Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/8/16

Every time I do a playlist post, I try to find a common theme running through the featured songs and/or artists.  Yes, I realize that I use the theme of relationships, whether it’s about the good or bad, over and over again.  What can I say?  There are a lot of songs written about love.  This week is no different but I find the songs below incredibly catchy and worthy of grooving to.  As the songs below show, relationships are tough but you can make lemonade out of lemons or see some blood.  Blooood.

I’ve been watching Day 6 for a few months now and I liked their last title song, “Congratulations”.  It was the fact that they were a band that captured my attention.  Day 6 is made up of 5 members, originally there were 6, and some of the members were featured on various music competition programs.

There are a number of tracks that’s enjoyable on their mini album but I have to admit that “Blood” caught my attention first with its Euro pop beat.  However, the title and the lyrics took me off guard at first.  The word “Blood” is such an intense word and it is repeated over and over again.  However, I see that it’s used as metaphor to reflect the color of blood and how it relates to when a couple fight over whatever issues they might face.  I certainly hope that the word doesn’t reflect physical abuse and I’m willing to believe that it is just a metaphor.  The song reflects how even though you love someone and try to make them happy, the relationship isn’t always smooth sailing.  Just like the end of a romcom when our OTP gets together, doesn’t mean that all of the hardships are behind them.  The melody itself is emo but catchy.

Day 6 – Blood

DAY6(데이식스) – Blood

Blood

너랑 같이 있을 땐
말 한 마디마다
조심해봐도
혹시라도 한 마디
걸리면 바로
올라가 니 목소리
점점 거칠어지는
말투와 숨소리 다
붉어진 얼굴이
왜 싫진 않은 건지
나도 몰라 (I don’t know) Baby
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
피를 봐야만 만족하는 너
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
다 죽어가면서도 I like this
Said I like it babe
쓰러질 때까지
물고 늘어져 넌
내 심장을 가진
Oh Baby gotta see blood
너랑 같이 없을 때도
문자 하나마저
조심해봐도
혹시라도 한 문장
걸리면 바로
시작되는 잔소리
점점 거칠어지는
말투와 숨소리 다
지금 이 순간이
왜 싫진 않은 건지
나도 몰라 (I don’t know) Baby
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
피를 봐야만 만족하는 너
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
다 죽어가면서도 I like this
321 Fight 넌 바로 목덜미를 Bite
놔줄 생각은 없어 눈을 부릅뜨고서
밤새 함께 Turn it up all night
일분일초가 지날수록
피말리고 피빨려
휘말리고 기빨려
불금이든 아니든 달려
못 말려 니 고집은 히말라야
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
피를 봐야만 만족하는 너
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
다 죽어가면서도 I like this
쓰러질 때까지
물고 늘어져 넌
내 심장을 가진
Baby u got to see blood
Baby u got to see blood
u got to see blood
u got to see blood

Blood

When I’m with you
With every word
Though I try to be careful
Even if one word
If you’re hung up on it, immediately
Your voice goes up
Bit by bit becoming harsher
Your words and your breathing, all of it
Your face, red with anger
Why is it that I don’t hate it?
I don’t even know (I don’t know) Baby
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
Only satisfied when you see blood
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
Even though I’m dying, I like this
Said I like it babe
Until I faint
Bite down and stretch it out, you
Got my heart
Oh Baby gotta see blood
When I’m not with you
Even with one text
Though I try to be careful
Even if one sentence
If you’re hung up on it, immediately
Starting, your nagging
Bit by bit becoming harsher
Your words and your breathing, all of it
Right now, this moment
Why is it that I don’t hate it?
I don’t even know (I don’t know) Baby
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
Only satisfied when you see blood
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
Even though I’m dying, I like this
321 Fight, immediately at the back of my neck, you Bite
Have no intention of letting go, with your glaring eyes
All night together, Turn it up all night
One minute, one second, as it passes
Drain and suck blood
Embroiled and suck up the energy
Whether it’s prohibited or not, run
Can’t stop it, your stubbornness is like the Himalayas
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
Only satisfied when you see blood
Oh U gotta see blood girl
U gotta see blood girl
Even though I’m dying, I like this
Until I faint
Bite down and stretch it out, you
Got my heart
Baby u got to see blood
Baby u got to see blood
u got to see blood
u got to see blood

_____________________________________________________

I heard this song after the Grammy’s but I wanted to wait until I heard the rest of her album to figure out which song I wanted to choose from it.  Alas, you gotta go with your gut.  Last time, I featured her, she was singing about her breakup with her husband, Gavin Rossdale.  However, what’s not to love about the fact that after the hurt, your heart is open to finding love again.  Namely, Blake Shelton.

Unlike other songs about falling in love, I like that in the song, she starts unsure about herself.  She was broken but she’s living through that pain.  And yet, I guess meeting him has made her think twice about resigning herself to being sad.  And the best part of this song is that she shot the music video live during the commercial break for the Grammy’s.  It’s actually an ad for Target but it was all done with one take, going from set to set, having costume changes, including donning on a pair of roller skates.  Who’s up for heading to the roller derby?

By the way, the blonde chick who falls during the music video is actually a stunt double.  She was giving Gwen enough time to get into that red dress at the end of the video.  And yet, I think the fall is quite perfect for the song because she falls during the line, “Now you got me missing you”.  To me, and perhaps I’m reading too much into this, but it’s kind of like she’s saying, ‘I had a handle on my life until I met you.  Now you’re tripping me up by making me miss you.’  Now, that’s a happy accident.

Gwen Stefani – Make Me Like You

Make Me Like You

I was fine before I met you
I was broken but fine
I was lost and uncertain
But my heart was still mine
I was free before I met you
I was broken but free
All alone in the clear view, but now you are all I see

Hey, wait a minute
No, you can’t do this to me
Hey, wait a minute
No, that’s not fair
Hey, wait a minute
You’re on me like jewelry
I really like you, but I’m so scared

Why’d you have to go and make me like you?
Yeah this is a feeling I’m not used to
Why’d you have to go and make me like you?
I’m so mad at you cause now you got me missing you
Cause now you got me missing you

Something I could get used to
I could get used to this
It’s getting harder to leave it
Your lips on my lips
Oh, I can’t believe it
How good it could be
Didn’t wanna believe it, but now you are all I see

Hey, wait a minute
No, you can’t do this to me
Hey, wait a minute
No, that’s not fair
Hey, wait a minute
You’re on me like jewelry
I really like you, but I’m so scared

Why’d you have to go and make me like you?
Yeah this is a feeling I’m not used to
Why’d you have to go and make me like you?
I’m so mad at you cause now you got me missing you
[x2]

Oh God, thank God that I found you
Oh God, cause now you got me missing you
Oh God, thank God that I found you
I’m so mad at you cause now you got me missing you
Thank God
Thank God that I found you, oh
Now you got me missing you
Now you got me missing you

Why’d you have to go and make me like you?
Yeah this is a feeling I’m not used to
Why’d you have to go and make me like you?
I’m so mad at you cause now you got me missing you
Cause now you got me missing you
[x2]

Oh God, thank God that I found you
Oh God, cause now you got me missing you
Oh God, thank God that I found you
I’m so mad at you cause now you got me missing you

Leave a Reply

