d be totally up for giving the relationship another try but even if they don’t back, it’s enough to hold on to those good memories.

InnoVator – I Remember (feat. 에스나 (eSNa))

이노베이터(InnoVator) – I Remember (feat. 에스나(eSNa))

I Remember (feat. 에스나 (eSNa))

I remember 헤어지지 말자
약속한 그날들이
Yes I remember 그때 그랬었던
우리가 헤어진 날

I remember the day
우리가 둘이었을 때
I remember the day
싫어도 좋았을 때가
기억나
I remember
기억나
I remember
기억나
I remember
우리 둘이던 그때가

Yes I remember
한때 나의 엔젤
널 잊는다는 건
불가능하단 걸
깨달았어 나는 너의 fan boy
다른 여자 보려 노력해도 웬걸
친구들은 말해 이 정도면 연애 불구
여자들은 많지만 미지근한 불금
우리가 꿈꾸던 부부
한때는 하나였던 우리 둘

Summer time we fly to 부산
서면에서 할매 돼지국밥
주말 밤 심야영화
난 무표정 너는 울상
비수기에는 돈 모아
여행을 떠났지 America
세계 어디든 너와 떠나고 싶었어
But you know we can’t do that Again
너 떠오를 땐 비가 내리네

I remember 헤어지지 말자
약속한 그 날들이
Yes I remember 그때 그랬었던
우리가 헤어진 날

I remember the day
우리가 둘이었을 때
I remember the day
싫어도 좋았을 때가
기억나
I remember
기억나
I remember
기억나
I remember
우리 둘이던 그때가

꽁꽁 얼어버린 손 주머니 속
깍지 껴서 넣었지
봄 같던 겨울이라 난 그대를 본
그 때를 못 잊었지 아직
48-28번지 너의 집 너의 집 주소까지
전부 기억하는데 I’m not gonna forget it
이 노래가 들린다면
come back to me baby

A-yo I just wanna love
다시 내게 돌아온다면
Imma love you my 애기
아닥하고 들어줄게 너의 힘든 얘기
너의 손 잡고 어딜 가든 함께해
One day two day 아닌 게 우린데
나쁜 기억은 전부 지워
Don’t remember that
지금 이 느낌을 기억해
걱정 마 we gonna be ok
걱정 마 It’s okay

I remember the day
우리가 둘이었을 때
I remember the day
싫어도 좋았을 때가
기억나
I remember
기억나
I remember
기억나
I remember
우리 둘이던 그때가

When I walk down memory lane
너 떠오를 땐
비가 내리네

I Remember (feat. eSNa)

I remember, let’s not break up
The day that we made the promise
Yes I remember, that we did that back then
The day we broke up

I remember the day
When it was the two of us
I remember the day
Even though I hate it, when times were good
I remember
I remember
I remember
I remember
I remember
I remember
When it was the two of us, back then

Yes I remember
Once, my angel
Forgetting you
is impossible
I realized that I’m your fan boy
Though I try to meet other women, god no
Friends tell me that if it’s like this, it’s a dating handicap
There’s lot of women but can’t help feeling lukewarm
The married couple that we dreamt of
At one time, the two of us used to be one

Summer time we fly to Busan
In Seomyeon, the old lady’s pork rice soup
Late-night movies on weekend nights
I’m expressionless while you’re ready to cry
Save money in the off-season
Went on vacation, America
Wanted to go with you anywhere in the world
But you know we can’t do that Again
When you come to mind, rain falls

I remember, let’s not break up
The day that we made the promise
Yes I remember, that we did that back then
The day we broke up

I remember the day
When it was the two of us
I remember the day
Even though I hate it, when times were good
I remember
I remember
I remember
I remember
I remember
I remember
When it was the two of us, back then

Hands, frozen solid, slip them into my pocket
Put them in while linking our fingers
A Spring-like winter, you whom I met
I still couldn’t forget that time
48-28, your house, your house, even your address
I remember it all, I’m not gonna forget it
If you hear this song
come back to me baby

A-yo I just wanna love
If you come back to me again
Imma love you my baby
We’ll fight and I’ll listen to your hardships
Together, holding your hand no matter where we go
One day two day is not who we are
Erase all the bad memories
Don’t remember that
Remember this feeling
Don’t worry, we gonna be ok
Don’t worry, It’s okay

I remember the day
When it was the two of us
I remember the day
Even though I hate it, when times were good
I remember
I remember
I remember
I remember
I remember
I remember
When it was the two of us, back then

When I walk down memory lane
When you come to mind,
rain falls

Leave a Reply

