Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/25/16

There are a lot of people that are prejudiced against K-Pop music beyond the fact that they may not understand the language.  Sure, it can sound too poppy.  It’s too electronic.  What’s with the costumes? However, K-Pop is often used to generalize the music of all of Korea, regardless of genre.  Just to put the shoe on the other foot, a few weeks back when Miljenko Matijevic from the rock band Steelheart was on King of Masked Singers, one of the first songs he sang was Radiohead’s “Creep”.  They called it a pop song and in my head I was thinking, ‘This isn’t a pop song.  It’s alt-rock.’  The fact is that they were just calling it pop because it was a popular Western song, hence “Pop”. I think the same thing happens when people refer to “K-Pop”.  Because of that label, even many of my Korean-American friends were biased about listening to Korean music and I made them change their minds with this band.

In the mid-90’s wave of the colorful and poppy number one hits that were making their way to the top of the charts, Juju Club was a band that embraced a different song.  Their sound was more like The Cranberries which was popular during the 90’s grunge era.  I’ve covered Juju Club before but it’s worth bringing up this band again because they were so unique.

That’s why I’m so glad that the show, Sugar Man, brought this band back to the stage in this week’s episode even though they could only get the main vocalist, Joo Da In (Real Name: Kim Soo Min).  I had been wanting them to make an appearance for quite some time now.

It’s like Joo Da In’s voice hadn’t change a bit in 20 years.  I’m amused that they made fun of the “떼떼 (ddeh ddeh)” part of the song because it sounds like the word “때 (ddae)” which translates as the dead skin cells you scrub during bath time.  I never listened to this song and made that connection.  Rather, I thought it was just a random song to go along with the beat but I guess there was a comedian who made a joke and the rest is history.

The thing that’s brilliant about these lyrics is that it’s about breaking up but she’s nonchalant about the experience.  Rather than being angry or upset, she wants to hold on to the warm memories and remain friends with her exes.  On the flip side, she doesn’t understand why people want to hide their past or not talk about their exes and feel lonely that she can’t share the good moments in her lifetime.  It’s quite a nice, liberating thought, isn’t it?

JuJu Club – 나는 나

나는 나

떼떼떼떼 뗴떼떼떼
떼떼떼떼 떼떼 떼~

왜 내가 아는 저 많은 사람은
사랑의 과걸 잊는걸까
좋았었던 일도 많았을텐데
감추려 하는 이유는 뭘까 이유가

난 항상 내 과거를 밝혀 왔는데
그게 싫어
떠난 사람도 있어
그런 사람들도 내 기억 속엔
좋은 느낌으로 남아 있어 언제나

아~아 난 누구에게도
말할 수 있어 내 경험에 대해
내가 사랑을 했던 모든 사람들을 사랑해
언제까지나..

떼떼떼떼 뗴떼떼떼
떼떼떼떼 떼떼 떼~

왜 내가 아는 저 많은 사람은
사랑의 과걸 잊는걸까
좋았었던 일도 많았을텐데
감추려 하는 이유는 뭘까

아~아 난 누구에게도
말할 수 있어 내 경험에 대해
내가 사랑을 했던 모든 사람들을 사랑해
오 언제 까지나..

아~아 난 누구에게도
말할 수 있어 내 경험에 대해
내가 사랑을 했던 모든 사람들을 사랑해
오 언제까지나..

떼떼떼떼 뗴떼떼떼
떼떼떼떼 떼떼 떼~
떼떼떼떼 뗴떼떼떼
떼떼떼떼 떼떼 떼~

아~아 난 누구에게도
말할 수 있어 내 경험에 대해
내가 사랑을 했던 모든 사람들을 사랑해
오 언제 까지나..

떼떼떼떼 뗴떼떼떼
떼떼떼떼 떼떼 떼~

I Am Me

Ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh
Ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh~

Why do the many people I know
Forget their past love relationships
There are also good things that’ve happened
What’s the reason for hiding it? The reason is

I’ve always revealed my past
Because they didn’t like it,
there are also people that left
Those people, even in my memories
Remain with good feelings, always

Ah~ ah, there’s no person that I
Can speak to, about my experience
Every person I loved, I love
Always…

Ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh
Ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh~

Why do the many people I know
Forget their past love relationships
There are also good things that’ve happened
What’s the reason for hiding it?

Ah~ ah, there’s no person that I
Can speak to, about my experience
Every person I loved, I love
Oh, always…

Ah~ ah, there’s no person that I
Can speak to, about my experience
Every person I loved, I love
Oh, always…

Ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh
Ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh~
Ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh
Ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh~

Ah~ ah, there’s no person that I
Can speak to, about my experience
Every person I loved, I love
Oh, always…

Ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh
Ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh ddeh~

Because I had loved the original track, I was very nervous when I heard that Rose Motel would be covering the 2016 version. I got even more nervous when they said that they were going folk. The original track has such a unique sound and in my ear, the song is perfect, just the way it is, that I couldn’t imagine that folk would do it justice.

I was wrong.  The song is certainly different but there’s a lovely Spring-like tenderness to it.  I think what makes the song lovely is the fact that Kang Joon Woo opens up the song with his sweet, melodious voice.  When I (and most people) think of Rose Motel, they probably think of Yook Joong Wan first but Kang Joon Woo is also one of the lead singers and if you haven’t heard his solo voice, you should watch him on King of the Masked Singers, whose episode also aired this week.

The song is quite sweet and then it swells up into this tidal wave of emotion.  And because of the folk genre, it does have that reminiscing quality to it.  It feels more like a love song that you’d never guess it was about a breakup.  I guess it is a love song of sorts as they still feel love for their ex and the great times they shared.

장미여관 – 나는 나 (Live Ver.)

나는 나 (Live Ver.)

왜 내가 아는 저 많은 사람은
사랑의 과걸 잊는 걸까
좋았었던 일도 많았을 텐데
감추려 하는 이유는 뭘까
이유가 이유가

난 항상 내 과걸 밝혀 왔는데
그게 싫어
떠난 사람도 있어
그런 사람들도 내 기억 속엔
좋은 느낌으로 남아있어 언제나

아하하하 난 누구에게도
말할 수 있어 내 경험에 대해
내가 사랑을 했던 모든 사람들을
사랑해 (사랑해)
오 언제까지나

왜 내가 아는 저 많은 사람은
사랑의 과걸 잊는 걸까
좋았었던 일도 많았을 텐데
감추려 하는 이유는 뭘까
이유는 뭘까 이유는 뭘까

아하하하 난 누구에게도
말할 수 있어 내 경험에 대해
내가 사랑을 했던 모든 사람들을
사랑해 (사랑해)
오 언제까지나

아하하하 난 누구에게도
말할 수 있어 내 경험에 대해
내가 사랑을 했던 모든 사람들을
사랑해 (사랑해)
사랑해 널 사랑해

아하하하 난 누구에게도
말할 수 있어 내 경험에 대해
내가 사랑을 했던 모든 사람들을
사랑해
오 언제까지나

뜨뜨뜨뜨뜨뜨
뜨뜨뜨뜨
뜨뜨뜨뜨뜨
뜨뜨뜨뜨뜨뜨
뜨뜨뜨뜨
뜨뜨뜨뜨뜨

I Am Me (Live Ver.)

Why do the many people I know
Forget their past love relationships
There are also good things that’ve happened
What’s the reason for hiding it?
The reason is, the reason is

I’ve always revealed my past
Because they didn’t like it,
there are also people that left
Those people, even in my memories
Remain with good feelings, always

Ah ha ha ha, there’s no person that I
Can speak to, about my experience
Every person I loved,
I love (I love)
Oh, always

Why do the many people I know
Forget their past love relationships
There are also good things that’ve happened
What’s the reason for hiding it?
What’s the reason? What’s the reason?

Ah ha ha ha, there’s no person that I
Can speak to, about my experience
Every person I loved,
I love (I love)
Oh, always

Ah ha ha ha, there’s no person that I
Can speak to, about my experience
Every person I loved,
I love (I love)
I love, I love you

Ah ha ha ha, there’s no person that I
Can speak to, about my experience
Every person I loved,
I love
Oh, always

Ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu
ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu
ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu
Ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu
ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu
ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu ddeu

2 thoughts on “Jive Monkey Playlist: 3/25/16

    • It looks like the last album Juju Club put out was in 2002, which was a best hits album. Before that there’s their 5th album, “So I Say: Judain” in 2001. As a solo artists, Ju Da In put out a number of OST tracks for drama but her last album was a Christmas single album 2008. I haven’t really heard their music since they put out their first two albums but their first album is still noted as their best album.

      Like

Leave a Reply

