Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/11/16

I really like the girl group Mamamoo.  They can sing, they can rap.  They’re not only sexy but they don’t have qualms about being silly to pull off comedic routines.  Plus, their songs are pretty catchy.  I still randomly hum “Um Oh Ah Yeah.”

They recently came out with a new album, “Melting,” but I guess it was met with some controversy.  So much so that the music sites removed “1cm의 자존심 (1cm of Confidence)” and “I Miss You.”  I’m not entirely sure why “I Miss You” was removed from the music sites.  As for “1cm의 자존심 (1cm of Confidence),” I realize that it sounds very much like Eminem’s “The Real Slim Shady”.  I actually don’t think that it plagiarizes his song but as seen in the Robin Thicke and Pharrell case, some musicologists say that even borrowing the nuances of the artist could be grounds of plagiarism.  Anyways, I leave the criticisms to the individual listener but I’ll continue to play it on my playlist.

However, I decided to go with some tracks that showcase their talent.  Instead of being just a funky pop artist, surely this album shows that they can do other genres and be just as smooth and interesting.  That’s exactly what I love about “우리끼리 (Words Don’t Come Easy) (Between Us (Words Don’t Come Easy)).”  It may be smooth jazz but certainly the girls’ sultry singing makes it sound sexy.  Also, rather than describing emotions, the lyrics take advantage of illuminating all of your five senses.

Mamamoo – 우리끼리 (Words Don’t Come Easy) (Between Us (Words Don’t Come Easy))

마마무(Mamamoo) – 우리끼리 (Words Don’t Come Easy)

*난 이미 녹아있어 니 손에 – While the line literally translates as “I’ve already melted in your hands,” the English colloquial equivalent is “I’m putty in your hands” to reflect that you are malleable to someone else’s wishes.

**이성의 끈을 – While the word “이성” can mean rationality, its homonym means the opposite sex.  In that way, the line has dual meaning in that it could also translate as, “Don’t let go of the connection between the opposite sex.”

우리끼리 (Words Don’t Come Easy)

하필 그 말을 던져주네
그대는 어떻게 날 완벽히 이해 하니
내 마음이 자꾸만 녹아
(Bitter Sweet Honey) 상상도 못했는데
(Private party) 남겨진 우리
시작할게 안아줄 때 조금은 거칠어도 돼

너의 속삭임 Words Don’t Come Easy
손끝의 떨림 Words Don’t Come Easy
지금 이 느낌 Words Don’t Come Easy
Grabbing your body your body 우리끼리

눈을 감으면 Words Don’t Come Easy
뜨거워진 Touch Words Don’t Come Easy
표현하지 못하겠어 이 느낌
Grabbing your body your body 우리끼리

Catch me 안달이 나길 원해
그대는 달콤해 내 목을 마르게 하지
이 밤이 더 깊어져 가
(Bitter Sweet Honey) 상상도 못했는데
(Private Party) 남겨진 우리
시작할게 안아줄 때 생각을 앞질러도 돼

너의 속삭임 Words Don’t Come Easy
손끝의 떨림 Words Don’t Come Easy
지금 이 느낌 Words Don’t Come Easy
Grabbing your body your body 우리끼리

눈을 감으면 Words Don’t Come Easy
뜨거워진 Touch Words Don’t Come Easy
표현하지 못하겠어 이 느낌
Grabbing your body your body 우리끼리

넌 장난이 너무 심해
난 이미 녹아있어 니 손에*
춤을 추네 나비가 놀아나듯
달콤한 꿀 향기에
그대 원하는 말은 안해도 알잖아
이성의 끈을** 놓지는 마
멈추진 마 날 가지는 단 하나의 방법
This point Right?

너의 속삭임 Words Don’t Come Easy
손끝의 떨림 Words Don’t Come Easy
지금 이 느낌 Words Don’t Come Easy
Grabbing your body your body 우리끼리

눈을 감으면 Words Don’t Come Easy
뜨거워진 Touch Words Don’t Come Easy
표현하지 못하겠어 이 느낌
Grabbing your body your body 우리끼리

Between Us (Words Don’t Come Easy)

Of all things, you throw those words at me
How can you perfectly understand me?
My heart keeps melting
(Bitter Sweet Honey) Couldn’t imagine it
(Private party) Just us remaining
I’ll start, when I hug you, it’s okay if you’re a bit bristly

Your whispers, Words Don’t Come Easy
Tingly fingertips, Words Don’t Come Easy
Right now, this feeling, Words Don’t Come Easy
Grabbing your body your body, between us

When I close my eyes, Words Don’t Come Easy
Become hot, our Touch, Words Don’t Come Easy
Just can’t express it, this feeling
Grabbing your body your body, between us

Catch me, hope you’re chomping at the bit
You’re sweet, you make me thirsty
As we go deeper into tonight
(Bitter Sweet Honey) Couldn’t imagine it
(Private party) Just us remaining
I’ll start, when I hug you, it’s okay if you’re a bit bristly

Your whispers, Words Don’t Come Easy
Tingly fingertips, Words Don’t Come Easy
Right now, this feeling, Words Don’t Come Easy
Grabbing your body your body, between us

When I close my eyes, Words Don’t Come Easy
Become hot, our Touch, Words Don’t Come Easy
Just can’t express it, this feeling
Grabbing your body your body, between us

Your teasing is too much
I’ve already melted in your hand*
Dancing, like a butterfly fluttering around,
Sweet honey scent
Even if I don’t say the words you want, you know
Don’t let go of the string of rationality**
Don’t stop, there’s only one way to get me
This point, right?

Your whispers, Words Don’t Come Easy
Tingly fingertips, Words Don’t Come Easy
Right now, this feeling, Words Don’t Come Easy
Grabbing your body your body, between us

When I close my eyes, Words Don’t Come Easy
Become hot, our Touch, Words Don’t Come Easy
Just can’t express it, this feeling
Grabbing your body your body, between us

I had almost chosen to feature “금요일밤 (Feat. 정기고) (Friday Night (Feat. Jung GiGo))” but decided to go with “나만의 Recipe.” It’s not like the lyrics are remarkable. It’s about eating and feeding someone you love. But beyond that, I love that it sounds like that they are scatting. But unlike typical scatting, they’re using shortened version of Korean words, kind of like internet lingo.

It’s got that 1920’s jazz standard sound and I almost feel like you need to hear it in an underground speakeasy but when you hear the lyrics, it’s so innocent and adorable that I can’t help but smile. Not that I watch the show but I think it might even make a good theme song for the variety show, Please Take Care of My Refrigerator.

Mamamoo – 나만의 Recipe (My Own Recipe)

마마무(Mamamoo) – 나만의 Recipe

*뭐 먹 (moa muk) – It’s a shortened phrase for 뭐 먹어 (moa muk-uh) to mean what are you eating or what should we eat.

**개취 (gae chwi) – Another shortened phrase for 개인 취향 (gae-in chwi-hyang) meaning personal preference.

나만의 Recipe

오늘 뭐 먹*, 뭐 먹, 먹
오늘 뭐 먹, 뭐 먹,
먹 뭐 먹, 먹
오늘 뭐 먹, 뭐 먹, 먹

오늘 뭐 먹을까
햄 계란 참치 밥
섞어 섞어 섞어

오늘 내가 쉐프
냉장고를 부탁해
No more No more Recipe

오늘 뭐 먹지?
할 시간에 슈퍼에 가서
햄을 공수 해와
그럼 반은 성공

뭐 별거 있니?
오늘 컨셉 빈티지
미쳤단 소리 들릴 때까지
Shake Shake Scramble

이젠 뭘 넣지?
찬장 위에 참치
없는 집 없을 걸
Say I love Mommy

Are you ready?
대망의 햄 대기
만 등분 하고서 밥을 넣어
팅팅탱탱 프라이팬놀이

오늘 뭐 먹을까
햄 계란 참치 밥
섞어 섞어 섞어
오늘 내가 쉐프
냉장고를 부탁해
No more No more Recipe

오늘 뭐 먹, 뭐 먹,
먹, 뭐 먹, 먹
오늘 뭐 먹, 뭐 먹, 먹

일단 앞치마 두르고 (준비해)
식용유를 두른 후 (후라이팬)
잘 익은 김치를 먼저
볶아 볶아 볶아 볶아

밥 한 공기와 비밀의 소스 한 스푼
그 위 계란 후라이는 반숙 완숙?
그건 개취**

Spoon Spoon 딱 한 스푼
1 2 3 4 Step by Step

Sweet (Sweet) Sweet 마지막 두 스푼
너만을 위한 이건 나만의 Recipe

오늘 뭐 먹을까
김치볶음밥
볶아 볶아 볶아

오늘 내가 쉐프
냉장고를 부탁해
No more No more Recipe

Sugar Sugar Sugar Girl
No more No more Recipe
Sugar Sugar Sugar Girl
No more No more Recipe

식사 거르지 말아요 맛있게 잘 챙겨먹어요
아무 재료나 가져다 주면 내가 밥해줄게

오늘 뭐 먹을까
햄 계란 참치 밥
섞어 섞어 섞어

오늘 내가 쉐프
냉장고를 부탁해
No more No more Recipe

오늘 뭐 먹을까
김치볶음밥
볶아 볶아 볶아

오늘 내가 쉐프
냉장고를 부탁해
No more No more Recipe

My Own Recipe

Today, what to eat*, what to eat, eat
Today, what to eat, what to eat,
eat, what to eat, eat
Today, what to eat, what to eat, eat

Today, what shall we eat?
Ham, eggs, tuna rice
Mix, mix, mix

Today, I’m the chef
Please take care of my refrigerator
No more No more Recipe

What shall we eat today?
When you get around to it, go to the supermarket
Retrieve some ham
Then you’re halfway there

What is there to it?
Today’s concept, vintage
Until we hear that we’re crazy
Shake Shake Scramble

Now what do we put in?
Above the cupboard, tuna
There won’t be any home that won’t have it
Say I love Mommy

Are you ready?
The ham that you hoped for stands by
After dividing it into a million parts, put in rice
Ting-ting-tang-tang, playing with the frypan

What shall we eat today?
Ham, eggs, tuna rice
Mix, mix, mix
Today, I’m the chef
Please take care of my refrigerator
No more No more Recipe

Today, what to eat, what to eat,
eat, what to eat, eat
Today, what to eat, what to eat, eat

First, put on the apron (get ready)
After pouring in cooking oil (fry pan)
First put in the well-fermented kimchi
Stir-fry, stir-fry, stir-fry, stir-fry

A bowl of rice and one spoon of secret sauce
Place a fried egg on top, over-easy, totally fried?
That’s your personal preference**

Spoon Spoon, just one spoon
1 2 3 4 Step by Step

Sweet (Sweet) Sweet, the last two spoons
For you, this is my own recipe

What shall we eat today?
Kimchi fried rice
Stir-fry, stir-fry, stir-fry

Today, I’m the chef
Please take care of my refrigerator
No more No more Recipe

Sugar Sugar Sugar Girl
No more No more Recipe
Sugar Sugar Sugar Girl
No more No more Recipe

Don’t skip a meal, take care to eat deliciously
If you bring over any ingredients, I’ll make food

What shall we eat today?
Ham, eggs, tuna rice
Mix, mix, mix

Today, I’m the chef
Please take care of my refrigerator
No more No more Recipe

What shall we eat today?
Kimchi fried rice
Stir-fry, stir-fry, stir-fry

Today, I’m the chef
Please take care of my refrigerator
No more No more Recipe

Finally, I was just taken by the song, “Just,” at just the first listen. Ha. It’s simply a R&B track and it might be a track that some might overlook but the emotion in their voices grabbed my attention. It’s quite beautiful and I love it just for the simplicity of the song.

The song is about being cool after a breakup and admitting that you’ve let go.  However, as the song goes on, you see the cracks in the veneer.  Rather being okay with the situation, they are heartbroken over the loss.

Mamamoo – Just

마마무(Mamamoo) – Just

Just

정말 아무 것도 아닌 것처럼 생각해
Just like you
Hey Hey 난 그리운 게 아냐
불안하게 생각 말아요
가끔은 옛날 옷 입고 싶은 것처럼
아니 더 가볍게 Baby 그대가 궁금해
각자의 삶이 많이도 지나왔지

How are you? 잘 있었냐는 인사에
가득 차 있던 할말이 다 굳었어
Without you 고요했던 내 마음이
못된 너를 보며 흔들리네
I hate you

많이 힘들었다니 아닌데 It’s not true
매일 매일 난 정신 없게 지내
쓸데없는 걱정 말아요
가끔은 외로워지고 또 남들처럼
과거를 회상하듯이 그대가 궁금해
각자의 삶이 많이도 지나왔지

How are you? 잘 있었냐는 인사에
가득 차 있던 할말이 다 굳었어
Without you 고요했던 내 마음이
못된 너를 보며 흔들리네
I hate you

그만 얼마나 더 놀려야겠니
모른 척 걸어가
니가 있던 곳으로 떠나가

How are you? 잘 지내지 못했어
니가 그립고 잠도 들지 못했어
Without you 아무것도 아닌 채
그저 눈물 짓던 내 마음속엔
Only you

Just

Really, like it’s nothing, I think of you,
Just like you
Hey Hey, it’s not that I long for you
Don’t get anxious thinking about it
Occasionally it’s like when you want to wear old clothes
No, more heedlessly, Baby, I wonder about you
A lot of time has passed in our respective lives

How are you? Just a how are you greeting
Blocked by the many words we want to say
Without you, silent my heart
I waver seeing the no-good you
I hate you

It’s not that things were really tough, It’s not true
Every day, every day, I pass time busily
Don’t needlessly worry about me
Occasionally I feel lonely like other people
Like reminiscing the past, I wonder about you
A lot of time has passed in our respective lives

How are you? Just a how are you greeting
Blocked by the many words we want to say
Without you, silent my heart
I waver seeing the no-good you
I hate you

Stop, how much more can you tease me?
Walk on pretending not to notice
Go to where you are

How are you? I haven’t been well
I long for you and haven’t been able to sleep well
Without you, like nothing
Just moved to tears in my heart
Only you

Leave a Reply

