Just Bananas About: Week of 8/1/16 – Part 2

Sunday was another full day of activities before wrapping it up with the 2nd night of the concert.

My KCON helper decided to visit all 4 fan engagements of the day, which included Astro, Eric Nam, TWICE and Monsta X.  If I can just describe how exhausting it is to wait, the line literally goes outside and around the building and you need to line up early.  And as soon as he got out of one fan engagement, he has to out and around just to get back on line again.  I decided to go to two of them, Eric Nam and Monsta X while I spent the other time… shopping.  Hee hee.

With Eric Nam specifically, I had a Hi-Touch pass which was a first for me.  It included being closer to the stage and then shaking hands with him afterwards.

As I was waiting for his session, there were some guy fans of him behind us with signs that said: #DudesforEric.  Even Eric Nam laughed when he saw the signs.

As I shook Eric Nam’s hand, I told him how much I was enjoying him and Mamamoo’s Solar on We Got Married and he was so sweet as he humbly accepted the compliment.

As for Monsta X, they literally arrived in LAX the day of the concert so they were over an hour late to their fan engagement.  I’ll admit that I was pretty exhausted as all those shopping bags I was holding felt like weights.  I’m not sure if I even got a decent workout out of it as my arms are killing me today but I don’t see any toned arms.  Lol.  Anyways, after playing a playlist of Monsta X songs for the restless crowd, the group finally arrived and looked great, especially Shownu. *wink

For the 2nd night, we were on the opposite side and further back but I actually felt that these seats were better than the previous night.  It wasn’t the best seat but we were close and literally across from center stage.  The Sunday night pre-show started off with the Echae En Route, indie duet.  I actually discovered this duo in my K-Indie panel from fellow panelist Ebony from InRage Entertainment.  Then, I got to hear their rehearsal on the convention floor stage and it was awesome to see them perform again on the pre-show stage.

Following the duo, we had a showcase from the Kukkiwon Taekwondo team (aka World Taekwondo Headquarters).  This is the same group that was featured in the Conan in Korea show.  They truly wowed the audience with their high flying moves.

For the main concert, Monsta X kicked things off for the night.  For kids who just literally got off the plane from Korea, they really rocked.

As I previously mentioned, Astro is a new group for me but they are incredibly adorable, especially Sanha.  I think I’m going to have to go back and check out their first mini album.

Following Astro, we were rah-rah-sis-boom-bahed by TWICE.

Eric Nam sang his most recent single, “못참겠어 (Can’t Help Myself),” featuring Astro’s Jin Jin.

He also had a few special stages which included his collaboration with Kolaj and one of his besties, Amber, “Into You” and “I Just Wanna,” respectively.

When Davichi came out, I couldn’t help but marvel at how pretty they were, in the way they looked and their voices.  They opened their set with their most recent hit, “이 사랑 (This Love)” from the Descendants of the Sun OST.

For the cover stages, I’m a little sad that I messed up and didn’t record TWICE’s cover of Bruno Mars’ “Uptown Funk” because I love that song.  The video below isn’t my own recording but luckily my helper caught it.  However, Monsta X showed their moves for their cover of Maroon 5’s “Moves Like Jagger”.

Girls’ Generation – TTS (TaeTiSeo) twinkled in their red sequin outfits.

And last but not least, BTS brought down the house again with their set.  I’m not even sure you can even hear the music because the audience was so fired up.

And so ends another year at KCON USA, it was blast being able to share these experiences with all the fans and I hope to do it again next year.

Leave a Reply

