Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/18/16

I think it’s safe to say that it Spring finally feels like it’s here.  And it seems like there are all these sweet love songs.  These two female artists are both known for their unique alto voices.

Lee Hi just recently released her new mini album, “Seoulite.”  I have to admit that out of the Top 3 singers on the first season of K-Pop Star, she’s had the most hit songs with her single releases.  “손잡아 줘요 (Please Hold My Hand)” is one of the title songs on the album.  The lyrics aren’t very deep but more than just a frivolous, teenage love song, Lee Hi gives the song a lot of weight with her deep, emotional vocals.

However, she’s young and I like that the music video contrasts with her voice in that it has a young Instagram, game-like feel to it.  She also breaks the 4th wall by making you feel like you’re the one that’s reaching out to her to hold her hand.  It’s such a girly video with all that pink but the video ends with what looks like a mature sense of love as she passes the words from the hook.  Holding someone’s hand may seem like the first step in skinship but there’s so much more sentiment when she echoes the words “again,” over and over again.

이하이 – 손잡아 줘요

손잡아 줘요

Let me hold your hand
again and again and again
I want you to come back
I want you to love me again

나의 손을 잡던 그대의 손길이
얼마나 따뜻했는지 다시 알 수 있게

한 번만 더 손잡아 줘요
온기를 느끼게 해 줘요
바람이 불어서 차갑단 말이에요

Let me hold your hand
again and again and again
I want you to come back
I want you to love me again

나를 안아주던 그대의 품속이
얼마나 따뜻했는지 다시 알고 싶죠

마지막 그날 밤 작별 인사하고
돌아서서 서 있는데 차가운 눈물만

한 번만 더 날 안아줘요
사랑을 느끼게 해 줘요
마음이 비어서 차갑단 말이에요

Let me hold your hand
again and again and again
I want you to come back
I want you to love me again

I said 1, 2, 3 you
오늘도 한 발자국
돌아와 달라고

1, 2, 3 you
오늘도 한 발자국
4, 5, 6

Let me hold your hand
again and again and again
I want you to come back
I want you to love me again

그대 없인 너무 춥단 말이에요
그댄 참 따뜻했었단 말이에요
이대로 끝나면 난 안된단 말이에요

Let me hold your hand
again and again and again
I want you to come back
I want you to love me again

Please Hold My Hand

Let me hold your hand
again and again and again
I want you to come back
I want you to love me again

Grabbed my hand, your hand
How warm it was so that I could get to know you again

Please hold my hand, once more
Please let me feel the warmth
Because of the blowing wind, I’m telling you it’s cold

Let me hold your hand
again and again and again
I want you to come back
I want you to love me again

Your chest that has held me
How warm it was so I could get to know you again

On that last night, said our goodbyes and
Stood there turned around, just cold tears

Please hold me again, once more
Please let me feel your love
Because my heart is empty, I’m telling you it’s cold

Let me hold your hand
again and again and again
I want you to come back
I want you to love me again

I said 1, 2, 3 you
Today again, one footstep
I’m telling you to come back

1, 2, 3 you
Today again, one footstep
4, 5, 6

Let me hold your hand
again and again and again
I want you to come back
I want you to love me again

Without you, I’m telling you it’s very cold
I’m telling you that you were very warm
If we end this way, I’m telling you I won’t be able to

Let me hold your hand
again and again and again
I want you to come back
I want you to love me again

_____________________________________________________

AOA’s Jimin is another idol rapper/singer that has a unique voice.  She’s got an incredibly cute voice but it’s not high-pitched.  She’s kind of like an adorable cartoon character.

 

I realize that in the world of Korean Pop, the powers that be that decide what songs are deemed inappropriate for minors, will probably find the subject matter of this song as risqué.  However, rest assured, it’s PG and any suggestive scenarios is really left to the listener’s imagination.  Clearly, the video is very innocent.

And yet, the innocent quality to the video doesn’t turn me off.  I love that it’s the girl here that’s dictating the relationship.  He likes her but he’s the one that’s trying to remain composed.  It’s quite amusing to hear their back and forth because they clearly sound like kids.  Like mom and dad’s away, so want to come over?  Hint, hint.  That totally had me chuckling.

And I also love that Xiumin features on this track.  (And suddenly I have the urge to call them the Min-Min couple.) He’s got an innocent, sweet boy image and I think he’s now my favorite EXO member.  Really, there are too many members for me to remember them all and I didn’t even notice when my cousin sent me lotion from Korea that features his cartoon character on the box.  Isn’t he adorbs?

Anyways, I digress.  But the cutest thing about this song is the music video.  Similar to Lee Hi’s video, this one also references social media elements to it.  It’s brilliant how through all of their back and forth, they depict the flurry of teenage emotions through emoticons that are standing around in the background.  It’s a very cheesy song and video but somehow taking the teenage romance stereotype and poking fun at it makes it cute and enjoyable at the same time.  Now, I want my own teenage romance.  Hee hee.

지민 (AOA) – 야 하고 싶어 (Feat. 시우민 of EXO)

*삐뽀삐뽀 (Bbee bbo bbee bbo) – the onomatopoeia for the sound of an ambulance.  I suppose the English equivalent would be “Eee ooo eee ooo”.

**Q – I’m not sure why the letter “Q” was used in the lyrics.  Maybe they wanted to be cool but the actual English word is “cue,” as in sing on cue.

야 하고 싶어 (feat. 시우민 Of EXO)

Baby I’m pretty young and wild and so fine
그냥 야 하면 안될까 너와 나
같이 걷기가 어색한 이 거리가
점점 좁혀질 수 있을까
You are taller than I am
보기에는 내가 애
왜 왜 12시전에 집에 가라 해

엄마 아빠 여행 갔는데
지금 나 배고파
오빠 치킨 먹고 갈래?

너는 오빠한테 자꾸 이럴 거야?
예의 없어 보여도 난 니가 좋아 baby
앞으로는 오빠 말고 야 할 거야
아 몰라 야! 하! 고! 싶! 어!

너 오늘 왜 이래
왜 이래 설레이게
평소랑 다른 것 같은데
오늘따라 더 예뻐 보이네

너 진짜 왜 이래
왜 이래 my baby
심장이 막 터질 것만 같은데
그렇게 웃기까지 하면 어떡해

가까이 앉아봐
뭐 어때 괜찮아
숨길 수 없잖아
나 니가 더 알고 싶어

지금인 것 같아
분위기 괜찮아
둘밖에 없잖아
네게 입 맞추고 싶어

비상사태 삐뽀삐뽀*
오빠 왔다 띵동
두근두근거리니까 심호흡
꾸민 듯 안 꾸민 너의 모습
난 그게 너무 좋아 터져버린 웃음

삐까뻔쩍 광나 가까이 밀착
비누향기가 코끝이 뭉실뭉실
구름 위를 걷는듯한 기분
비상사태 삐뽀* 에라 모르겠다 뽀뽀

너는 오빠한테 자꾸 이럴 거야?
조금 서툴러 보여도 니가 좋아 baby
앞으로는 오빠 말고 야 할거야
아 몰라 야! 하! 고! 싶! 어!

너 오늘 왜 이래
왜 이래 설레이게
평소랑 다른 것 같은데
오늘따라 더 예뻐 보이네

너 진짜 왜 이래
왜 이래 my baby
심장이 막 터질 것만 같은데
그렇게 웃기까지 하면 어떡해

가까이 앉아봐
뭐 어때 괜찮아
숨길 수 없잖아
나 니가 더 알고 싶어

지금인 것 같아
분위기 괜찮아
둘밖에 없잖아
네게 입 맞추고 싶어

이제 눈뜨자마자 너 생각
나는 잠들기 전 까지 오빠 생각
이제 배고플 때마다 너 생각
우리 오빠 노래 Q**

너 오늘 왜 이래
왜 이래 설레이게
평소랑 다른 것 같은데
오늘따라 더 예뻐 보이네

너 진짜 왜 이래
왜 이래 my baby
심장이 막 터질 것만 같은데
그렇게 웃기까지 하면 어떡해

가까이 앉아봐
뭐 어때 괜찮아
숨길 수 없잖아
나 니가 더 알고 싶어

지금인 것 같아
분위기 괜찮아
둘밖에 없잖아
네게 입 맞추고 싶어

I Want to Be Racy (feat. Xiumin Of EXO)

Baby I’m pretty young and wild and so fine
Can’t I just be racy, you and I
It’s awkward to walk together, this street
How can it get more and more narrow?
You are taller than I am
It looks like I’m a kid,
Why, why are you trying to go home before 12?

Mom and dad went on vacation
I’m hungry now
Oppa, do you want to have some chicken before you go?

Are you gonna keep doing this to me?
Though it seems discourteous, I like you baby
Moving forward, gonna be racy to everyone but you, oppa
Ah forget it, I! Want! To! Be! Racy!

Why are you acting this way today?
Why are you making me so nervous?
Seems you’re different from how you normally are
Today of all days you seem more beautiful

Really, why are you acting like this?
Why are you, my baby?
My heart feels like it’s about to burst
And what am I supposed to do if you smile like that?

Sit closer
What’s wrong? It’s alright
Can’t hide it
I want to get to know you more

Seems like the moment is now
The mood is right
There’s no one but the two of us
Want to kiss your lips

Emergency, bbee bbo bbee bbo
Oppa’s here, ding dong
Because my heart’s pounding, deep breaths
Somewhat made-up, not made-up, your image
I really like that, your burst-out laughter

Shiny gloss, close contact
The scent of soap at the tip of my nose, soft soft
Feels like I’m walking on clouds
Emergency, bbee bbo, eeh forget it, kiss

Are you gonna keep doing that to oppa?
Though I seem inexperienced, I like you baby
Moving forward, gonna be racy to everyone but you, oppa
Ah forget it, I! Want! To! Be! Racy!

Why are you acting this way today?
Why are you making me so nervous?
Seems you’re different from how you normally are
Today of all days you seem more beautiful

Really, why are you acting like this?
Why are you, my baby?
My heart feels like it’s about to burst
And what am I supposed to do if you smile like that?

Sit closer
What’s wrong? It’s alright
Can’t hide it
I want to get to know you more

Seems like the moment is now
The mood is right
There’s no one but the two of us
Want to kiss your lips

Now, as soon as I open my eyes, I think of you
Before I go to sleep, thoughts of you, oppa
Now, whenever I’m hungry, think of you
Our oppa’s song, Q**

Why are you acting this way today?
Why are you making me so nervous?
Seems you’re different from how you normally are
Today of all days you seem more beautiful

Really, why are you acting like this?
Why are you, my baby?
My heart feels like it’s about to burst
And what am I supposed to do if you smile like that?

Sit closer
What’s wrong? It’s alright
Can’t hide it
I want to get to know you more

Seems like the moment is now
The mood is right
There’s no one but the two of us
Want to kiss your lips

Leave a Reply

