Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/15/16

Perhaps it’s the birds and the bees.  Perhaps it’s finally feeling like the chill in the air is gone.  However, I can’t help but smile at the relationships reflected in these jazzy numbers, whether they are love relationships or relationships, in general.

I’ve been listening to indie artist, Coffee Boy, for a few years now and I have to admit that he is an artist that not everyone is gonna love.  His style is very minimalist and at times, I think his music can sound repetitively similar.   However, I love this bossa nova-esque jazz number.  “롱디 (Long Distance)” is so mellow but sweet and happy aided by Hello Ga Young’s delicate voice.

When it comes to songs about long-distance relationships, you’d expect the melody and lyrics to be sad.  The fact that the two are apart creates longing and hardships.  However, this song captures the feeling when you reunite with the one that you love.

I have to confess that it took me awhile to get what “롱디” (pronounced Rong-Dee) meant.  I even had to look it up in the dictionary only to get an error message.  I suppose if I sat down and read the lyrics carefully, it would have come to me sooner but I was just slow in comprehending it.  Koreans shortened so many phrases that you don’t know if it’s a Korean word that’s shortened or if it was taken from another language.

The lyrics of the song are especially cute because it describes some very typical couple scenes.  However, I love that he compares his enthusiasm like a happy dog eagerly running up to his owner at the sight of her or how they are so in step with one another that it almost seems like they are dancing.  I even love how they tell each other that the world might wear them down but as soon as they hug each other, all of that pain just melts away.  The metaphors are quite swoonworthy.

Coffee Boy – 롱디 (Feat. 안녕하신가영) (Long Distance (Feat. Hello Ga Young)

커피소년 – 롱디 (Feat. 안녕하신가영)

롱디 (Feat. 안녕하신가영)

널 만나러 가는 길
이 기다림도 데이트

내 설레는 마음은
에피타이저

저기 보인다 니 모습
강아지처럼 달려온다

엄청난 속도로
내게 안긴다

세상은 널 만날 때까지
내게 상처를 입히지만

너의 한 번의 그 포옹은
모든 상처를 씻어준다

나의 어여쁜 사랑아
그냥 내 곁에 있어라
사랑한다 나의 사랑아

우리 함께 걷는 길
어딜 가나 레드 카펫

우리 발자국 소린
백 그라운드 뮤직

총총총총 걷는다
왼발 오른발 맞춰 걷다

엄청난 그루브로
우린 춤춘다

세상은 널 만날 때까지
내게 상처를 입히지만

너의 한 번의 그 포옹은
모든 상처를 씻어준다

나의 어여쁜 사랑아
그냥 내 곁에 있어라
사랑한다 나의 사랑아

세상은 널 만날 때까지
내게 상처를 입히지만

너의 한 번의 그 포옹은
모든 상처를 씻어준다

나의 어여쁜 사랑아
그냥 내 곁에 있어라
사랑한다 나의 사랑
사랑한다 나의 사랑
사랑한다 나의 사랑아

Long Distance (Feat. Hello Ga Young)

On the way to meet you
Even this waiting is a date

My excited heart is
an appetizer

The image of you appears over there
Run like a dog

With great speed
you hug me

Until I meet up with you, the world
covers me in scars

With one of your embraces,
you wash all of my scars

My lovely darling
Just be with me
I love you, my darling

The road that we walk together
Wherever we go, red carpet

The sound of our footsteps
is background music

Hurriedly, we walk
Left foot, right foot, match our steps

With incredible groove,
we are dancing

Until I meet up with you, the world
covers me in scars

With one of your embraces,
you wash all of my scars

My lovely darling
Just be with me
I love you, my darling

Until I meet up with you, the world
covers me in scars

With one of your embraces,
you wash all of my scars

My lovely darling
Just be with me
I love you, my darling
I love you, my darling
I love you, my darling

_____________________________________________________

As much as I wouldn’t mind another Geeks album, I’ve been intrigued by Louie’s releases of late. I could see that he’s taking on more of a producer role and experimenting with different genres. “그림자 (Shadow)” has a jazzy and hip-hop vibe and it’s a song that’s meant to root for people who feel like they are all alone in the world.

I think what’s striking about the song is the dichotomy in Urban Zakapa’s Kwon Soon Il’s voice compared to Louie’s.  The song starts off like a loungey ballad with his soft but higher pitched signing that makes you feel elevated, like you’re looking down on yourself.  Then, Louis comes in with his urban-esque, tenor voice and it feels so down-to-earth.

Their harmony blends beautifully towards the end when their singing/rapping overlaps with each other.  The thought that there is always someone by your side, even though they are still and silent, even though you can’t see them, is something that warms the heart.

Louie (Geeks) – 그림자 (feat. 권순일 Of 어반자카파) (Shadow (feat. Kwon Soon Il Of Urban Zakapa))

루이 (긱스) – 그림자 (feat. 권순일 Of 어반자카파)

그림자 (feat. 권순일 Of 어반자카파)

널 보면 아무 말도 할 수 없는걸
할 말이 없진 않지만
내 마음은 앞서가지만 서도
너와 걸어가는 길이 가끔 막히면
걸음이 멎곤 하지만
내 마음은 앞서가지

I’ll always be with you
always be with you
always be with you
I’ll always be with you
always be with you
always be with you
난 매일 밤 어둠이 두려워
너에게 남고 싶어
깊은 밤이 내 모습을 숨겨도
너의 눈물 앞에서
가만히 숨죽여서 흘려
우린 슬픔마저 닮아 있는 걸
넌 계속 밝아 내가 더 어두워져도
넌 계속 웃었으면 좋겠어
내가 슬퍼져도
넌 그저 너 그대로
내 안의 너, 곧 그래 그대
나의 best friend
적어도 날 위해 행복해야 돼
그렇게 always
널 보면 아무 말도 할 수 없는걸
할 말이 없진 않지만
내 마음은 앞서가지만 서도
너와 걸어가는 길이 가끔 막히면
걸음이 멎곤 하지만
내 마음은 앞서가지

I’ll always be with you
always be with you
always be with you
I’ll always be with you
always be with you
always be with you
왠지 오늘따라
떨어지는 빛마저 적막해
계속 너와 멀어지는 지금도
너를 볼 순 없지만
왠지 길어 오늘 밤은 더
왠지 오늘따라
떨어지는 빛마저 적막해
계속 너와 멀어지는 지금도
너를 볼 순 없지만
왠지 길어 오늘 밤은 더
I’ll always be with you
(왠지 오늘따라
떨어지는 빛마저 적막해
계속 너와 멀어지는 지금도)
always be with you
(너를 볼 순 없지만)
always be with you
(왠지 길어 오늘 밤은 더)
I’ll always be with you
(왠지 오늘따라
떨어지는 빛마저 적막해
계속 너와 멀어지는 지금도)
always be with you
(너를 볼 순 없지만 )
always be with you
(왠지 길어 오늘 밤은 더)
I’ll always be with you
(내가 곁에 있어
너의 발 아래에서)
always be with you
(너가 기뻐할 때도)
always be with you
(너가 슬퍼할 때도)
I’ll always be with you
(내가 곁에 있어
너의 발 아래에서)
always be with you
(너가 기뻐할 때도)
always be with you
(너가 슬퍼할 때도
왠지 길어 오늘 밤은 더)

Shadow (feat. Kwon Soon Il Of Urban Zakapa)

When I see you, I can’t say anything
It’s not that I don’t have things to say
Even though my feelings proceeds yours
And the path I walk with you is sometimes blocked
The pace my halt but
My feelings advance
I
I’ll always be with you
always be with you
always be with you
I’ll always be with you
always be with you
always be with you
Every night, I dread the darkness
Want to remain with you
Even if the dead of night hides my image
In front of your tears
Shed carefully and silently
Grow similar as we face our sadness
You’re always bright, I darken
I hope you always able to smile
Even if you’re sad about me
You’re just you that way
The you in me is presently like that, you
My best friend
For me at least, you have to be happy
Like that, always
When I see you, I can’t say anything
It’s not that I don’t have things to say
Even though my feelings proceeds yours
And the path I walk with you is sometimes blocked
The pace my halt but
My feelings advance
I

I’ll always be with you
always be with you
always be with you
I’ll always be with you
always be with you
always be with you
Somehow, today of all days
Even the beaming rays of light are desolate
Keep getting farther away from you, even now
Though I can’t see you
Tonight, somehow feels even longer
Somehow, today of all days
Even the beaming rays of light are desolate
Keep getting farther away from you, even now
Though I can’t see you
Tonight, somehow feels even longer
I’ll always be with you
(Somehow, today of all days
Even the beaming rays of light are desolate
Keep getting farther away from you, even now)
always be with you
(Though I can’t see you)
always be with you
(Tonight, somehow feels longer)
I’ll always be with you
(Somehow, today of all days
Even the beaming rays of light are desolate
Keep getting farther away from you, even now)
always be with you
(Though I can’t see you)
always be with you
(Tonight, somehow feels longer)
I’ll always be with you
(I’m by your side
Beneath your feet)
always be with you
(Even when you’re happy)
always be with you
(Even when you’re sad)
I’ll always be with you
(I’m by your side
Beneath your feet)
always be with you
(Even when you’re happy)
always be with you
(Even when you’re sad
Tonight, somehow feels longer)

Leave a Reply

