Jive Monkey Playlist: 4/22/16

Happy Friday!  Happy Earth Day!  This week’s playlist I’m featuring one-sided love songs.  I think what’s sweet about these songs is that they are admiring someone they love from afar.  And yet, there’s no urgency to make that person come around.  Instead, they are just okay with being next to them.

Apink’s Jung Eun Ji just recently released her solo album and I’m kind of surprised that she hasn’t released a solo album until now.  I was originally going to include featuring her title song, “하는바라기 (Hopefully Sky/Looking Upon the Skies),” but decided against it.  It’s a lovely song and one that is currently on my own playlist but it certainly isn’t one that immediately grabbed me.

Rather, I’d chose to feature “It’s OK” which a warm, medium slow tempo song.  What I love about Jung Eun Ji’s voice is that she is a strong, a bit husky singer with a pretty wide range.  This song is about being in love with her friend but instead of creating an awkward atmosphere, she confirms that whether or not he feels the same way about her, she okay with being by his side.  She’s even okay with the rollercoaster of emotions that coincide with the uncertainty of relationships and the bright, cheeriness of the song makes it sound like a fight song for anyone who is crushing on their good friend.  The song is also co-composed by a composer who recently contributed to the OST for Descendants of the Sun.

Jung Eun Ji – It’s OK

정은지 – It’s OK

It’s OK

니가 모를 얘기 이제 시작할게
친구라서 여태 하지 못 했던 말
항상 널 보며 웃고 있지만
난 사실 불안했어 니가 다른 사랑할까봐

난 너 하나면 It’s OK
다 너 때문에 It’s OK
하지만 내 맘같이 있어도
행복하다가도 두려워져
사랑해서

워어우 워 오오
워어우 워 오오
Baby it’s alright

사실 내가 너를 점점 닮아간 건
너를 많이 사랑했기 때문이야
어색해 질까 많이 참았지만
이제는 얘기할게 니가 다른 사랑할까봐

난 너 하나면 It’s OK
다 너 때문에 It’s OK
하지만 내 맘 같이 있어도
행복하다 가도 두려워져
사랑해서

너를 보고 있는 이 순간 지금
내 맘 좀 이상해
괜찮다가도 울컥
웃고 있어도 울컥
내 사랑 모를까봐 my love

난 너 하나면 It’s OK
다 너 때문에 It’s OK
사랑한다고 널 사랑한다고
내게 너는 그런 사람이야
널 사랑해

워어우 워 오오
워어우 워 오오
Baby it’s alright

It’s OK

I’ll start saying something you don’t know
Couldn’t say it before because you’re my friend
Every time I look at you, you’re smiling
Honestly, I was nervous that you might find another love

With only you, It’s OK
All because of you, It’s OK
But even if you feel the same way I do
Happy one minute, then worry the next
Because I love you

Woah woh oh oh
Woah woh oh oh
Baby it’s alright

Honestly, the reason why I’ve become more like you
It’s because I love you a lot
Held it in because I thought it would get awkward
Now, I’ll say it because you might find another love

With only you, It’s OK
All because of you, It’s OK
But even if you feel the same way I do
Happy one minute, then worry the next
Because I love you

Looking at you this moment now
I feel a bit strange
Okay one minute, then emotional
Though I’m smiling, emotional
That you might know I love you, my love

With only you, It’s OK
All because of you, It’s OK
But even if you feel the same way I do
Happy one minute, then worry the next
Because I love you

Woah woh oh oh
Woah woh oh oh
Baby it’s alright

_____________________________________________________

Now, this 2nd song is a song that I’m currently obsessing over.  The vocals and the lyrics are simply beautiful.  And it’s in English.  Yay, I don’t have to translate it.  I had been waiting for the release of this compilation album because I love K-Indie music.  This is the 6th SUM Greenplugged compilation album that not only features indie artists but the songs often focus on the subject matter of the “environment”.  Just in time for Earth Day.  If you were fans of the OST for Cheese in the Trap, you know that SALTNPAPER sung the track “Go” for the drama.

SALTNPAPER (whose real name is Michael Kim or Kim Yoon Min) is a Korean-American artist from California.  Through Epik High’s Tablo, he was able to feature on one of their album and so began his career in Korea under the name MYK and featuring on many hip hop albums.  I’m not sure where the name SALTNPAPER came about but his K-Indie folk pop style of music seem to be under that stage name.

“Sky” is a reflective track and it’s beautifully written.  In fact, the style of this song reminds me of Caedmon’s Call, a contemporary Christian band.  The songs lyrics is a love song for the environment, specifically the sky.  However, I can also see this song as being a simple love song, wherein the “sky” is a metaphor for his object of affection.  Beyond sheer admiration, he elevates “her” to a saintly plane and he is a better person for loving her.  It’s quite a beautiful compliment to make and I don’t think a girl would be able to resist the sweetness of these lyrics.  Swoon.

SALTNPAPER – Sky

솔튼페이퍼(SALTNPAPER) – Sky

Sky

Her world is such a radiant place
and she is everything that makes it
her love it bends and breaks
and changes shapes
never to forsake this

I sit and write these songs for you
under skies
her tears they fall on me
I sleep to dream these dreams for you
love her I do
I can feel you shine on me

My world is such a troubled place
if it wasn’t for her graces

I sit and write these songs for you
under skies
her tears they rain on me
I sleep to dream these dreams for you
love her I do
I can feel you shine on me

Feel your light shine down on me
you are the sun in my sky
Feel your light shine down on me
you are the sun in my sky

I sit and write these words for you
under skies
her tears will rain on me
I sleep to dream these dreams for you
love her I do
I can feel you shine on me

Leave a Reply

