Jive Monkey Playlist: 2/26/16

I recently caught Kim Feel on a variety show recently and I fell in love with his voice. I know that he sang on the Answer Me 1988 OST by remaking Sanullim’s “청춘 (Youth).” I have to admit that I did not fall in love with the remake when I first heard it. The remake has such a vintage rock/folk sound that it felt dated, compared to the other remakes on the OST, and the lyrics and melody are quite somber. However, in the context of the drama, it works for the story as the story uses metaphors such as flowers wilting to relate the passing of time.

His latest mini album was released last summer and I guess I had overlooked the release of it in the midst of being obsessed with hip-hop due to Show Me the Money 4, Sistar’s “Shake It,” AOA and Big Bang. And to be completely honest, the album feels more suited for the Spring rather than the Summer, in my opinion. I think Kim Feel had expressed that he had bad luck with timing and therefore hasn’t risen very far in his career.  Sidenote: Is it just me or does he kinda resemble a tall Zion.T?

Therefore, I’m glad that he decided to go out on King of Masked Singers. First of all, I thought it was hilarious that Kim Gura insisted that Greasy Butterfly was KSJ who is great at whistling and owns a side dish store. He thought it was Actor Kang Sung Jin under the mask who has done musicals before and currently appearing in Jang Young Shil with Song Il Kook. Although Kim Feel had lost in the first round, I’ll note that this week’s competition was incredibly fierce. Before revealing his identity, he sang the solo song he had prepared which was “기억을 걷는 시간 (Time Spent Walking Through Memories)” by Nell. It was a very soulful rendition of the song and somewhat similar to Nell’s lead singer’s voice, Kim Jong Wan.

Of course, upon hearing his voice, I had to go seek out his last album, “Feel Free”. Unlike the folk-rock sound of “청춘 (Youth),” Kim Feel’s style is more alternative rock/pop. I immediately fell in love with his title track, “Stay With Me,” which is a cute love song. The lyrics and the melody aren’t that complex but it is very catchy.

김필(Kim Feel) – Stay With Me

Stay With Me

언제나 네 곁을 맴돌고 있어 난
모른 척 해봐도

날 보는 시선을 느낀 순간 난
좀 더 과감해져

I wanna stay
stay with you (내 맘에 빈자리로)

조금만 더 가까이

저기 저 하늘을 수 놓은 Starlight
너와 내 시작을 알리는 Start line
가까워진 우리 둘만의
Love story, please babe

Won’t you stay with me?
Won’t you, won’t you stay?

오늘도 내 맘을 흔들고 있어 넌
아닌 척 해봐도

뜨거운 시선을 느낀 순간 난
멈출 수 가 없어

I wanna stay
stay with you (네 맘에 빈자리로)

조금만 더 가까이

오늘 밤 하늘을 수 놓은 Starlight
너와 내 시작을 알리는 Start line

가까워진 우리 둘만의
Love story, please babe
Won’t you stay here with me?
Won’t you, won’t you stay?

I wanna stay
stay with you (네 맘에 빈자리로)

조금만 더 가까이

오늘 밤 하늘을 수 놓은 Starlight
너와 내 시작을 알리는 Start line

가까워진 우리 둘만의
Love story, please babe
Won’t you stay here with me?
Won’t you, won’t you stay?

Won’t you, won’t you stay?
Won’t you, won’t you stay?

I really want you
I really want you
Yes, I really want you
Oh, I really want you

Stay With Me

I’m always circling by your side
Though you pretend not to notice

The moment I feel your eyes on me
I become more bold

I wanna stay
stay with you (in the empty spaces of my heart)

A bit more closer

There, put in the sky, countless Starlight
Tell me of my start with you, Start line
Become closer, just the two of us, our
Love story, please babe

Won’t you stay with me?
Won’t you, won’t you stay?

Today, you sway my heart again
Even though you pretend not to

The moment I feel your intense stare, I
Can’t stay still

I wanna stay
stay with you (in the empty spaces of your heart)

A bit more closer

There, put in the sky, countless Starlight
Tell me of my start with you, Start line

Become closer, just the two of us, our
Love story, please babe
Won’t you stay here with me?
Won’t you, won’t you stay?

I wanna stay
stay with you (in the empty spaces of your heart)

A bit more closer

There, put in the sky, countless Starlight
Tell me of my start with you, Start line

Become closer, just the two of us, our
Love story, please babe
Won’t you stay here with me?
Won’t you, won’t you stay?

Won’t you, won’t you stay?
Won’t you, won’t you stay?

I really want you
I really want you
Yes, I really want you
Oh, I really want you

It’s worth listening to all the tracks on the album. “필요해 (Need Love)” starts off slow but it has somewhat of a Savage Garden vibe with its synth backing track. However, I decided that I wanted to feature “Pierrot (광대 (Pierrot (Clown))” instead as the song stands out in terms of how Kim Feel’s singing.

He starts out singing these phrases in his regular singing voice and yet they somehow the impact of the words feel like he’s whispering them. For the first half of the song, he depicts the central character’s loneliness and feelings of shame through his voice and the strumming of his guitar.

In the second half of the song, he sings in falsetto that seems to depict feelings of inconsolable sadness and desperation. You can certainly hear the anguish in his voice and it such a powerful track. Like “청춘 (Youth),” I’m not sure how many times I’ll be listening to this as the song does damper my mood but it’s a very soulful song that’s indicative of Kim Feel’s talent as an artist. It’s heartbreakingly beautiful.

Kim Feel – Pierrot (광대 (Pierrot (Clown))

김필(Kim Feel) – Pierrot (광대)

Pierrot (광대)

오늘도
넌 여기서
정말 괜찮은 건지

Just smile
어릿광대처럼
종일 웃음 지으며

갈 곳 잃은 눈동자
둘 곳 잃은 마음을 감추고

두꺼운 화장 뒤에
그 슬픔을 숨기고 사는 것

Please tell me why
미칠듯한 외로움

새파랗게 질려버린
어둠 속에 공간 속에
벗어나지 못한 날 구원해줘

거짓말
넌 거기서
정말 괜찮은 건지

Lost way
어린 아이처럼
안길 곳을 찾으며

무너지는 마음을
희미해진 꿈들을 잡으려

두꺼운 가면 뒤에
이 모든걸 감추고 사는 것

Please tell me why
미칠듯한 외로움

새파랗게 질려버린
어둠 속에 공간 속에
벗어나지 못한 날 구원해줘

Please tell me why
미칠듯한 외로움

새파랗게 질려버린
어둠 속에 공간 속에
벗어나지 못한 날 구원해줘

Pierrot (Clown)

Again today
Here, you are
Are you really okay?

Just smile
Like a spiritless clown
Grinning and bearing it all day long

Eyes that have lost its way
Hiding a heart that has nowhere to stay

Behind a thick layer of makeup
Living on, hiding that sadness

Please tell me why
A loneliness that seems crazy

Become lifeless
In the darkness, in that space
Can’t escape, please save me

Lies
There, you are
Are you really okay?

Lost way
Like a young child
Searching for a place to embrace

A crumbling heart
Hanging on to my hazy dreams

Behind a thick mask
Living on, hiding everything

Please tell me why
A loneliness that seems crazy

Become lifeless
In the darkness, in that space
Can’t escape, please save me

Please tell me why
A loneliness that seems crazy

Become lifeless
In the darkness, in that space
Can’t escape, please save me

Leave a Reply

