Monkey Poo: 2016 Primetime Emmy Nominees

It’s that time again.  And this year’s Emmy nominees just remind me how many shows I need to catch up on.  Answer: I think I need a week’s vacation where I don’t sleep just to catch up to it all.  😱

But if you’ve been keeping up with these shows, vote for your favorites.  This year’s nominees were presented by Black-ish’s Anthony Anderson and the upcoming Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life’s Lauren Graham.

The thing that is most interesting between the Drama and Comedy categories is that all of the Drama nominees are shows that you can find on traditional networks whereas half of the Comedy nominees are shows you can find on internet platforms such as Netflix and Amazon.  That says a lot about our viewing habits.  Are you the type of person that still likes to sit on the couch in front of the TV to watch shows or have you now adapted with the times to watch shows on the go?  We are no longer bound to our couches as many of these shows are available to watch via the networks’ apps.

 

 

I wasn’t much of a fan of the first season of Better Call Saul but friends have been telling me that the second season is a must watch.  The show is on my to-do list so I hope to get to it before summer ends.  I’ve been wanting to quit Ray Donovan for a while and I still haven’t watched the previous season but something is telling me that I should try and give it another go as I always found the cast to be extraordinary even if the writing isn’t.  However, I hope this year The Americans will finally be recognized because both Matthew Rhys and Keri Russell are incredible on this show.

 

 

I talk about shows that we watch with a lot of my friends and I guess I like Drama programs more than the Comedy.  I honestly don’t watch any of the shows for these actors that have been nominated and maybe I just need to get back on the Comedy train.  However, I’m a bit disappointed that Constance Wu wasn’t nominated for Fresh Off the Boat.  I love her deadpan deliveries but that’s just my two cents.

 

 

More than regular ongoing series, these days I’m more of fan of the Limited Series.  Like K-Dramas, it’s long enough that you become invested in the characters but short enough that it takes you on an emotional ride that ends soon thereafter.  I like that non-committal aspect of Limited Series.  This year, my obsession was all about The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story and American Crime.  Don’t confuse these two shows but they are both great.  For The People v. O.J. Simpson, I was so surprised by how many details I remembered about that epic court case and the accompanying media circus.  The award has to go Sarah Paulson for her portrayal of Prosecutor Marcia Clark.  No ifs, ands or buts.  However, I’m a bit torn when it comes to the Lead Actor category.  I’m not sure who I’d vote for on the American Crime cast because it’s hard to single any one person.  That show was great because of the ensemble and if you haven’t watched the first or the second season, I would strongly encourage you to watch it for the thought-provoking debate it provides.

 

 

Another thing I don’t really watch are Reality shows.  Occasionally, I do watch Variety programs but more often than not, I’m watching snippets of the episodes through the best clips that are uploaded to the shows YouTube pages.  Out of the Talk Series that are nominated, I think I’m gonna have to put my vote in for James Corden because… he is sugar, spice and everything nice.  Haha.  I’m also quite partial to John Oliver and enjoy his show far more than Trevor Noah on The Daily Show.

Vote for your favorite shows, actors and actresses above.  Are there any nominees that were snubbed?  If so, sound off in the comments below.  The 68th annual Emmy Awards will air September 18th on ABC hosted by Jimmy Kimmel.

Leave a Reply

