Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/1/16

Happy April Fools’ Day!  Despite being known for being on variety shows and doing interviews with Hollywood, I’ve been eagerly waiting for Eric Nam to release another album as he is a talented singer.  This is no joke.  We finally got a mini album titled, “INTERVIEW”.

Well, the title of the album seems very fitting as many people know him as someone who does interview Hollywood celebrities for Korean entertainment shows.  However, I know that he also wants to be recognized as a singer as that’s pretty much why he chose this direction for his life.

However, before I get into the album, I just want to pay him a compliment because he does such a great job in spreading Hallyu, whether it’s crooning with Jamie Foxx or being BFF’s with Chloe Moretz.  (Sidenote: Rather than being a Swifty, nothing against T-Swift as I do like her as well, but I’d rather be part of the Chloe Moretz and Eric Nam train.  I shall leave it all to you to come up with a suitable nickname.)

Having said that, I loved the self-titled, first track of the album, “Interview”.  I mean, I really hate first dates because they feel like an interview.  What do you do?  Where do you go to have fun?  Ugh, it can be just so dull, tedious and artificial, most of the time.  However, in Eric Nam’s world, it seems sweet and fun.  The thing that he points out about interviewing in general is that when you are the interviewer, you need to have consideration for the person that you want a reply back from.  That’s also true of relationships, especially for ones that are just starting out.

에릭남 – Interview

Interview

Hey girl, hello
오늘 기분 어때요
이렇게 만나게
돼서 난 좀 설레요
우선 먼저 편하게 앉으면 돼요
Sit back girl relax girl

긴장할 필요 없죠
나와 함께라면
이제 시작해 볼까요

So what’s your name girl
(그댈 더) 알고 싶죠
자연스런 척해도 아닌 척해도
사실 준비 많이 해왔죠
You look so fine girl
(그대도) 알고 있죠
자연스런 척해도 아닌 척해도
사실 그대가 난 좋은걸요

Let’s start the interview

Hey girl, 묻고 싶은 게
너무 많은걸요
사실 그대의 모든 게 다
궁금해요
우선 먼저 우리 눈 맞춰볼까요
Oh gosh girl, so beautiful

표현할 말이 없죠
어떻게 할까요
그렇게 웃는 거 참 예뻐요

So what’s your name girl
(그댈 더) 알고 싶죠
자연스런 척해도 아닌 척해도
사실 준비 많이 해왔죠
You look so fine girl
(그대도) 알고 있죠
자연스런 척해도 아닌 척해도
사실 그대가 난 좋은걸요

실례가 아니었다면 (좋을 텐데)
불편하지 않았다면 (좋을 텐데)

이런 내가 싫지 않다면
내가 궁금하다면
Oh baby let me ask you
some questions

So what’s your name girl
(그댈 더) 알고 싶죠
자연스런 척해도 아닌 척해도
사실 준비 많이 해왔죠
You look so fine girl
(그대도) 알고 있죠
자연스런 척해도 아닌 척해도
사실 그대가 난

So what’s your name girl
(그댈 더) 알고 싶죠
자연스런 척해도 아닌 척해도
사실 준비 많이 해왔죠
You look so fine girl
(그대도) 알고 있죠
자연스런 척해도 아닌 척해도
사실 그대가 난 좋은걸요
Let’s start the interview

Interview

Hey girl, hello
How are you feeling today?
To meet like this
I’m a bit excited
First, you just need to sit comfortably
Sit back girl relax girl

You don’t need to be nervous
If you’re with me
Now, shall we start?

So what’s your name girl
(More of you) I want to know
Though I try to be natural, though I pretend I’m not
Truthfully, I prepared a lot
You look so fine girl
(You too) know it too, right?
Though you try to be natural, though you pretend you’re not
Truthfully, you like me

Let’s start the interview

Hey girl, the thing I want to ask
There’s so much
Truthfully, everything about you
I’m curious
First, let’s let our eyes meet
Oh gosh girl, so beautiful

There are no words that express it
What should I do?
It’s pretty when you laugh like that

So what’s your name girl
(More of you) I want to know
Though I try to be natural, though I pretend I’m not
Truthfully, I prepared a lot
You look so fine girl
(You too) know it too, right?
Though you try to be natural, though you pretend you’re not
Truthfully, you like me

If it’s not too much of an imposition (you’d like it)
If you’re not too uncomfortable (you’d like it)

If you don’t dislike a person like me
If I’m curious
Oh baby let me ask you
some questions

So what’s your name girl
(More of you) I want to know
Though I try to be natural, though I pretend I’m not
Truthfully, I prepared a lot
You look so fine girl
(You too) know it too, right?
Though you try to be natural, though you pretend you’re not
Truthfully, you like me

So what’s your name girl
(More of you) I want to know
Though I try to be natural, though I pretend I’m not
Truthfully, I prepared a lot
You look so fine girl
(You too) know it too, right?
Though you try to be natural, though you pretend you’re not
Truthfully, you like me
Let’s start the interview

As great as a first date can be, sometimes the relationship doesn’t end up working out. “No Comment” seems like a fitting bookending to the interview keyword of the album. Brother Su, who produced “Interview”, viewed the keyword with feelings of excitement. On the other hand, MELODESIGN took a sad turn with the hurt that can extend from a broken relationship. The chorus is a bit high and Eric Nam has to kind strain it so that the pain of the situation is palpable.

The lyrics are also pretty sad in and of itself in that you just want to understand why things didn’t work.  Only to hear the response, ‘No Comment.’  It’s like a hit in the gut when those words hit you.

Eric Nam – No Comment

에릭남 – No Comment

No Comment

지금부터 그대와
인터뷰를 시작해요
약속 하나 해줘요
솔직하게 말해주기

언제였나요
그대 맘이 떠난 건
몇 달 전에 심하게
다퉜던 그날이었나요

아님 딴 사람이
맘에 들어왔나요 혹시
미안해요 내가
곤란한 질문만 하네요
답을 알면서도

마지막으로 내게 할말은 없나요
이제 곧 끝날 인터뷰
가끔씩은 그대 안부
물어볼 사이도 될 순 없나요
내가 가진 질문지엔
아직 묻지 못한 얘기들만

나를 보고 말해줘요, 시간이 없죠
마지막으로 다시 묻고 물어봐도
결국 돌아오는 대답은
No comment

난 아니었나요
뻔한 대답이라도
난 듣고 싶어요 제발
미안해요 마치 나쁜 사람처럼
그대를 만들고 있나요

마지막으로 내게 할말은 없나요
이제 곧 끝날 인터뷰
가끔씩은 그대 안부
물어볼 사이도 될 순 없나요
내가 가진 질문지엔
아직 묻지 못한 얘기들만

오늘 마저 그댄 너무 예뻐요
이젠 울지 말아요
그댈 놓지 못하는
날 위해

마지막으로 내게 물어봐 줄래요
정말 사랑했었냐고
전부 진심이었냐고
(물어볼 이유도 이젠 없나요) 없나요
하지 못한 얘기들이
아직 내겐 많이 남았는데

단 한 번만 나를 봐요, 사랑했잖아
마지막으로 다시 묻고 물어봐도
날 더 아프게 하는 대답
No comment

No Comment

From now on, with you
I’ll start the interview
Promise me one thing
Tell me honestly

When was it?
When your feelings went away
A few months ago, when we intensely
fought, was it that day?

If not, did another person
come into your heart, perhaps?
Sorry, I’m
asking a tough question
Even though I know the answer

Lastly, do you have anything to say to me?
Now, it’s an interview that’s about to end
Occasionally, asking how you are
Is that not something that we can do?
On the questionnaire that I have
There are things that I still can’t ask

Look at me and tell me, there’s no time
Lastly, even if I ask and ask again
Eventually the reply that comes back
No comment

Was it just not me?
Even if it’s an obvious response
I want to hear it, please
I’m sorry, like a bad person,
is that what I’m making you out to be?

Lastly, do you have anything to say to me?
Now, it’s an interview that’s about to end
Occasionally, asking how you are
Is that not something that we can do?
On the questionnaire that I have
There are things that I still can’t ask

Today, you are very pretty as well
Don’t cry now
for the fact that I can’t leave you
For my benefit

Lastly, will you ask me?
If you really loved me
If it was in all honesty
(Is there no reason to ask now?) Are there none?
The words that I couldn’t say
There’s still a lot remaining

Just look at me once, we were in love
Lastly, as I ask and ask again
The reply that makes me hurt some more
No comment

Leave a Reply

