Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/3/16

Happy Feel-Good Friday!  Now that it is unofficially summer, it is time to step outside, get a drink, get together with some good friends and have some fun.  This week’s playlist is all about the feel-good songs.

Okay, I’ll admit that “Shut Up & Groove” isn’t a traditional “feel-good” song but bear with me.  The lyrics make the song come off like it’s about a couple that is not ready to deal with their relationship problems.  And yes, that’s part of it.  However, the melody gives the song an entirely different vibe.

I like that the song totally gives a unique vibe.  No matter what shit is gonna be thrown your way and sometimes you just have to go with the flow.  The song is billed as the perfect driving song and like the music video I do have to agree.  It’s that action of cruisin’ at night, with the windows down, that just kinda makes you be okay with all the B.S. of the real world.

I’ve quite enjoyed watching Heize on Unpretty Rapstar 2 because she had decent flow, a unique voice and I appreciate her blend of jazz and rap.  R&B artist Dean, features on this dance/R&B track and their falsetto harmony works well in depicting the song’s capricious energy.

헤이즈(HEIZE) – Shut Up & Groove (Feat. DEAN)

바람이 드셨는지 – The line literally translates as “what wind have consumed” but the wind is meant to represent being puffed up or being high and mighty.  It’s a sarcastic comment so the English equivalent would most likely be “what’s gotten you all fired up” or filled with hot air”.

9roove (9)** – I found it interesting that they use the number nine in the word “groove”.  9 is pronounced as goo or gu () in Korean and inputted to give that alliterative effect.  Dean also croons the sound “goo” right after the word groove for the background vocals.

Shut Up & Groove (Feat. DEAN)

밤 12시에 집을 가던 안가던
떡볶이로 세 끼를 채우건 말건
내 강아지가 잘 지내건 말건
신경꺼줘 내버려둬
갑자기 왜 그러는지
뭔 바람이 드셨는지*
왠 야밤에 이리 전화를 거시는지
흥미롭지만 버스는 떠났으니

Go 닥치고 그냥 Groove
흘러 가는대로 넘어 넘어 넘어가
굳이 말안해도 돼 Go away
전부 지루하고 듣기 거북해 너같아

Shut up and 9roove (9)**
Shut up and 9roove (9)
Shut up and 9roove (9)
Juss keep groovin’
Uh-huh

차 aux 에서 손 떼
밤을 훑기 전에
알아둬 사랑노래는 레드카드라고
말도 말어
이 도시는 지나치게 센치한거같아
아 몰라 도망가자고

‘Everythings gonna be ok’
공감 안되는 사랑 노래 가사들
불행하지 않아도 하나도
행복하지 않은 그런 날들
벗어나고 싶어 사랑 아님 이별
왜 모든건 이분법 인지
다른걸 보고싶어
이 거리 위를 미친척하고
달리다 보면 나올지 몰라 oasis

Go 닥치고 그냥 Groove
흘러 가는대로 넘어 넘어 넘어가
굳이 말 안해도 돼 Go away
전부 지루하고 듣기 거북해 너같아

Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Juss keep groovin’

Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Juss keep groo

너 너 나와 너 우리만의 party
Up up volume up 별거는 안 바라
너 너 나와 너 우리만의 party
눈치없이 오는 전화는 넣어두고
Hit me

No baby let me go
I don’t need u anymore yeah
Go 닥치고 그냥 Groove
흘러 가는대로 넘어 넘어 넘어가

Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Juss keep groovin’

Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Juss keep groovin’

Shut up and 9roove (9)
Shut up and 9roove (9)
Shut up and 9roove (9)
Juss keep groovin’
Uh-huh

Shut Up & Groove (Feat. DEAN)

At midnight, whether you go home or not
Whether you eat spicy rice cakes for all three meals or not
Whether my dog is doing well or not
Mind your own business, leave me alone
Why are you acting like this all of a sudden?
What’s gotten you all fired up?*
Why are you calling me so late at night?
Interesting but the bus has already left

Go, shut up, just Groove
Go, go, go along with the flow
Don’t have to really say it, Go away
It’s all boring, awkward to hear, like you

Shut up and 9roove (9)**
Shut up and 9roove (9)
Shut up and 9roove (9)
Juss keep groovin’
Uh-huh

Let go of the car’s aux
Before I strip this night away
Just know that a love song is a red card
Don’t even talk
This city is overly sentimental
Ah, I don’t know, let’s run away

‘Everythings gonna be ok’
Unsympathetic for the lyrics of love songs
Even if I’m not unhappy, for once
The days where I’m not happy
Want to escape it, love or breakups
Why does everything come down to either or
I want to see something different
Be crazy on these streets
You might come across it as you run, oasis

Go, shut up, just Groove
Go, go, go along with the flow
Don’t have to really say it, Go away
It’s all boring, awkward to hear, like you

Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Juss keep groovin’

Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Juss keep groo

You, you, me and you, just our party
Up up volume up, not expecting much
You, you, me and you, just our party
Put away the phone that’s senselessly ringing
Hit me

No baby let me go
I don’t need u anymore yeah
Go, shut up, just Groove
Go, go, go along with the flow

Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Juss keep groovin’

Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Shut up and 9roove
Juss keep groovin’

Shut up and 9roove (9)
Shut up and 9roove (9)
Shut up and 9roove (9)
Juss keep groovin’
Uh-huh

_____________________________________________________

Speaking of capricious energy, “Can’t Stop The Feeling!” came out of nowhere for me.  I mean, I heard bits of the song when it was reported that Justin Timberlake first performed it at the finale for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest.  Then, the video came out and I couldn’t stop listening to it.  However, I will add that the song was written for the movie Trolls which doesn’t even come out until November.  Was the purpose to make us remember that this movie will be released then?  We’re still a long way out.

Regardless, this upbeat funk/disco-pop track makes you want to get on your feet.  And  JT makes it look so easy.  I love that the video is filled with background dancers who just look like average people.  It’s that slice-of-life feel that makes the video that much more endearing.  Can you honestly say that you won’t be rocking out to this song all summer long?

Justin Timberlake – Can’t Stop The Feeling! (Original Song From Dreamworks Animation’s “Trolls”)

Can’t Stop The Feeling!

I got this feeling, inside my bones
It goes electric, wavey when I turn it on
All through my city, all through my home
We’re flying up, no ceiling, when we in our zone

I got that sunshine in my pocket
Got that good soul in my feet
I feel that hot blood in my body when it drops, ooh
I can’t take my eyes up off it, moving so phenomenally
Room on lock the way we rock it, so don’t stop

And under the lights when everything goes
Nowhere to hide when I’m getting you close
When we move, well, you already know
So just imagine, just imagine, just imagine
Nothing I can see but you when you dance, dance, dance
Feeling good, good, creeping up on you
So just dance, dance, dance, come on
All those things I should do to you
But you dance, dance, dance
And ain’t nobody leaving soon, so keep dancing

I can’t stop the feeling
So just dance, dance, dance
I can’t stop the feeling
So just dance, dance, dance, come on

Ooh, it’s something magical
It’s in the air, it’s in my blood, it’s rushing on
Don’t need no reason, don’t need control
I fly so high, no ceiling, when I’m in my zone

Cause I got that sunshine in my pocket
Got that good soul in my feet
I feel that hot blood in my body when it drops, ooh
I can’t take my eyes up off it, moving so phenomenally
Room on lock the way we rock it, so don’t stop

And under the lights when everything goes
Nowhere to hide when I’m getting you close
When we move, well, you already know
So just imagine, just imagine, just imagine
Nothing I can see but you when you dance, dance, dance
Feeling good, good, creeping up on you
So just dance, dance, dance, come on
All those things I should do to you
But you dance, dance, dance
And ain’t nobody leaving soon, so keep dancing

I can’t stop the feeling
So just dance, dance, dance
I can’t stop the feeling
So just dance, dance, dance
I can’t stop the feeling
So just dance, dance, dance
I can’t stop the feeling
So keep dancing, come on

I can’t stop the, I can’t stop the
I can’t stop the, I can’t stop the
I can’t stop the feeling

Nothing I can see but you when you dance, dance, dance
(I can’t stop the feeling)
Feeling good, good, creeping up on you
So just dance, dance, dance, come on
(I can’t stop the feeling)
All those things I should do to you
But you dance, dance, dance
(I can’t stop the feeling)
And ain’t nobody leaving soon, so keep dancing

Everybody sing
(I can’t stop the feeling)
Got this feeling in my body
(I can’t stop the feeling)
Got this feeling in my body
(I can’t stop the feeling)
Wanna see you move your body
(I can’t stop the feeling)
Got this feeling in my body
Break it down
Got this feeling in my body
Can’t stop the feeling
Got this feeling in my body, come on

_____________________________________________________

As much as I love the sassiness of “No,” I can’t help but smile every time Meghan Trainor’s “Friends” comes up on my playlist.  The song has a classic 90’s pop/soul sound and it has a medium slow tempo that makes it easy to follow along.  I can easily see myself singing this song with a bunch of friends at a karaoke place.

Meghan Trainor – Friends

Meghan Trainor – Friends

Friends

I know we about to have a good time
Cause I got all my friends with me
I know everything’s gonna be fine
Cause I got all my friends with me

When I’m in trouble, need some help
And I feel all by myself
Know exactly who to call
I know to make it all right
I got all my friends with me
And after all my money’s spent
And I can’t afford my rent
They walk me in the house
Saying, “You can take the couch,” yeah
That’s the only friends I need

And everybody say
No one understands me
No one understands me
Like they do, like they do
No one’s gonna love me
No one’s gonna love me
Like they do, like they do

I know we about to have a good time
Cause I got all my friends with me
I know everything’s gonna be fine
Cause I got all my friends with me

When I got my broken heart
And my world was torn apart
I was drowning in my tears
They showed me they were right here
I had all my friends with me
And I push them all away
Cause I make my dumb mistakes
They forgive me anyway
And that’s the only friends I need

And everybody say
No one understands me
No one understands me
Like they do, like they do
No one’s gonna love me
No one’s gonna love me
Like they do, like they do

I know we about to have a good time
Cause I got all my friends with me
I know everything’s gonna be fine
Cause I got all my friends with me

I know we about to have a good time
Cause I got all my friends with me
And I know everything’s gonna be fine
Cause I got all my friends with me

_____________________________________________________

Speaking of friends, where has Boyfriend been all this time?  The last time I saw any of the members, I think it was when the twins (Jo Young Min and Jo Kwang Min) were on Real Men.  And then suddenly, the two disappeared off the show and we weren’t really given a reason as to why they weren’t on the show anymore.

I was surprised when I saw that they released a single.  Does this mean that we can expect another album soon?  The warm lyrics of “약속할게 (I’ll Promise You)” seem to illustrate the friendship of the members.  Perhaps they had a tumultuous year off the stage.  Perhaps they were figuring out their next creative venture as a group.  Perhaps the stress of being in the spotlight was too much and they just needed a break.  Who knows?  And perhaps it doesn’t even matter because this single seems to show that they are doing okay and I’m happy for them.

보이프렌드(Boyfriend) – 약속할게

약속할게

또다시 반복되는 하루
그 끝에 네가 내게 있다는 게
참 고마워 눈물이 앞을 가린 날도
네가 있어서 괜찮아

한없이 지칠 땐
가끔은 내게 기대 쉬어도 돼
쓰러져도 절대로 울지 않길
항상 나 기도해줄게

우리가 함께했던
날 내겐 너뿐이던 날
마주 보던 눈빛을
난 잊을 수 없어

소중한 마음으로 나를 봐준
내 맘속에 별이 돼준 너
이제는 내가 널 안아 줄게

조금은 늦어도 괜찮아
우리가 걸어가는 길이
혼자가 아니란 걸 나는 알고있어

지금 잡은 우리 두 손 놓지 말아줘
약속해 난 언제나 여기서 있을게

2011년 5월 26일
절대 잊지 못해 우리 첫 기념일
무슨 일이든 곁에서 내 힘이 돼준 널
더 아끼고 보답할게 늦더라도

세상 모두가 네 등을 진다해도
널 감싸 안아줄게 늘 그래왔던 대로
너의 발맞춰 나도 걸어갈게
내 숨이 붙어있는 한은 너와 함께 할게

우리가 사랑했던 날
가끔 눈물 나던 날
나를 보던 눈빛을 난 잊을 수 없어

기억해 오랜 시간이 지나도
마주 보며 웃을 수 있게
내 곁엔 네가 있어야만 해

조금은 늦어도 괜찮아
우리가 걸어가는 길이
혼자가 아니란 걸 나는 알고있어

지금 잡은 우리 두 손 놓지 말아줘
약속해 난 언제나 여기서 있을게

내가 빛나지 못했을 때도
아무도 알아주지 않아도

넌 언제나 내 곁에서
힘이 되어 날 일으켜
다시 꿈꾸게 해줬지

우리가 함께했던 날
내겐 너뿐이던 날
마주 보던 눈빛을
난 잊을 수 없어

소중한 마음으로 나를 봐준
내 맘속에 별이 돼준 너
이제는 내가 널 안아 줄게

조금은 늦어도 괜찮아
우리가 걸어가는 길이
혼자가 아니란 걸 나는 알고있어

지금 잡은 우리 두 손 놓지 말아줘
약속해 난 언제나 여기서 있을게

I’ll Promise You

Another repeating day
At the end of it, you are there for me
Really thankful, even on days when tears cover my eyes
Because you’re there, it’s okay

When you’re infinitely tired
You can lean on me and rest from time to time
Even if you fall down, don’t ever cry
I will always pray for you

The days we spent together,
days where there was only you
The looks we gave each other,
I’ll never forget it

Looking over me with a precious heart
In my heart, you’ve become a star
Now, I will hug you

Even if it’s a bit late, it’s okay
The road that we walked together
I know that I am not alone

Never let go of the hands that are clasped together now
Promise me, I will always be here

2011, May 26th
Will never forget it, our first commemoration date
No matter what happens, you’ve given me strength beside me
I’ll cherish you more and return the favor even if belated

Even if the whole world turns its back on you
I’ll defend and embrace you, like always
I’ll walk in step with you
As long as I’m breathing, I’ll be with you

The days we loved each other
The days we sometimes teared up
The look that you gave me, I’ll never forget it

Remember, even if a lot of time passes
So that we can laugh as we look at each other
All I need is you beside me

Even if it’s a bit late, it’s okay
The road that we walked together
I know that I am not alone

Never let go of the hands that are clasped together now
Promise me, I will always be here

Even if there are moments where I can’t shine
Even if no one remembers me

Always by my side
You’re strong for me and help me to get up
You made me dream again

The days we spent together,
days where there was only you
The looks we gave each other,
I’ll never forget it

Looking over me with a precious heart
In my heart, you’ve become a star
Now, I will hug you

Even if it’s a bit late, it’s okay
The road that we walked together
I know that I am not alone

Never let go of the hands that are clasped together now
Promise me, I will always be here

Leave a Reply

