Jive Monkey Playlist: 5/27/16

It’s Memorial Day weekend in the US.  Besides catching some sun (finally!), taking in those holiday sales (woot~!), or partaking in Fleet Week activities (wink), it’s also a great time to catch up on some TV (and some reviews I’ve been procrastinating on ~ sigh).  This week, I’m featuring some of my favorite OST tracks from dramas that I’m currently watching.

Kim Feel has been on the OST hit parade recently as he’s released great tracks for dramas such as Answer Me 1988, Memory and the song that I’m going to feature from Neighborhood Lawyer Jo Deul Ho.  I suppose it’s a mixture of his husky voice and the earnestness in his delivery in which he seems to perfectly capture the hardships of the underdog.

It matches Park Shin Yang’s performance in the title character of the sometimes wacky, always passionate lawyer, Jo Deul Ho.  Especially when Jo Deul Ho is around his daughter and you see the pain he feels from being separated from her, it’s hard not get teary-eyed yourself as the music swells into the chorus.  The drama may not be a ratings winner and it may not be a unique story but it is well-paced and feel good.

Kim Feel –하늘을 걸어 (Betting on the Heavens)

김필(Kim Feel) – 하늘을 걸어

하늘을 걸어

아주 가끔 고갤 들어
하늘을 봐
텅 빈 거릴
홀로 서성인 난 늘 혼자
어둠이 내려 갈 곳을 잃어*
희미해진 기억들
이젠 잊으려고 해
난 다시 꿈 꿔 하늘을 걸어서
너에게 다가가 네게 기대
나를 안아줘 워
닫혀 버린 맘을 열고
하늘을 봐
가슴 속에 너를 담아두고
눈을 감아
어둠이 내려 갈 곳을 잃어
희미해진 기억들
이젠 잊으려고 해
난 다시 꿈 꿔 하늘을 걸어서
너에게 다가가 네게 기대
나를 안아줘 워
차가워진 내 가슴 가득히
그댄 비처럼 내 맘속에 왔어
알 수 없는 건
손 닿을듯한 꿈속에서도
두 눈을 감으면 니가 보여
니가 보여
멀어져 가버린 흩어진 기억에
희미해진 뒷모습
이젠 잊으려고 해
난 다시 꿈꿔 하늘을 걸어서
너에게 다가가 네게 기대
나를 안아줘 내 안에 들어온
소중한 너 너를 사랑해

Betting on the Heavens

Occasionally, I lift my head up and
Look at the heavens
The empty streets
Loitering alone, I’m always alone
As darkness falls, I lose my way*
Foggy memories
Now I’m trying to forget them
Again, I dream a dream, betting on the heavens
Draw nearer to you and lean on you
Hug me, woah
Open my closed heart and
Look at the heavens
Keep you in my heart and
Close my eyes
As darkness falls, I lose my way
Foggy memories
Now I’m trying to forget them
Again, I dream a dream, betting on the heavens
Draw nearer to you and lean on you
Hug me, woah
Become cold, my full heart
Like the rain, you fill my heart
The thing we don’t know
Like our hands can reach, even in my dreams
When I close both my eyes, I see you
I see you
Gone faraway, my scattered memories
Foggy, the appearance of you from behind
Now I’m trying to forget them
Again, I dream a dream, betting on the heavens
Draw nearer to you and lean on you
Hug me, come in my heart
Precious you, I love you

_____________________________________________________

As much as I like Seo Hyun Jin and Yoo Seung Woo’s “사랑이 뭔데 (What is it About Love?),” I have to admit that my favorite song on the Another Oh Hae Young OST so far is Ben’s “꿈처럼 (Like a Dream).  Because the drama is about Park Do Kyung (Eric) having a supernatural ability to see into the future, especially when it concerns Just Oh Hae Young (Seo Hyun Jin), Ben’s fairy-like voice brings an ethereal vibe to the scene.

Also, when you read the lyrics you realize that there is a dichotomy of emotion expressed in the lyrics.  On the one hand, she’s sad and reflective about a breakup or an unrequited love.  She doesn’t want to hold on to hope or the dream of being with the one that she loves if he is not willing to reciprocate.

On the other hand, she’s very forward and refreshingly honest about her feelings.  She certainly doesn’t skirt around the issue.  Although she’s placid about her dream not coming to a fruition, I love that in the last verse she says, “I remember, the day you looked sad.  That you might see my trembling shoulders.”

It’s the first time she turns the focus toward how he’s going to feel about not taking the chance on love when he had the opportunity.  It reminds me how in the drama, a defiant Hae Young tells Do Kyung that there will be a day when he cries over her.  It’s just the perfect song that encompasses our heroine (who has now become my spirit animal).

Ben –꿈처럼 (Like a Dream)

벤 – 꿈처럼

꿈처럼

나만 홀로 느낀 황홀함일까
그저 바라보는 시선이 무거워
맴도는 발걸음
여전히 네가 보고 싶어
I need your mind

I remember 차가웠던 그 날
자꾸 떨리는 내 가슴이 혼자 울까봐
눈을뜨면
희미해져버릴 꿈처럼 놔줘
그게 아니면 곁에있어줘

무거워진 어깰 내게 보이며
미워하지도 못하게 막아선 너
따갑게 스치는 새벽에
네가 보고 싶어
I need your mind

I remember 차가웠던 그 날
자꾸 떨리는 내 가슴이 혼자 울까봐
눈을뜨면
희미해져버릴 꿈처럼 놔줘
그게 아니면 곁에있어줘

울어서 좋을게 없는데
깊게 새긴 흔적이 서러워
혹시 몰라 그대가올까 봐

I remember 슬퍼보였던 날
자꾸 떨리는 내 어깨를 네가 볼까봐
눈을뜨면
희미해져버릴 꿈처럼 놔줘
그게 아니면 곁에있어줘 지금

Like a Dream

Is it a wonderful feeling that only I’m feeling?
The heavy stares just looking at me
Steps circling me
I miss you like always
I need your mind

I remember, that cold day
My heart that kept trembling that almost made me cry alone
When I open my eyes
Let me go like a dream that will become foggy
If it’s not that, stay by my side

Showing me your burdened shoulders
So that I can’t even hate you, you draw the line
Prickly brushing past the dawn
I miss you
I need your mind

I remember, that cold day
My heart that kept trembling that almost made me cry alone
When I open my eyes
Let me go like a dream that will become foggy
If it’s not that, stay by my side

Nothing good comes from crying
Sad about the deep impression you’ve left
Who knows whether you might come

I remember, the day you looked sad
That you might see my trembling shoulders
When I open my eyes
Let me go like a dream that will become foggy
If it’s not that, stay by my side, right now

_____________________________________________________

Finally, there’s Jannabi’s “Beautiful” from the Dear My Friends OST.  Jannabi is an indie that originally started as a 3-person band, Choi Jung Hoon (vocals), Yoo Young Hyun (keyboard) and Kim Go Hyung (guitar).  They were 3 friends who all grew up in the same neighborhood and did the usual indie band thing by busking on the streets of Seoul.  However, last year they added Jang Kyung Joon (bass) and Yoon Kyul (drums) to the group and formed the 5-person band we know today.  The word jannabi comes from an outdated term meaning ape or monkey and since all of the members were born in the year of the monkey that’s how they got their name.

You may remember hearing this band on the OST’s for Ex-Girlfriend Club or Twenty Again previously.  They have a very playful style with their music and it seems to capture the joie de vivre of the characters on Dear My Friends.  There is a Korean and English version of the track.

This week, we’ll be getting into our 3rd week since the drama’s premiere and I’ve actually been loving it so far as it is a slice-of-life drama.  All of the characters, especially the older cast, have unique personalities and it’s clear that age doesn’t necessarily mean maturity.  My two favorite characters on the show so far happen to be Moon Jung Ah (Na Moon Hee) and Jo Hee Ja (Kim Hye Ja) as beyond mere bickering, they seem to have a zest for life that’s unparalleled to the other characters.

Jung Ah is married to Kim Suk Kyun (Shin Gu), a grumpy, stingy man that doesn’t appreciate his wife.  She just wants to retire and go travel the world but he refuses to let her go.  Sometimes I’m a little taken aback by the way Suk Kyun treats her as he is verbally abusive but I don’t necessarily view him as a bad person.  His thinking is just very old-fashioned and he has an extreme patriarchal mentality.

Jung Ah is just so good-natured that she takes it to a point.  I can’t tell you how much I was cheering for her when she couldn’t take his nagging anymore and threw the kimchi she was making at her husband.  It was a bit amusing to see him get down on his feet to clean up the mess, which is something you will never see a Korean man do back in the days.

As for Hee Ja, she’s a recent widow and a bit depressed at the loss of her husband.  Her friends can see that she’s depressed but she tries her best to not show it.  I can’t imagine anyone else playing Hee Ja as Kim Hye Ja always had this soft-spoken cadence.  Hee Ja might say the most sarcastic thing or have the most comedic line but even more hilarious because she says it with the most sweetest voice.

She doesn’t want to be a burden on her children, especially her youngest, Yoo Min Ho (Lee Kwang Soo).  Unfortunately, you can’t trick yourself into thinking that age doesn’t play a factor in how you live your life and her story is about trying to figure that out.

Going back to Jung Ah and her zeal for traveling, I love that her favorite movie is Thelma and Louise.  It’s not about those two characters were lawbreakers even though the last episode touches on those themes.  Like the main theme of the movie, Jung Ah’s motive is about attaining freedom.

There’s a lot of different stories in this drama and obviously, I can get into every single one of them here in this post.  The cast literally has all the actors who are known for playing all of the mother and grandparents roles in all of the K-Dramas.  It’s a great female-driven cast, which is rare in K-Drama, and the plot points are funny, bittersweet, pathetic, infuriating, heartbreaking and thought-provoking all-in-one.

And if that doesn’t sell you, let me try selling you on the hot men that appear in the cast.  Playing Hee Ja’s kissy-face neighbor/photographer is Daniel Henney.  I swear he’s not a pervert but rather it’s a hilarious misunderstanding.  And trying to win Ko Hyun Jung back is the fabulous Jo In Sung, who have or had a friends with benefits (?) type of relationship.

Jannabi – Beautiful

잔나비 – Beautiful

Beautiful

들뜬 목소리 날 불르길래
올라탄거야
가는 길목에 해가 뜨길래
기분 좋았지

때마침 시커먼 구름이 몰려와
우르릉 쾅쾅 비를 뿌리네
I got one way ticket 어쨌든 난 좋아요
오 지나간 이야기가 흐르는
이대로 오 난 좋아요
붙잡지 말아요 날아가 버린대도

가는 길목에 창밖을 보니
꽃이 폈더군
한아름따다 고민고민 하다
네게 준거야

예쁘게 말려서 간직해 줘야해
난 네 꽃이야 향기롭지않니

I got one way ticket 어쨌든 난 좋아요
오 지나간 이야기가 흐르는
이대로 오 난 좋아요
붙잡지 말아요 날아가 버린대도

그래서 우리들은
참 아름다운 한 때라는 거야
모른채 지나간대도
진한 향기 가득 날아가 버릴거야

Beautiful

That you call me with a lighthearted voice
Get on board with it
As the sun rises in the passing alleyways
I felt good

Just then, a dark cloud started to form
Growling, crashing*, sprinkling rain
I got one way ticket, regardless I like it
Oh, the past stories flow
Like this, oh, I like it
Don’t hold on, even if I float away

Staring out the window in the passing alleyways
The flowers have bloomed
As I pluck an armful, as I worry, worry over it
Gave it to you

Dry it prettily and you need to keep it well
I am your flower, aren’t fragrant?

I got one way ticket, regardless I like it
Oh, the past stories flow
Like this, oh, I like it
Don’t hold on, even if I float away

So that’s why we
Are having the most beautiful times of our lives
Even if you pass it by without noticing it
A strong-filled scent will fly away

Jannabi – Beautiful (Eng Ver.)

잔나비 – Beautiful (Eng Ver.)

Beautiful

I’ll be on your way
take my love for you
always be with you
I saw a bluebird flying
and demons going away
it will be alright
dear my friend your pretty eye
makes me want to leave
I got one way ticket to the sun
everyday will shining
oh my love if you want it
oh you can make my world
go round forever
baby you oh if you want it
we can fly fly away
give me all your love to me
let’s sail away with me
sing me a lullaby
I’ll be on your side
every sunnyday
made by your sweet breath
gonna be our day
dear my friend your pretty eye
makes me want to leave
I got one way ticket to the sun
everyday will shining
oh my love if you want it
oh you can make my world
go round forever
baby you oh if you want it
we can fly fly away
give me all your love to me
baby you if you want it
oh you can make my world
go round forever
baby you oh if you want it
we can fly fly away
give me all your love to me

Leave a Reply

