Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/6/16

This week’s playlist is all about the musical number that isn’t an actual musical number.  There is something that’s so engaging about songs that have that musical sound.  The song not only tells a story but it feels as if the singers are interacting with the audience and somehow we become something more than passive listeners.

It’s been two years since the release of Akdong Musician’s (AKMU) last album and after the success of that, I’m sure there was a lot of pressure to live up to.  Certainly, looking at the charts, it seems like this brother and sister duo have nothing to worry about.  However, I have to admit that I was wowed by their title tracks like I was with their previous album, “Play”.  It’s not that I don’t like “RE-BYE” and “사람들이 움직이는 게 (How People Move)” but I was more drawn to all the other, non-title tracks.

What struck me about this mini album, “사춘기 상 (思春記 上) (Above Adolescence),” is how most of the songs, including the title tracks, have this musical vibe to it.  “사소한 것에서 (Every Little Thing)” is jazzy with a big band feel but if you look at the lyrics, they sing about pretty banal things.  Things that happen every day and it feels like they’re telling a story.

It almost feels more like Lee Chan Hyuk is the storyteller here as he talks about the loneliness of idleness in a busy, hectic world.  In the past, his sis, Lee Su Hyun has been able to collaborate with other artists in the spotlight like Lee Hi as part of HI SUHYUN or Su Ah on Unpretty Rapstar.  It’s been a long time since AKMU has been able to promote like this as a duo and it may look like we may have to wait longer when Chan Hyuk enlists for his military service, which might be sooner than later.  Sadness.  But still, like the song says, I’m going to embrace what we got and remember to stop and take some time to take in the scenery.  Because that just may be the thing that counts in the end.

Akdong Musician (AKMU) – 사소한 것에서 (Every Little Thing)

악동뮤지션(AKMU) – 사소한 것에서

사소한 것에서

잠은 꽤나 잔 것 같은데 또 나오는 하품
저 멀리 나뒹구는 베개와
침대 밑 이불이 내 작품
큰 입 덥석 물리곤
나올 줄 모르는 칫솔과
한 잎만 떨어져도
금방 티나는 앙상한 화초

정말 아름다운 건
내가 선 곳에 있는데
미처 발견 못 하고 지나치는 사람들
다소 식상해 보였던 것 안에
혹은 당연한 일상을 돌아본다면
마치 한 잔의 쉐이크처럼

잊은 듯 아무렇지 않은 척해도
쓰린 사랑의 아픔
아무 이유 없이 반항하곤 했던
사춘기의 질풍
큰 잎이 떨어지면
고개를 내밀던 가을과
한 닢의 동전도 소중했던
어린 시절 나의 친구들과의 추억

정말 아름다운 건
내가 선 곳에 있는데
미처 발견 못 하고 지나치는 사람들
다소 식상해 보였던 것 안에
혹은 당연한 일상을 돌아본다면
마치 한 잔의 쉐이크처럼

shake it shake it
oh shake it shake it (shake it!)
shake it shake it
oh like glass of shake it shake it
shake it shake it
oh shake it shake it (shake it!)
shake it shake it
oh like glass of shake it shake it

쉴 틈 없는 달리기에
못 보고 간 꽃들
빈틈없는 지하철에서 옮아 온 고뿔
어쩌면 이런 사소한 것에서
세상이 달라지는지도 몰라

Every Little Thing

Seems as if I slept a lot and yet another yawn
With my pillow rolling around far over there
Below the bed, the blanket is my work of art
Grasping with my big mouth
With my toothbrush that doesn’t know how to get out
Even if one leaf falls,
it’s immediately obvious on the stark plant

Really, the beautiful thing is,
there’s a place where I’m standing
The passing people don’t even realize it
What seems like I might be somewhat fed up
Or looking back at the natural everyday life
As if like a glass of shake

Though I pretend it’s doesn’t hurt to be forgotten
The hurt of bitter love
Rebelling for no reason
The flurry of adolescence
When a big leaf falls,
and with the Fall sticking its head out
When a single coin was precious
In my youth, memories with my friends

Really, the beautiful thing is,
there’s a place where I’m standing
The passing people don’t even realize it
What seems like I might be somewhat fed up
Or looking back at the natural everyday life
As if like a glass of shake

shake it shake it
oh shake it shake it (shake it!)
shake it shake it
oh like glass of shake it shake it
shake it shake it
oh shake it shake it (shake it!)
shake it shake it
oh like glass of shake it shake it

In a race where you can’t rest,
the flowers that we didn’t get to see
In an enclosed train, catch a cold
Somehow, every little thing like this
You don’t know if it will change the world

_____________________________________________________

Lucia (aka Shim Kyu Sun) is an indie artist with Pastel Music whom I’ve been following for some years now.  I haven’t always loved everything she’s released.  Sometimes her tracks tend to sound repetitively similar but then I would find one that ends up being incredibly emotional and deep.  “나의 색깔 (My Colors)” is one of those tracks.

The song feels very epic because of all of the interesting layers of instruments.  From the piano that acts as the base to the nylon guitar giving the track and acoustic indie feel to the haegeum, a traditional, bowed string instrument resembling a fiddle, giving it a timeless feel to it.

The song itself is about life and how it may not turn out how you expected and yet the lyrics are hopeful.  I love how the metaphor of “colors” is represented by the colors on a canvas.  You can imagine how in her youth, she paints one thing on it, but as she matures, she layers different colors.  The new colors aren’t necessarily who she becomes but it’s the combination of her past and the present that make up who she is.

Lucia (Shim Kyu Sun) –나의 색깔 (My Colors)

Lucia(심규선) – 나의 색깔

나의 색깔

저기에 낡고 오래된
먼지투성이 혹은 상처투성이
그대가 내가 품에 안고서
꿈이라고 부르며 소중히 했던 것

아직도 여전히 그 곳에
버려둔 그 곳에 머물며
우리를 기다리고 있네요
언뜻 돌아 볼 때면
너무나 슬픈 눈

이미 번진 이 마음을 다시 돌이켜
지울 수는 없어도 되돌릴 순 없어도
다시 난 그려가고 싶어요
나의 색깔을

외로움 느낄 새 없이
참고 참아서 무감해지려 해도
강변에 나는 새들을 바라 볼 때면
내 마음이 자꾸만 그때로 돌아서네

언젠가 아직 어리던 날에
세상을 바꾸려던 나이
조금씩 물러서던 그 밤에
도망치듯 내가 다 져버렸음을 아네

이미 넘친 이 마음을 다시 돌이켜
채울 수는 없어도 다 잊을 순 없어도
아직 난 노래하고 싶어요
나의 노래를

이미 번진 이 마음을 다시 돌이켜
지울 수는 없어도 되돌릴 순 없어도
다시 난 그려가고 싶어요
내 잊었던 풍경을 내 꿈 속의 장면을
덧칠된, 뒤에 가려져 있던 나의 색깔을

My Colors

Over there, a worn and old
Filled with dust or filled with scars
I will hold you in my arms
Calling it a dream, the things that you cherish

Still, as ever, at that place
Languishing at that place where you were discarded
Waiting for us
Turning around in an instant,
extremely sad eyes

Already watered, looking back again on this feeling
Though I can’t erase it, though you can’t go back
I want to sketch again
With my colors

No time to feel lonely
Endure and withstand, though I try not to be emotional
When looking at the birds flying at the riverside
My heart keeps going back to that time

To some time, when I was still young
An age when I could change the world
Stepping back a little bit, that night
Pretend to run away, knowing that I lost it all

Already overflowing, looking back again on this feeling
Though I can’t fill it, though I can’t forget it all
I still want to sing
My song

Already watered, looking back again on this feeling
Though I can’t erase it, though you can’t go back
I want to sketch again
The landscapes I’ve forgotten, the scenes in my dreams
When you paint over it, hidden underneath are my colors

_____________________________________________________

As Jaurim’s lead singer, Kim Yoon Ah is preparing her solo album, “키리에 (Kyrié),” is a glimpse into her writing, composing and producing.  In fact, she did everything from writing, composing, arranging, programming to producing on this single track.  It’s quite a sad song about pain and despair.  Obviously, this song doesn’t compare to Akdong Musician’s music.  Sure, Akdong Musician can write and sing songs about hardships but yet their youthfulness instills this feel hopefulness.  The pain expressed in this song only comes with time and experience.

I think what’s so theatric about this song is that Kim Yoon Ah is not concerned with singing the lyrics perfectly.  Rather, she’s more concerned with getting the emotions across and strangely, that’s what makes it perfect.  To me, the song kind of sound Irish because of the way Kim Yoon Ah sings it.  It reminds me of Sinéad O’Connor, Hozier and Damien Rice.

The song’s title is actually a Christian word which has Greek roots meaning “Lord”.  However, it’s not a Christian song.  Rather, the song reads like a prayer.  It’s about the inexplicable pain in which giving up may just be easier to endure.  However, rather than keeping it all in, she let’s it out through this song.

Kim Yoon Ah – 키리에 (Kyrié)

김윤아 – 키리에

키리에

쉴 새 없이 가슴을 내리치는 이 고통은
어째서 나를 죽일 수 없나
가슴 안에 가득 찬 너의 기억이, 흔적이
나를 태우네
나를 불태우네
울어도 울어도 네가 돌아올 수 없다면
이건 꿈이야
이건 꿈이야
꿈이야
불러도 불러도 너는 돌아올 수가 없네
나는 지옥에
나는 지옥에 있나 봐
쉴 새 없이 가슴을 내리치는 이 고통은
어째서 나를 죽일 수 없나
차라리 지금 이대로 눈을 감고
다시는 깨어나지 않을 수 있다면
울어도 울어도 네가 돌아올 수 없다면
이건 꿈이야
이건 꿈이야
꿈이야
불러도 불러도 너는 돌아올 수가 없네
나는 지옥에
나는 지옥에 있나 봐
쉴 새 없이 가슴을 내리치는 이 고통은
어째서 나를 죽일 수 없나

Kyrié

Constantly striking my heart is this pain How is it that it doesn’t kill me
In my heart, filled with your thoughts, traces
It burns me
It burns me up
Though I cry and cry, if you can’t come back
This is a dream
This is a dream
It’s a dream
Though I call and call you, you can’t come back
I’m in hell
I must be in hell
Constantly striking my heart is this pain How is it that it doesn’t kill me
I would rather close my eyes now like this
If I could somehow not be able to wake up again
Though I cry and cry, if you can’t come back
This is a dream
This is a dream
It’s a dream
Though I call and call you, you can’t come back
I’m in hell
I must be in hell
Constantly striking my heart is this pain
How is it that it doesn’t kill me

Leave a Reply

