Jive Monkey Playlist: 6/10/16

If you look at the popular K-Pop songs out there, even popular American pop song, they all tend to sound alike.  Sure, it’s easy to criticize those songs as it just feels like artist sometimes regurgitate the same stuff and it becomes a sweeping success.  Songs like that are like comfort food.  The recognizable hook can be that milkshake and burger that’s consoling and invigorating at the same time.  We’re often creatures of habit but other times, maybe we just want a night out on the town to be adventurous and try out the hip new fusion restaurant.  Today, we’re going to do just that by looking at songs that reel you in but have unique beats.

“I Don’t Mind” from Beenzino’s latest album “12” caught my ear right away.  It was such an unexpected song.  On one level, there’s his rap that rolls out like a stream of consciousness but it’s accompanied by a rock backing track.  It’s such an unusual combination and at first it seems like the two wouldn’t meld very well together and I can’t imagine that I could ever rap this song in karaoke because the beat is so difficult to follow but it’s such a cool, unique combination that I can’t help listening to it over and over again.

When you hear the lyrics, there is no doubt that Beenzino wrote this song for his German model girlfriend, Stefanie Michova.  If you follow him on Instagram, the cuteness of this couple is so evident.  It can’t be easy having a long-distance relationship.  They both have jobs that have them traveling the world.

And yet, I read the lyrics and I can’t help but feel all warm and fuzzy when I read that he’ll drop everything he’s doing to be with her, no matter where she is. The song feels so modern, cosmopolitan and jet-setting.  I almost wish that Beenzino did a music video for this song and I could almost envision how the music video would play out.  I even think the song would be great as a commercial for an airline or even a cell phone carrier.  There are so many catchy uses for this song and I’m now going to have to replay this song again.

Beenzino – I Don’t Mind

빈지노(Beenzino) – I Don’t Mind

*aggy = 애기 (meaning “baby”)

**Lee Kun Hee – the former chairman of Samsung Group.  He helped to transform the brand into the globally recognizable conglomerate that we know today but in 2008, he resigned over a scandal that he headed a slush fund used to bribe key political figures.  He admitted to wrongdoing and tax evasion but was eventually pardoned by the Lee Myung Bak administration.

I Don’t Mind

참 많은 것들이 내 앞에 놓였지만
Fuck these obstacles and shit
I’m goin’ straight to you
너의 전 남친이 왜 널 포기한 건지 잘
모르겠어 나라면 널 끝까지 선택했을거여

I don’t mind
I don’t mind
난 오늘 네가 있는 곳이
어디 가 됐든간에 갈 거여
I don’t mind
I don’t mind
아 무 리 멀어도 비행기 티켓을
One Way로 살 거여

I’m like a g6 fly to Australia to Paris
13 hours of economy I wanna roll
I’m like a g6 fly to LA fly to Vegas
or to Berlin anywhere I really wanna roll

토할 것 같이 긴 시간이 걸려도
꾹 참을 수 있어
my aggy* I will be there by tomorrow
Of course I think
내가 미치지 않고서 어떻게
널 위해서 이런 노랠 만들겠어
진짜로 I’m in love

I don’t mind
I don’t mind
난 오늘 네가 있는 곳이
어디 가 됐든간에 갈 거여
I don’t mind
I don’t mind
아 무 리 멀어도 비행기 티켓을
One Way로 살 거여

I’m like a g6 fly to Australia to Paris
13 hours of economy I wanna roll
I’m like a g6 fly to LA fly to Vegas
or to Berlin anywhere I really wanna roll
I’m like a g6 fly to Australia to Paris
13 hours of economy I wanna roll
I’m like a g6 fly to LA fly to Vegas
or to Berlin anywhere I really wanna roll

큰 캐리어 한대 끌고
집을 나온 시간 5AM 그 무렵
적어도 세 시간 뒤쯤 한국 땅에 있는
수많은 여자들은 내가 떠나 슬플 거야
넌 나를 수입한 거야
내가 너의 KIA가 될게
너의 현대 혹은 삼성이 될게
그리고 먼 훗날엔
옷 잘 입는 이건희가 될게**
일단 이코노미 앉아 안전벨트를 매
이게 뭔 짓인지는 나도 I HAVE NO IDEA
내게 남은 건 5956마일이야
거리가 멀어도 8시쯤엔 출발이야
돌이킬 수 없지 내 힘으로 회항은 불가해
FUCK THAT
우리가 보내게 될 순간에 비해
물리적 거리는 눈 깜빡 보다 금방이기에
이제 난 입 닥치고
TAKING OFF
I’mma hang up its breaking up

I don’t mind
I don’t mind
난 오늘 네가 있는 곳이
어디 가 됐든간에 갈 거여
I don’t mind
I don’t mind
아 무 리 멀어도 비행기 티켓을
One Way로 살 거여

I Don’t Mind

A lot of things are in store for me
Fuck these obstacles and shit
I’m goin’ straight to you
Why your ex-boyfriend gave you up
I just don’t know, if it were me, I’d keep choosing you

I don’t mind
I don’t mind
Today I, wherever you are
No matter where it is, will go to you
I don’t mind
I don’t mind
No matter how far it is, an airplane ticket
Going one way, I’ll buy it

I’m like a g6 fly to Australia to Paris
13 hours of economy I wanna roll
I’m like a g6 fly to LA fly to Vegas
Or to Berlin anywhere I really wanna roll

Like I’m about to throw up, even if it takes a long time
I can’t withstand it
my aggy* I will be there by tomorrow
Or course I think
How is it that I’m not crazy
For you, I’ll make this song
Really, I’m in love

I don’t mind
I don’t mind
Today I, wherever you are
No matter where it is, will go to you
I don’t mind
I don’t mind
No matter how far it is, an airplane ticket
Going one way, I’ll buy it

I’m like a g6 fly to Australia to Paris
13 hours of economy I wanna roll
I’m like a g6 fly to LA fly to Vegas
Or to Berlin anywhere I really wanna roll
I’m like a g6 fly to Australia to Paris
13 hours of economy I wanna roll
I’m like a g6 fly to LA fly to Vegas
or to Berlin anywhere I really wanna roll

Dragging along one big suitcase
Coming out of my house at 5AM, that day
Less than 3 hours from now, in the land of Korea
Countless women are sad that I left
You have imported me
I will be your KIA
Be your Hyundai or Samsung
And in the distant future
I will be a well-dressed Lee Gun Hee**
For now, sit in economy and fasten my seatbelt
What am I doing, even I, I HAVE NO IDEA
The thing that I have left, 5956 miles
Even if the distance is far, I take off around 8 o’clock
Can’t go back, can’t imagine flying back of my own will
FUCK THAT
Looking at the time we’ll be spending together
Since the physical distance is sooner than a blink
Now, I’m gonna shut up
TAKING OFF
I’mma hang up its breaking up

I don’t mind
I don’t mind
Today I, wherever you are
No matter where it is, will go to you
I don’t mind
I don’t mind
No matter how far it is, an airplane ticket
Going one way, I’ll buy it

_____________________________________________________

I think for idol singer-songwriter, SHINee’s Jonghyun has an interesting style.  He’s very into songs with hard beats and his genre of choice seems to be electronic funk or disco funk.  It’s reflective of the songs he writes for the group, especially in their last few albums, as well as in his solo work and work for other artists.  “좋아 (She is) (Like You (She is))” is a collaborative track written by Jonghyun, Wefreaky, Crush and Philtre.

Like how he expresses in the lyrics, even in the dance choreography, the beat is very alluring.  It’s about how he’s drawn to this woman because she has all the qualities he likes and he goes on to describe them.  It sounds like he’s describing this one-of-a-kind woman and that’s why I’m a bit amused and confused when it comes to the music video for this track.

The music video has an artificial, surreal vibe to it.  There’s a bunch of female dancers who kind of come into his life by waiting in line like it is a drive-through for a fast-food joint.  And then at the end, we pull out and see that this “world” is not just unique to him but a world of other drive-through places with the same cardboard cutout feel which seems to reflect this monotony of standardization.  Before we get to this shot though, we do see that Jonghyun has broken out of his box and freed himself.  Perhaps it means that the idea that beauty has to meet with certain standards is a false notion.  I’m just not sure.  I just know that it’s a weird video but the song is damn catchy.

종현 (JONGHYUN) – 좋아 (She is)

좋아 (She is)

Oh She is 자그마한 눈 너의 눈빛이 좋아
Oh She is 좀 진한 눈썹 나는 그런 게 좋아
Oh She is 마침 바람도 딱 좋아
예감이 좋아
하나부터 열까지 다

Oh sweet love
은은한 캔들 앞 조용히 앉아
Oh sweet love
가만히 눈만 마주쳐도
너만 보면 미치겠어

Oh She is 자그마한 눈 너의 눈빛이 좋아
Oh She is 진한 눈썹 나는 그런 게 좋아
Oh She is 좀 삐진 듯한 너의 입술이 좋아
Oh She is 나는 그런 게 좋아
Oh She is 나는 그런 게 좋아

Oh ah woo woo woo woo woo woo
Oh ah woo woo woo woo woo woo
Oh ah ah ah ah ah ah
Ah ah ah ah
Ah ah ah ah ah

남들 눈 어떻게 보일지 신경 쓰지 않아
눈빛만 바라봐도
Oh She is (I say)
Oh She is (Alright)
아무것도 모르는 척하는
눈빛 그런 게 좋아
(Cool) 여우 같은 게 좋아
(Relationship) 나는 그런 게 좋아

넌 당황하지 마 (Woo woo woo)
이건 당연하잖아? (Woo woo woo)
네 눈엔 못났대도
Oh 난 좋아 너의 모든 게
You know that

숨기지 말아 줘 너 내가 안달 난 거 알면서
그러는 거?
줄줄 따른 남자
So many, So many 알면서
그러는 거?
That’s no no no no no
No no no no no baby (No no no no baby)

Oh ah woo woo woo woo woo woo
(One more time Sing it baby Ho)
Oh ah woo woo woo woo woo woo
(Yeah yeah yeah)
You know that

(Oh She is 너의 눈빛이 좋아
Oh She is 나는 그런 게 좋아
Oh She is 너의 입술이 좋아
Oh She is 나는 그런 게 좋아
Oh She is 너의 모든 게 좋아)

Like You (She is)

Oh She is, smallish eyes, I like your stare
Oh She is, eyebrows a bit thick, I like things like that
Oh She is, I even just like the dream of it,
have a good feeling about it
From one to ten, all of it

Oh sweet love
In front of a soft candle, sitting quietly
Oh sweet love
Even if our eyes quietly meet,
when I see you, I go crazy

Oh She is, smallish eyes, I like your stare
Oh She is, eyebrows a bit thick, I like things like that
Oh She is, a bit pouty, I like your lips
Oh She is, I like things like that
Oh She is, I like things like that

Oh ah woo woo woo woo woo woo
Oh ah woo woo woo woo woo woo
Oh ah ah ah ah ah ah
Ah ah ah ah
Ah ah ah ah ah

I don’t care how other people look at me
Even just looking at your stare
Oh She is (I say)
Oh She is (Alright)
Pretending I don’t know anything,
I like that stare of yours
(Cool) I like your foxy ways
(Relationship) I like things like that

Don’t be alarmed (Woo woo woo)
Is this obvious? (Woo woo woo)
Even if I’m ugly in your eyes
Oh, I like that, I like your everything
You know that

Don’t hide, knowing that I’m fretting
And doing that?
Those other men trailing you,
So many, So many, knowing
And doing that?
That’s no no no no no
No no no no no baby (No no no no baby)

Oh ah woo woo woo woo woo woo
(One more time Sing it baby Ho)
Oh ah woo woo woo woo woo woo
(Yeah yeah yeah)
You know that

(Oh She is, I like your stare
Oh She is, I like things like that
Oh She is, I like your lips
Oh She is, I like things like that
Oh She is, I like your everything)

Leave a Reply

