Jive Monkey Playlist: 7/1/16

Now that I have had a chance to recover from KCON NY, back to our regularly scheduled programming.  This week, I’m featuring sweet songs by female artists who are expressing their love for significant other.  As much as traditional mindset is to have the guy be the first one to give things a go in a relationship, there’s a carpe diem sensibility hearing these girls take the lead.

It’s summer and I have been eagerly waiting for the new Sistar album but there was something about “해볼래 (Wanna Try?)” that caught my ear.  Sistar is known for their sexy and sassy pop style and that’s what I come to expect from their title tracks.  It’s not that this track doesn’t have those qualities but what I liked about it is that it takes the emotions of a new relationship to a deeper level.

The song seems to set the scene for a new couple going out on a date and the girl is the one who is confessing her feelings.  With its medium tempo beat, it’s quite a sweet song but I think the thing that warms my heart is the phrase “해볼래 (hae-bol-rae)”.  Even though the relationship may not work out, it’s the fact that she wants to give it a try for the person that she thinks is worth it.  This is the type of admission that’s the hardest, isn’t it?  And tell me, who is not going to be flattered by that?

Sistar – 해볼래 (Wanna Try?)

씨스타(Sistar) – 해볼래

해볼래

It’s pretty girl, true love story
해볼래 해볼래 해볼래 Ya
Hey! Listen up Listen up!(Hoo)
해볼래 해볼래 해볼래
해볼래 Hey

오 너무 눈부셔요 햇살 같은 내 님아
사르르 녹아요 달콤한 버터처럼 Uh

한참을 기다렸죠 내게 오실 때까지
오 힘껏 안아 주세요 에라 나는 몰라요

My baby 나랑 걸어요 Uh
삼청동 남산타워 가로수 길까지

Hey darling 이 손을 놓지 말아줘요
항상 우리 단 둘이서

같이 한 번 해볼래 해볼래 해볼래
여기저기 가기 걷기 놀기 먹기
이 세상 끝까지
맘껏 한 번 해볼래 해볼래 해볼래
오늘도 내일도 지금처럼
I will Love U boy

해볼래 해볼래 해볼래 Ya
Hey Listen up! Listen up (Hoo)
해볼래 해볼래 해볼래
해볼래 Hey

해볼래 우리 단 둘이서
커플링 블링블링 예쁜 커플
좋아해 빙그레 너만 보면 헤벌레
Kiss me baby

Hey darling 이 손을 놓지 말아줘요
항상 우리 단 둘이서

같이 한 번 해볼래 해볼래 해볼래
여기저기 가기, 걷기, 놀기, 먹기
이 세상 끝까지
맘껏 한 번 해볼래 해볼래 해볼래
오늘도 내일도 지금처럼
I will Love U boy

꿈인지 생시인진 몰라요 Ooh
내 삶의 기적 My Destiny
오 영원히 그대를 사랑해요

같이 한 번 해볼래 해볼래 해볼래
여기저기 가기 걷기 놀기 먹기
이 세상 끝까지
맘껏 한 번 해볼래 해볼래 해볼래
오늘도 내일도 지금처럼
I will Love U boy
오늘도 내일도 지금처럼

Wanna Try?

It’s pretty girl, true love story
Wanna try, wanna try, wanna try, Ya
Hey! Listen up Listen up! (Hoo)
Wanna try, wanna try, wanna try
Wanna try, Hey

Oh, you’re dazzling, like the sunlight, my beloved
Softly melt like sweet butter, Uh

Waited for you a long time until you came along
Oh, hug me with all your strength, ay, forget it

My baby, walk with me, Uh
Until Samcheongdong, Namsan Tower, and Garosoo Street

Hey darling, don’t let go of this hand
Always, just the two of us

Wanna try, wanna try, wanna try together just once?
Go walk, play and eat here and there
Until the ends of this Earth
Wanna try, wanna try, wanna try as much as we can just once?
Even today, tomorrow, just like right now
I will Love U boy

Wanna try, wanna try, wanna try, Ya
Hey! Listen up Listen up! (Hoo)
Wanna try, wanna try, wanna try
Wanna try, Hey

Wanna try, just the two of us
Couple ring, bling-bling, pretty couple
I like your smile, whenever I see you I swoon
Kiss me baby

Hey darling, don’t let go of this hand
Always, just the two of us

Wanna try, wanna try, wanna try together just once?
Go walk, play and eat here and there
Until the ends of this Earth
Wanna try, wanna try, wanna try as much as we can just once?
Even today, tomorrow, just like right now
I will Love U boy

Don’t know if it is a dream or if it’s real, Ooh
My life’s miracle, My Destiny
Oh, I will forever love you

Wanna try, wanna try, wanna try together just once?
Go walk, play and eat here and there
Until the ends of this Earth
Wanna try, wanna try, wanna try as much as we can just once?
Even today, tomorrow, just like right now
I will Love U boy
Even today, tomorrow, just like right now

_____________________________________________________

As I began listening to the new As One album, I’m not sure what I was expecting.  Although they produce R&B tracks, I mostly associate them with ballads as this duo was first introduced to me when they did the song “White Love Story” for The First Shop of Coffee Prince’s OST.  The innocence in their voices which is what initially attracted me to them was not lost since I heard that first song.  Upon listening to “Outlast,” each track instilled in me this feeling of awe.  It’s a great album as a whole with interesting collaborations that compliment As One’s Lee Min and Crystal’s pure voices.

However, I was immediately taken by the track, “Waiting For You”.  Simply put, the melody feels so familiar that I had to look and see if the song was actually a cover.  Perhaps it is, or perhaps it just has those familiar, feel-good elements.  The song seems to paint a picture of a woman waiting for her significant other for their date.  She’s dressed up and she’s excited but the important thing is this feeling of anticipation as she waits for him.  Despite the anticipating, there’s something very calming and sweet about the medium tempo beat and melody and it’s hard not to smile when you hear their voices.

As One – Waiting For You

애즈 원(As One) – Waiting For You

Waiting For You

기분 좋은 하루가
그대로부터 시작하죠 Oh baby
날 배려하는 몇 마디
오늘도 내겐 힘이 되죠 Oh yeah

내 설레는 마음 어떻게 표현할지 그대뿐인
There’s nobody like you
난 먼저 이곳에서 그대가 오길 기다리죠

시간이 멈추고
이 느낌 이대로
우리 영원하길 바랄게요

그댈 기다리며
이 모습 이대로
생각하며 웃음을 짓죠

Waiting for you
I’m waiting for you
I’m waiting for you baby

오늘 내 옷차림이 Yeah
맘에 들까 나 고민하죠 Oh what can you do
벌써 몇 번째인지
거울만 쳐다보게 되죠 Baby

떨리는 내 마음
오늘은 무슨 말을 내게 할지
There’s nobody like you
나 먼저 이곳에서 그대가 오길 기다리죠

시간이 멈추고
이 느낌 이대로
우리 영원하길 바랄게요

그댈 기다리며
이 모습 이대로
생각하며 웃음을 짓죠

Waiting for you
I’m waiting for you
I’m waiting for you baby

어떻게 말할지 몰라, 그 사랑 In all you do
So tell me your love is true
나 그대 곁에 있으니깐 Yeah

시간이 멈추고
이 느낌 이대로
우리 영원하길 바랄게요

그댈 기다리며
이 모습 이대로
생각하며 웃음을 짓죠

Waiting for you
I’m waiting for you
I’m waiting for you

Waiting For You

A feel-good day
Starts with you, Oh baby
A few words showing your consideration for me
Even today, you become my strength, Oh yeah

How do I express my excitement? Only you
There’s nobody like you
First, from this place, I wait for you to come

Time stops
Feeling like this
I hope that we last forever

As I wait for you
Looking like this
As I think of you, I wear a smile

Waiting for you
I’m waiting for you
I’m waiting for you baby

Today, the way I’m dressed, Yeah
Will you like it? I wonder, Oh what can you do
How many times has it been already?
I just keep looking at the mirror, Baby

Trembling, my heart
What will you say to me today?
There’s nobody like you
First, from this place, I wait for you to come

Time stops
Feeling like this
I hope that we last forever

As I wait for you
Looking like this
As I think of you, I wear a smile

Waiting for you
I’m waiting for you
I’m waiting for you baby

I don’t know how to tell you, that love, In all you do
So tell me your love is true
Because I am by your side, Yeah

Time stops
Feeling like this
I hope that we last forever

As I wait for you
Looking like this
As I think of you, I wear a smile

Waiting for you
I’m waiting for you
I’m waiting for you baby

Leave a Reply

